We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming rooms but, lightsleepers, be aware” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ruby Marie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ruby Marie
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming rooms but, lightsleepers, be aware”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The old world Ruby Marie was my home for 5 nights in late March, due to a conference at Monona Terrace, 4-5 blocks away. An enjoyable stay, everything considered. The hotel was beautifully restored, staff were very friendly, Lake Mendota and the walking/biking path were across the street, the bathrooms were beautiful and spotless, the parking lot was huge, and a bit of included breakfast/evening drink was a welcome touch.

As noted by another, though, it can sometimes get loud in the evening--from the musicians downstairs to the people coming/going in the large parking lot. Even inside your own room, if you're not used to the racket the hot water heaters can make. I had a beautiful room (#26) but I just could not block out the constant radiator noise at night--even with the pillow over my head. They very nicely moved me to #25 when I mentioned this the next day. The new room's radiators still made noise but there was enough other noise (old-time version of "white noise"?) that I got to sleep pretty easily each night.

I would definitely recommend the hotel but bring ear plugs, just in case!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukeyLou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    42
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
70
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were in Madison for a concert and the location of Hotel Ruby Marie was perfect!!! Not to mention the experience to stay at this lovely renovated historic inn. Our room had a balcony overlooking a cute courtyard, wet bar, fridge, all the modern amenities. Included in the rate was 2 drinks at the bar downstairs and a full breakfast (order off the menu) at Comeback Inn restaurant, plus a couple of bloody mary's!!!!!

This place is so unique and not to be missed...........We enjoyed our stay...Thank you!

Room Tip: a few rooms have a view of Lake Monona
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My fiancee and I travel to Madison often for concerts and to visit with friends, but last year we were heading back north from New York and decided to stay in Madison and saw reviews on the Ruby Marie on tripadvisor.com. We couldn't have been happier!! The hotel itself was so neat and comfortable, the staff is incredible, very welcoming. The rooms have all the modern amenities with an early 1900's twist in the decor. The Up North bar is on the lowest level and it's just a short elevator trip, they have a smaller but great tap selection (plus you can redeem your 2 free drink tickets during happy hour!) The bar rock and rolls every night until close, so I wouldn't recommend the hotel for a business trip...unless you like to boogie until 2am! During the week days you can get your free breakfast from the second level bakery (its the best smell to wake up too!) During the weekends you get a free hot breakfast from The Come Back In next door, you get full pick of their HUGE breakfast menu, it was AmAzInG!!! I really can't say enough good things about this place. We have since been back there 3 times and are planning a 3 night stay beginning in March.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Lovely historic hotel that whisks you away to a another period in time. The room had an interesting shape and there was a beautiful fireplace. The furnishings were both antique and reproduction, and all fit the interior quite nicely. The service was wonderful. There is a fantastic German restaurant next door. The aroma from the bakery downstairs will have you waking up with your mouth watering. The provided breakfast is amazing: savory breakfast pastries, cinnamon rolls, crust less quiche, apple turnovers, and fresh fruit. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The rooms with a fireplace are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We loved this place! Upon our arrival we were given a tour and a history lesson of the place, he was even dressed in period clothing!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honolulu_HawaiiSana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very nice little boutique hotel close to the Capitol square. It's not super high-end (no 4 seasons), but nicely done, clean, and well maintained. Our room was quiet. The free drinks/breakfast were a nice touch. Great location, we walked to dinner each night, and it's right across the street from bike rental and bike/walking paths on the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in very spacious room with huge Jacuzzi/king bed and enormous windows. We didn't notice any local downtown/train noise and really enjoyed the downstairs bar back deck that some others mentioned was noisy, perhaps helping our DEEP sleep. Nice continental to hot breakfast downstairs at the Lakeview.

SOLID well-done 1800's renovation included dipping and stripping the original doors and woodwork and duplicating the colors. The owner rehabbed an entire block including a German Restaurant the Essen Haus we also enjoyed, AND another bar the Come Back In we did not get to.

Very convenient to the lake and capitol. Large free private parking lot and 2 free drinks in the Up North bar downstairs that had a huge selection of draft beers and a gorgeous 1890's cherry back bar, originally one of the longest in Madison including a nice back deck that let us sun.

All good. I can't imagine why you would stay somewhere else unless you crave higher prices, plastic trim and want to pay for parking.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BayAreaWillI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.8 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 km away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.1 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
1.2 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby Marie

Property: Hotel Ruby Marie
Address: 524 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3431
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ruby Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ruby Marie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing