We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
216
29
7
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
29
7
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate balconycookiesno elevatorbottle of champagneturn down servicerain showeryogurtb bsgas fireplacecapitol squarespent two nightslarge bathroomtop flooronly stayed one nightdowntown areahard boiled eggscentral location
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 262 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night but wish we stayed more !! From reservation until check out anything requested was taken care of immediately. Our room #10 was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was great. The inn was walking distance from great restaurants.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2017

Fantastic time staying at Mansion Hill Inn! We were there for two nights and saw first hand the warmth and expertise of many employees. This place is wonderful. From the "yeah, no problem!" laundry service to delightful european style breakfast. You're in for a treat. Our room was spacious and opened to a wonderful patio which was well used. You're a nice walk away from Capitol Square and all of the fun therein. I hope to stay here during all of my trips to Madison.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 352marisav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Thank you for the kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and had time to connect with the Innkeepers. We hope to see you upon your next visit to Madison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

This is a gorgeous place on a tree-lined street, with an attentive staff that is eager to please. It is also centrally located, just a few blocks from the capitol and its surrounding restaurants and museums.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you on your next visit to Madison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

My husband and I were in town for UW Madison commencement ceremony for our daughter. The Mansion Hill Inn is excellently located on the north side of the Capital Square Area, easy walking or Uber distance to all venues on the UW campus. After a long, unusually warm day of commencement, photos, and parties, this was an excellent quiet retreat. Our family enjoyed a bottle of champagne on our private balcony and had a chance to enjoy some quiet time. The Inn does have a bar with wine and beer, however, we had brought along a bottle of champagne for the occasion.

Slept well, did not hear noise from neighborhood despite it being graduation party night in Madison. Comfortable mattresses, not too soft. Rain shower, no tub, one sink in bathroom. Could use a full length mirror. Breakfast in common room includes pastries, scones, coffee, tea, fruit, granola, boiled eggs. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially Madeline.

This is a restored 1850's mansion, so expect steep stairs, no elevator and smaller rooms. Not a good choice for those with mobility issues.

Had an outstanding stay made possible by the excellent staff attention to detail.

Room Tip: No elevator, steep staircase to upper rooms. Steep outside stairs to main floor.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Awe, what a wonderful review. Madeline is one of our best Innkeepers. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at the Mansion Hill Inn and we hope to see you on your next trip to Madison. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile

This is a charming Inn located near the Capital and University. The staff particularly stands out. Friendly and extremely accommodating. Rooms are clean and I really enjoyed the radiant heat in the bathroom. Food was yummy, the wine good and coffee hot! If staying longer then one night, I would suggest getting a large room. If you have difficultly with stairs, book a room on the first level, as there is no elevator. All in all, wonderful Inn and we would stay here again and again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thanks for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews