We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved my feelings about B&Bs”
Review of Mansion Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mansion Hill Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

I'm generally not a fan of B&B's but our spontaneous 2-night stay at Mansion Hill Inn bowled me over. Everything here was made easy by a can-do staff. I inquired about getting some laundry done and two hours later, after going out for dinner, had cleaned clothes waiting on the bed in the room. The location couldn't be beat with an easy walk to the town and Capitol building. There is also an on-site B bike share station on the Inn property itself. The Inn provides guests cards and you can easily bike anywhere in town. (We rode all the way around Lake Monona.)
My negatives were a mattress that was too soft for my taste, softened water and it seemed like the ventilation in the room ran continuously and yet the room felt a bit humid.
Staying here definitely improved our overall Madison experience. Despite the few negatives I would return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LSBurdett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night but wish we stayed more !! From reservation until check out anything requested was taken care of immediately. Our room #10 was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was great. The inn was walking distance from great restaurants.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Fantastic time staying at Mansion Hill Inn! We were there for two nights and saw first hand the warmth and expertise of many employees. This place is wonderful. From the "yeah, no problem!" laundry service to delightful european style breakfast. You're in for a treat. Our room was spacious and opened to a wonderful patio which was well used. You're a nice walk away from Capitol Square and all of the fun therein. I hope to stay here during all of my trips to Madison.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 352marisav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

This is a gorgeous place on a tree-lined street, with an attentive staff that is eager to please. It is also centrally located, just a few blocks from the capitol and its surrounding restaurants and museums.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

My husband and I were in town for UW Madison commencement ceremony for our daughter. The Mansion Hill Inn is excellently located on the north side of the Capital Square Area, easy walking or Uber distance to all venues on the UW campus. After a long, unusually warm day of commencement, photos, and parties, this was an excellent quiet retreat. Our family enjoyed a bottle of champagne on our private balcony and had a chance to enjoy some quiet time. The Inn does have a bar with wine and beer, however, we had brought along a bottle of champagne for the occasion.

Slept well, did not hear noise from neighborhood despite it being graduation party night in Madison. Comfortable mattresses, not too soft. Rain shower, no tub, one sink in bathroom. Could use a full length mirror. Breakfast in common room includes pastries, scones, coffee, tea, fruit, granola, boiled eggs. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially Madeline.

This is a restored 1850's mansion, so expect steep stairs, no elevator and smaller rooms. Not a good choice for those with mobility issues.

Had an outstanding stay made possible by the excellent staff attention to detail.

Room Tip: No elevator, steep staircase to upper rooms. Steep outside stairs to main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

This is a charming Inn located near the Capital and University. The staff particularly stands out. Friendly and extremely accommodating. Rooms are clean and I really enjoyed the radiant heat in the bathroom. Food was yummy, the wine good and coffee hot! If staying longer then one night, I would suggest getting a large room. If you have difficultly with stairs, book a room on the first level, as there is no elevator. All in all, wonderful Inn and we would stay here again and again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Beautiful accommodations in a elegantly restored building. Walkable to most important locations in Madison, especially local and well-known restaurants. Perfect for a splurge and/or romantic time. We particularly loved our private balcony off our room. Staff is friendly and helpful and professional.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank droang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.9 km away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 km away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Address: 424 N Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-1472
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: $255 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations and historic charm. Your visit includes complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use as well as an onsite bar. At the Mansion Hill Inn, your innkeeper is your personal concierge with knowledge of Madison restaurants, activities and events and a willingness to go above and beyond to help you make the most of your time in Madison (printing boarding passes, fulfilling special requests upon arrival, booking dinner reservations, etc.) The Mansion Hill Inn is ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations and Badger sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mansion Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing