We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stop for a sweet tooth”

Southern Candymakers
Ranked #3 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$205
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: Southern Candymakers is a family-owned candy store in New Orleans' charming French Quarter. According to Bon Appetit Magazine, we have the best pralines...fresh and handmade daily!
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop for a sweet tooth”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We visited both locations during our trip and both were nice. The staff was very pleasant and the selection offered something for everyone. The "prawlines" were sweet but very good and certainly a "must-try" during a New Orleans vacation. (Feel free to ask for samples!) The tortues (turtles) were also great for satisfying a sweet tooth. Prepare to wait in line as these are popular shops but, the lines move quickly.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, 2 November 2015
We're so happy you had a wonderful experience! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    168
    33
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awesome candy shop for all things chocolate!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I love this place. This second you walk in all that you smell is deliciousness! We stop in 2-3 times in a week when we are in New Orleans. The peanut butter filled ritz dipped in chocolate is to die for! It's huge and rich so best to share with someone. The pralines are top rated, but I don't care for them myself. I prefer everything chocolate, and if you do too you won't be disappointed getting a quick treat from here!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maryhochda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, 2 November 2015
Thank you for your enthusiastic praise for our chocolate treats and for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best candy in Nola”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Get over there now. By far the best praline I have ever had. This is a must do if you are visiting the city.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, 2 November 2015
Thank you for your review and your enthusiastic praise for our fresh pralines! Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best candy in town!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great pralines as well as fun alligators and frogs made of chocolate. Fun for the kids!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TurboJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, 3 November 2015
Thank you for your review and your enthusiastic praise for our fresh pralines, alligators and frogs! Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Over Rated & Expensive”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We read all the good reviews about the Pralines and were disappointed. Way too sweet for our taste and way too overpriced!!! $4.80 for 2 Pralines. If they had been great it maybe was worth it. But you can find much better pralines at the New Orleans cooking school for much less?

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HDVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Candymakers also viewed

 

Been to Southern Candymakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing