We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$229
US$195
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$194
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$282
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$223
US$197
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,207)
Filter reviews
4,207 results
Traveller rating
2,780
869
326
144
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,780
869
326
144
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssazerac barfountain loungeteddy's cafedomenica restaurantbeautiful hotelpersonal conciergethe blue roomfrench quarterking suiteturn down servicechristmas decorationscanal streetclassic hotelbeautiful lobbyroom serviceold worldconcierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
3,648 - 3,653 of 4,207 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I recently stayed here for 6 nights with my wife while attending a conference in New Orleans. We booked a King Suite and were very impressed with the room and hotel.
Overall Pros:
- Ceilings were at least 12 or 13 feet making the room feel very large.
- One and a half bathrooms, with a well equipped shower.
- comfortable bed and QUIET bedroom.
- rooftop pool was clean and well serviced. Very quiet during the weekdays.
- Gym was adequate, with complimentary bottled water and fruit.
- Staff were VERY kind and helpful, from the bellboys to the front desk and concierge.
- We ate at Domineca, the Italian restaurant, and were very satisfied with the food.
- LOVED the Sazerac Lounge. Very good drinks and awesome atmosphere.
- location is perfect. Close enough to the french quarter without being in it. Also close to tonnes of great restaurants in the CBD (would definetly recommend LUKE).
- hotel style is very cool. Modern amenities in a historic and grande setting.

Cons.
- it is a bit pricey, although I think not unreasonable for what you get. Example would be drinks at the Sazerac bar are 10-15 dollars, but made with premium liquor and ingredients in a high end atmosphere.
- no free wifi in the room (but free in the lobby). These days I would consider this amenity standard, especially at a luxury hotel.
- parking (if you drive) is very expensive... like 45$ a day.
- housekeeping came later in the day, which at times was annoying.

New Orleans is a great city. Lots of history, great dining and tonnes of interesting nightlife. There is a certain "grit" to it, but it grew on me. I would definitely recommend this hotel based on service, value and location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will_travel_for_fun9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Will_travel_for_fun9,

Thanks so much for allowing the Trip Advisor community an incite of your recent stay at The Roosevelt New Orleans. Your review is very informative and am confident that it will assist others in making their hotel choice while in the great city of New Orleans! We hope to welcome you back soon with all the upcoming summer festivities that are taking place. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to accommodate you.

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a bit lengthy but hopefully useful if you are considering spending $300+/night on this property.

My wife and I arrived at 3:30pm on a Saturday afternoon to a lobby which was strewn with luggage and long lines. The problem: according to a hotel employee, the hotel's computer system had been down for 18 hours, and so the staff (who was working very hard) didn't know who had checked out, which rooms were occupied or which rooms had been cleaned. Everything was being done by hand.

It took two and a half hours for us to get assigned a room (we were told that it would be 40 minutes by the front desk....). Ironically, the staff took my cell phone number in order to tell us when our room was ready, but because ATT had between zero and 1/2 bars in the lobby, and I didn't have a lot of confidence in the process, I decided to stand in 20-minute-long lines multiple times to check on our status.

We eventually got a room, but we are still awaiting a call telling us that our room is ready.

We felt really bad for the two wedding parties who had booked this venue for their wedding receptions because they had undoubtedly paid dearly and expected a more dignified setting. Hopefully, their honeymoon was at a place with better management.

OK, so why am I railing against management? First, there is no excuse for a computer system being down for 18 hours. Second, another hotel employee stated that this was the third time this network problem had occurred at this property. I don't know if that's true, but if so, some changes in upper management are needed.

Why 3 stars? On the positive side: it's a beautiful property drenched in history. The staff we interacted with were empathetic and tried to assuage our discomfort. Our room was well appointed and roomy (for a historic property). Also, they've got a great gift shop. Yes, it's a little pricey, but we found some real treasures.

Well, there was also a spurious charge on our docket, but the front desk quickly squashed that. And I wish they had coffee makers in the rooms.

In summary, there were so many positives about this Waldorf-Astoria property that it is unconscionable that management would ignore the information system.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank REEF_Surfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear REEF_Surfer_8,

Let me first apologize for the initial experience that you encountered upon your arrival. We experienced some very difficult challenges and did our absolute best to avoid these challenges being absorbed by our guests. We understand that this may have been very frustrating, but hope that the rest of your stay was problem free.
Thank you for being honest in your review as we use these responses to improve our operations and celebrate our successes! We hope that these unfortunate challenges that we incurred do not leave a bad taste for you and that we may be able to welcome you back in the future to show you a true Waldorf service!

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I stay there for three nights before traveling to Baton Rouge. Check in was fast bell man help with ideas of what to see and direction to locations. Had one small problem with room not being clean after long day in the French Quarter. Call front desk and within a fews minutes room was clean and ready for us. Restaurant in the hotel are great for quick breakfast or dinner. Serivce was a little slow but good.

Room Tip: We wanted a room away for street noise. Ask for tower #1 rooms. Very quiet room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victormar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

victormar21,

Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay at The Roosevelt New Orleans. I'm sure the Trip Advisor community appreciates any incite while looking for accommodations when traveling to the city. We also appreciate knowing how we are doing and where we can continue to improve. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while traveling onwards. Come on back soon :)

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautifully restored hotel, an experience just to walk through it. Coffee shop/snack bar is great and very convenient. Staff helpful and courteous, room large and decorated beautifully. My wife had a great experience at the spa. The outdoor pool is small and the exercise room is OK. Great location half block from Canal St. Attended a conference and meeting rooms were freezing, even after two days of conference staff asking that temperature be raised so take a jacket or sweater of attending a conference. Bathroom small, but elegant.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite was outstanding.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baldguyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

baldguyut,

Thanks so much for stopping by Trip Advisor! We appreciate the opportunity to have served you and your fellow conference attendees while in New Orleans. Hopefully you were able to get out into the city and explore to entice you to visit us again in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Location is everything in NOLA, and the Roosevelt has it. Yes, its neighbors are drugstores and a chintzy gift shop, but what counts is that the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the French Quarter, the St Charles streetcar, and the riverfront. You're spared all the smells and late night noise of Bourbon Street.

Waldorf Astoria deserves an award for the reconstruction of this historic pile. It manages to feel opulent, vintage-y and fresh all at the same time. Our room was spacious and well-equipped. Staff were unfailingly helpful and personally engaging.

The only deficiency was housekeeping, where they need to step up their game. Towels left on the floor were still there the next day. Drippy dirt on the mirrors was there when we arrived and there when we left. Table surfaces never met any cleaning fluids. The room wasn't unpleasantly dirty. It just was pretty far from meticulous. Not even close to four or five star housekeeping.

Putting that aside, we were delighted. The hotel was a highlight of a week-long trip in the South.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnview9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear mtnview9,

Your response is very much appreciated! We understand that there are areas where we can continue to improve and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address these areas.
With so many exciting attractions in the city, we are blessed that The Roosevelt was the highlight for you! Thank you for being our guest and hope to see you again the next time you travel through the South :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews