We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Place d'Armes Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$179
US$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$264
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$179
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,513)
Filter reviews
2,513 results
Traveller rating
1,243
904
205
93
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,243
904
205
93
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjackson squareinterior roomann streetcontinental breakfastcafe dufrench quarterbourbon streetperfect locationlouis cathedralbeautiful courtyardwithout windowsno windowjunior suiteprivate balconysmall pooltwo blocksexposed brick
Filter
Updating list...
1,532 - 1,537 of 2,513 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We came for the mens final four, booked months in advance, had to leave a huge deposit and totally pay for the room a month ahead of time. Paid over $300.00 per night for a couple of the nights and close to the rest. Got there and the room was very, very small, balcony looked out of construction, Balcony next to us was off the hallway so everyone smoked out there, so our room smelled like smoke. The pool was empty and dug up. We arrived on a Wednesday and were told it would be fixed by Friday, then Monday and when we left on Wednesday no one had even started the repair. Also we had to book a minimum 4 nights and while we were there they we accepting people for one night at $89.00 per night. Horrible experience. Beds were horrible, worn out.

Room Tip: Dont even book there
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LMerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I had stayed at the Place d'Armes on several occasions pre-Katrina and always loved the location, charm and value of the hotel -- even while recognizing that it was greatly rundown. Upon returning from a four-night stay during the Final Four I can report that the hotel is now in very good shape after a recent rennovation and still retains its charm and value.

My wife, son and I stayed in Room 208, which is a junior suite on the back side of the main building. It's a very large room, with a sitting area with a pullout couch and three large windows that overlook the courtyard pool (which, as others have noted, is currently closed while undergoing rennovation). It looks great! The paint and wallpaper in the room are fresh, the matress seems new and is firm and there is a 26" HDTV. Pullout couches in even high-end hotels are often disasterous, but my son slept well on the pullout and thought it was very comfortable.

No matter how well you clean it up, the Place d'Armes is in a very old building and has all the drawbacks of its age. The bathrooms are small, the floors creak, you hear water in the pipes from time to time and late one night we awoke to the clear sounds through the walls of the amorous couple next door (which made it a little awkward seeing them in the hall the next morning!). But for us anyway these "blemishes" are part of the authentic character of the place. A continental breakfast is served each morning in the sunny breakfast room on the first floor and the courtyard remains spectacular -- large, quiet and beautifully landscaped. This has to be one of the best hotel courtyards in the quarter.

Service was a little uneven during our stay. The woman who checked us in was disinterested and frankly a little rude and one evening we overheard a virtual shouting match between another front desk woman and a seemingly inebriated young couple as we passed through the lobby. However, the front desk did call my cell phone, as promised, when our room was ready for check in. Both Ryan and another woman working the bellstand (Kora I think) were extremely helpful and friendly. On Tuesday, when cabs were in extremely high demand, they produced our airport cab at exactly the appointed time.

Because of the Final Four our rate was high but in off times the rates at the hotel remain reasonable. As many other have noted the hotel's location can't be beat -- directly off Jackson Square and two blocks from Bourbon Street. You can park your car in the adjacent garage for the duration of your stay and readily walk to everything.

With the upgrades that have been recently made to the hotel the Place d'Armes is an excellent choice in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank More_2_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Pool was closed. Rooms small and no windows. Good walking distance to everything I needed. Sent shirts to laundry on Thursday, not back on Sunday night.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannnemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, Owner at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

There are several interior rooms in the hotel which are clearly described "Interior Windowless" room category. They are actually among the most popular selections of our room types for guests who want our superior location and unique historic facility, but at the best value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel many years ago, and loved the location. We enjoyed this hotel again. It is located virtually steps away from the main sights in the French Quarter. Our room was small but nicely decorated and quiet. The people tending to the breakfast bar and the valet for the parking lot were very friendly. The receptionists seemed to have tended to too many guests to be friendly, but they did their job in a professional manner. The room prices tend to be high for the modest size of the rooms, but we can forgive that because of the beautiful courtyards and the convenience of having the best of the French Quarter right outside the doorway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif0rniadreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We recently spent 3 days in New Orleans and this hotel was the perfect location!!! We were close enough to Bourbon street to walk and enjoy the nightlife but far enough away to have quiet and relaxation at the end of the day!! We were also a block from Decatur street and Cafe Du Monde.The room was cozy and quiet for sleeping and the internal garden was lovely for sitting and relaxing. Great value for the money!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews