We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Big Easy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #53 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Rowland Heights
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Big Easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Marriott New Orleans on Canal Street sets in the heart of sightseeing and shopping. It's just a half a block from the famous Acme Oyster House and only three blocks from Bourbon Street, French Quarters. You can walk to the Mardi Gras events. Parking near Bourbon Street during Mardi Gras is virtually impossible. The staff members are warm and gives you the southern hospitallity of New Orleans. The rooms are excellent and lives up to the high standards of Marriott. You are justs a few blocks from Harrah's casino and the riverfront, where you can take a boat ride on Lake Pontchartrain. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Canal Street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    771
    275
    82
    41
See reviews for
325
641
70
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I am writing this review while still at the hotel! I transferred to this hotel from Harrahs as they were booked up (wonderful stay there - see my review) I am a Marriott Rewards member.
Pros - great room, great location, nice and helpful staff
Cons - tiny, tiny bathroom, internet access - awful (used my phone to access work emails as using laptop took so long),
hot water using it for first time was very cool- had to run it for 10 mins for it to warm up,
room service for breakfast - if you put out your order before midnight - check that it was taken as soon as you get up - ours was not taken and we had a tour to go on - their recovery from this was fast but when we called down they were not surprised!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flowerbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We never stay in our room too long when we're in New Orleans,so we usually get a place on Priceline. The hotel was clean and the room had a good sized bathroom. No complaints. We were supposed to have a king and got 2 doubles,but we didnt change rooms. Everyone was pleasant and there is a Starbucks in the hotel as well as a Chase atm,which was helpful. Super convenient to the french quarter and the warehouse district.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crashed427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Checking was a breeze, the staff most helpful with checking me and received a great room with a view of the river (thanks to other reviews I was well prepared and the guy checking me in seemed appreciative) albeit the view was between buildings… The room was a corner room and it was fine, clean- especially for the amount of time I spent in it.
I was sitting at the concierge’s desk which was empty at the moment when the General Manager asked if he could help. (Thank you, thank you, and thank you!) I told him where I had eaten, where I had plans on eating at and where I couldn’t get in at a decent time and he completely appreciated my efforts as well as understood my mission. First he called the restaurant I couldn’t get in before 9 (Bayona) and he made me a reservation for me at 7 for the same night. Thank you, again. AND then suggested a restaurant not on my list… if was magnificent and I am very grateful!

Room Tip: I usually ask for a description of the views. I did read the reviews here and took the suggestions a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed at this location for one night and have to say am a bit surprised this is considered a JW Marriott. Hotel is nice....dont get me wrong, but does not have the same level of service and style that other JW locations have. This should be a standard Marriott hotel. Staff was very nice, but room was fair. Beds not the best and the bathroom had issues; I should not have to hold the toilet flush handle down for 5 seconds just to get the thing to do its job. Nor should I have to stand in a foot of water in the shower because the drain is so slow! Little things that we really should not have to deal with at a JW. If I go back to New Orleans, not sure I would go back to this location as there are many other options close by.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Txchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, new york
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We arrived at a busy time before check-in. The bell captain was totally overwhelmed with hundreds of bags, valet situation was a MESS. Our room had a strong musty moldy smell coming from the AC- got out of there as soon as possible the next day only to have more chaos at the valet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roogus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
319 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here for one night, and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is large and full service as one would expect for a JW Marriott. The service and front desk staff were excellent.
My room was fair size, very comfortable bed, good amenities. I enjoyed the use of the concierge floor (gold/platinum MR account).
My only caveat for this hotel is that its showing some age in the decor and furnishings. My room had a nice new tv but the furnishings were looking tired. The room could have used some better air circulation as well, but overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing