We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airline Crew Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Airline Crew Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great hotel room on the 14th floor. Van driver from hotel was great also from Hawaii originally. The only thing is room service is a little expensive even with the 10% discount.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winkrob92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    305
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
213
367
62
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is an older hotel but clean, well kept and all of the staff from the airport shuttle driver to the bell man to the front desk to the housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms are large and the bathrooms clean and spacious. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candostill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is an older hotel trying hard to be something it isn't. It wants...really, really badly--to be a luxury hotel. It isn't, and it won't be unless management puts some serious money into it. The public spaces are dated. The rooms have a few updated touches--like a flat screen television--but overall are also dated, especially the bathrooms. Mine had a lot of grime and use built into it that no amount of daily cleaning can hide.

On the plus side, the stuff is helpful and friendly. The restaurant has been modernized and has a sleek look an appealing menu--though I can't comment on the quality of the food.

I suppose to sum it up--I ran across advertising offering the opportunity to purchase the mattress. Its sort of like somebody associated with the Madison Councourse stayed at a Westin and saw that they were selling Heavenly Beds and decided "we should too." Except that the mattress was certainly not heavenly. It was actually slightly less than comfortable.

The Hilton across the Capitol is a better choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IADTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stay here once or twice a year for romantic getaways and we love it! We always stay on the Governors floor with the air tub which is wonderful! The governors floor offers continental breakfast which has always been good. They also have appetizers and cocktails in the evening and deserts and coffee late night. The rooms are decorated very nice and always clean, but my favorite part of the room is the air tub which is huge! So overall if your going to stay at the Concourse the Governors floor is defiantly worth the little bit of extra money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, IA, US
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is my second time staying at the Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, and I want to highly recommend it. The location is perfect - 2 blocks from the State Capitol, and within easy walking distance of all kinds of unique bars and restaurants. - The parking underneath the hotel is very convenient and cheap - $ 5 a night, and my room came equipped with a fridge, comfortable chairs and a large tv. Lunch at the Dayton Street Grill inside the hotel was delicious, the service was fast and courteous - an all around great experience!

Room Tip: Get early reservations, if in town for a conference, you don't want to miss out on staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We tried this hotel due to a Groupon that I saw before Christmas. I thought it'd be a great little getaway for me & my hubby, so I gave it to him as a Christmas gift.
We upgraded to the Governor's Club for $50. It was well worth it! The room & view were wonderful & the Club Level offerings were so fun! While the free appetizers & desserts were marginal at best, the drinks were very good offering top shelf liquor. The continential breakfast offered was tasty offering scrambled eggs with cheese to the fresh baked pastries & fruit.
The Groupon also included $50 to the Dayton Street Grille. My Short-Rib dinner was lovely! My husband's Strip Steak was just okay. The plentiful mushrooms on top were not completely cooked & gave way to a chewy distaste. The waitstaff was so nice & even gave us a free dessert for our anniversary.
We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Again, Governor's Club level very quiet & comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KckbxrSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It has quickly become my favorite Madison hotel. The staff is very friendly, and the location is fantastic, within a block or two of the capitol. In addition, there are a bunch of great bars/restaurants within walking distance, and the UW campus is not far either.

Do yourself a favor and eat the the hotel restaurant, the Dayton Street Grille. The food is wonderful. You will not be sorry.

For an even bigger treat, the Governor's Club offers a nice lounge with light snacks and drinks, and a great view.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.6 km away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing