We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stop for a sweet tooth”

Southern Candymakers
Ranked #3 of 65 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$205
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: Southern Candymakers is a family-owned candy store in New Orleans' charming French Quarter. According to Bon Appetit Magazine, we have the best pralines...fresh and handmade daily!
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We visited both locations during our trip and both were nice. The staff was very pleasant and the selection offered something for everyone. The "prawlines" were sweet but very good and certainly a "must-try" during a New Orleans vacation. (Feel free to ask for samples!) The tortues (turtles) were also great for satisfying a sweet tooth. Prepare to wait in line as these are popular shops but, the lines move quickly.

1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

We're so happy you had a wonderful experience! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 693 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

I love this place. This second you walk in all that you smell is deliciousness! We stop in 2-3 times in a week when we are in New Orleans. The peanut butter filled ritz dipped in chocolate is to die for! It's huge and rich so best to share with someone. The pralines are top rated, but I don't care for them myself. I prefer everything chocolate, and if you do too you won't be disappointed getting a quick treat from here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank maryhochda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

Thank you for your enthusiastic praise for our chocolate treats and for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Get over there now. By far the best praline I have ever had. This is a must do if you are visiting the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

Thank you for your review and your enthusiastic praise for our fresh pralines! Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great pralines as well as fun alligators and frogs made of chocolate. Fun for the kids!

1  Thank TurboJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Thank you for your review and your enthusiastic praise for our fresh pralines, alligators and frogs! Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We read all the good reviews about the Pralines and were disappointed. Way too sweet for our taste and way too overpriced!!! $4.80 for 2 Pralines. If they had been great it maybe was worth it. But you can find much better pralines at the New Orleans cooking school for much less?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HDVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Candymakers also viewed

 

Been to Southern Candymakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing