We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel, exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“OK hotel, exceptional service”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Booked directly via Choice hotel website for 89$. The location was perfect for me since I was attending an event at the Alliant Energy Centre next door, connected by an indoor walkway. Great!. Even if its not close by, the hotel offers free pick up from the airport. Pick up took 20 min, as promised. The front desk staff drive the van. There is plenty of free parking. The hotel is outside the downtown core, so if you don't have a car, its rather inconvenient. However, the shuttle service will bring you anywhere in a 3 miles radius, till 10 PM.

Check in was very friendly, and knowledgeable about their area.The room was very decent, large, with a queen bed, CRT TV, free wifi, sofa, work station, mini kitchen. The decor is a bit dated, but it did the trick.

The pool was decent sized, as was the hot-tub. The gym was rather small and cramped with old equipment, a turn off to training. The breakfast-dining area is quite large. Breakfast provided was very good, with the usual: toasts, fruits, waffles, scrambled eggs, and daily add-ons (sunday: biscuit and gravy, quite yummy). They also offer daily evening goodies (free beer or wine, some snacks)...a nice touch.

Check out was courteous. I was also informed I could have saved 10$ by booking directly directly with the hotel, as they have "event" discounts. Good to know for next time. Was driven back on time.

If all hotels could have this level of service!

Room Tip: call the hotel directly for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Lubiere Ottawa, Canada,

Thank you so much for your comments! We appreciated hearing from our guests and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass along your comments regarding our service to our staff. Everyone works to try to please our guests and it is satisfying when a guest notices and comments on it. Our hope is that every guest recieves the same level of service when staying with us. Thank you again, we hope that you will return in the future!

G. Niesl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    104
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
77
59
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Located right walking distance to Alliant Energy Center. Hotel offers great concert packages. They also have a happy hour serving beer , wine and soda. A few little munchies so don't expect much as far as food. Their breakfast better then most eggs were actually eidable. Nice large rooms very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubsfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear cubsfair,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to comment on your positive experience! We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

G. Niesl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed here for business with a co-worker. The hotel was older with a few recent updates. The ceiling in our room looked like it was going to fall down in the corner of the room, the furniture has seen its better days. I did like the fact that there was not a gross comforter and that sheets and that something similar to a duvet cover was used. Also the fact that they had 4 pillows per bed was very nice. Breakfast was okay; their breakfast room however was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear eclocal,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests in our effort to continuously improve our property. The comments you shared are important and the issues mentioned have been addressed. I am pleased that you had some positive things to say as well. I certainly hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future.

G. Niesl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cudahy, wi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Exceptionally clean - very nice staff - great breakfast. This place has made us such fans of Clarion Suites that we will make sure that we plan our trips around them.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbgandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
bbgandalf,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay! We do our best to make our hotel one which guests will want to return. Thank you from all of our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center prior to a Badger Game. Easy to find off the beltway, easy to get the game and free breakfast. Buffet was satisfying with healthy choices and the not so healthy. Overall excellent breakfast.

The front desk was great at checkin and checkout. Worked with us regarding a son not with us at check-in and him getting the key after we'd checked in.

Would stay again for a game.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wws50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for offering a review of The Clarion Suites at The Alliant Energy Center. We are pleased to be able to offer a great place to stay when coming to Madison for the UW-Badger Games and we are very happy that your stay was satisfactory. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have been staying at the Clarion in Madison for several years, in March. There are lots of cheaper places but in the long run, they really don't save you much.

I do an exhibitor show right next door at the Dane County auditorium and stay at the Clarion each time because; they have great rooms, very friendly people, a free hot breakfast which has a lot more to it than most places who advertise hot breakfast (toaster & maybe a waffle maker). They also have a evening cocktail hour, (no charge for basics), a walk way that you can take to the auditorium, no charge for parking, and if you do want to drive somewhere, lots of things are very close.

Try it once & you'll try to find reasons to "have" to stay there again!

Room Tip: Any of their rooms are nice, some are larger with more to them but all have a refrigerator & mic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icanoewenonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at The Clarion Suites at The Alliant Energy Center. Our staff is committed to providing exceptional service and comfortable accomodations to our guests. we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is one of the finest hotels with the greatest value that we have ever experienced. Our two queen bed studio was spacious, immaculate, and well appointed. The staff were polite and accommodating; Joleen assisted me in finding a nearby hairdresser for the next AM. In addition, they provide a HOT buffet breakfast AND manager's evening reception with snacks, choice of soft drinks, wine, and beer.

The mattresses were great for a perfect night's sleep along with selection of pillows to suit personal preferences and high thread count linens. This was as pleasant as home. We've paid two and almost three times more for a room this special. This property has won heaps of awards from Choice Hotels and when you stay here you will understand why. They are well deserved. Any negative comments posted are hard for me to understand.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Brenda, Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at The Clarion Suites at The Alliant Energy Center. We are especially pleased that you encountered a staff member who was helpful. We are proud of all of our staff members and we love to hear good things about them so we can reward them for their exceptional service to our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.6 km away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#23 of 63 in Madison
825 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
618 reviews
4.3 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
4.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center

Property: Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Address: 2110 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53713-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us at The Clarion Suites at The Alliant Energy Center in Madison, WI! Our hotel is adjacent to The Alliant Energy Center Campus and connected to The Exhibition Hall. We are conveniently located near downtown Madison, The Monona Terrace, The UW Campus, Camp Randall, The Kohl Center, UW Hospitals, Meriter Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Our hotel is also 20 minutes from Epic Systems training facility.Our rooms are spacious with one or two Queen Beds, Sitting Areas with Queen Sofa Sleepers and Microwave Wvens and Refrigerators. All guests recievd a Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet and a Complimentary Social Hour (M-Sat. We have an indoor pool/whirlpool, Free WIFI and 32" Flat Screen TV's. Complimentary Shuttle service to/from Dane County Regional Airport is offered from 7am-10pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Central Hotel Madison
Clarion Hotel Madison
Clarion Madison
Madison Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing