We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toured at our own pace”
Review of Garden District

Garden District
Ranked #18 of 326 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area of the city that features numerous historic homes.
Reviewed March 17, 2018

A nice trolley ride from our hotel on Canal St. We downloaded the Atlantis audio tour app for $1.99 which was a great way to tour the area. We could go at our own pace and adjust the route as we saw other interesting homes. The tour also gave great info about the history and architecture of the area and what makes certain houses unique/interesting. Glad we went to this area of town since it is so different from the French Quarter. Ended our tour at the Lafayette Cemetery.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank megklee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 707 reviews
"lafayette cemetery"
in 507 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 347 reviews
"magazine street"
in 472 reviews
"sandra bullock"
in 182 reviews
"french quarter"
in 875 reviews
"john goodman"
in 128 reviews
"commander's palace"
in 233 reviews
"trolley ride"
in 105 reviews
"anne rice"
in 115 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 175 reviews
"charles streetcar"
in 197 reviews
"walk around"
in 144 reviews
"audubon park"
in 93 reviews
"free tours by foot"
in 84 reviews
"canal street"
in 136 reviews
"day pass"
in 139 reviews
Filter

692 - 696 of 8,063 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2018

We had a chance to walk around this beautiful area. There is a self-guided tour map available, so we enjoyed Lafayette Cemetery, looking at the mansions and exploring some of the shops. Don't miss a lunch and Commander's Palace so you can enjoy the 25 cent martinis!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank kfalandays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018

We took a walking tour of the District. The guide was a local resident and very informative about the area. Some of these mansions are exquiste. saw the homes of Sandra Bullock, John Goodman and Archie Manning. So different from the French Quarter,

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018

This is where the first American in thr City built their homes. Large homes beautifully preserved. Huge trees, lovely formal gardens, and homes of famous people. A must see area to walk and gawk!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Took a great walking tour of the district based on the recommendation of a friend and really enjoyed it. You can definitely go wandering on ur own however I really enjoyed the tour. A lot of background info provided with a great guide.the area is really beautiful and serene. A completely different view of a busy bustling city. Make it a point to come here.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank parislover1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden District also viewed

 

Been to Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing