We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a pretty easy place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I have two young daughters, and traveling to Jazz Fest is a labor of love. We're pretty mellow and low maintenance, and what we want is to recreate the feel of staying with family. At CG, you arrive and you get that experience. We arrived, dropped our stuff off and were able to go to sleep. No bellhop with a uniform or mints on our pillows but (those things are great) that's not what we were looking for or expected here.

In the morning we woke up and weren't embarrassed to have our young children explore the kitchen and ask AP or Steve about the history of the place. They weren't so busy running the business that they couldn't spend time with us making us feel welcome. That's the thing we were looking for. They helped us get our bikes ready and hook our double-trailer onto the bike so we could bike over to the fairgrounds with the kids in tow.

I didn't really look at the thread count on the sheets, or run my finger on the window sill looking for dust. The place felt clean, and the sheets felt clean. The breakfast was convenient, and inexpensive. Some people want to go out for some better fare, and that's fine. We enjoyed being able to eat there. One morning our friend came over and ate with us--they didn't ask for his room number or demand extra money. They were sweet, and kind, and I wish them continued success. (selfishly, hopefully not so much success that I'm not able to find a room with them. :)

The biggest test for me is that this year (2012) will be our fifth year returning to Noz for Jazzfest. This is the first year that I've emailed the same place to book a return stay.

Room Tip: We stayed close to the street, on the bottom floor, which goes against what everyone else recommends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thanks so much for your great words! We loved having your whole family here and welcome everyone with kids (both 2 and 4 legged!) Please come back and "live" with us again! You totally "got" us----we're trying to provide an alternative to stuffy B and B's or large corporate chains and want you to feel like you're in your home away from home and can just relax and hang out here. But by the way, the thread count is 250, for all of you who are out there counting.......(sometimes it's nice to have it both ways!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

I really really dislike staying at chain hotels. I was looking for something smaller and independent, Creole Gardens seemed to fit the bill. It always feels a bit risky staying at places selected off of the internet site unseen, but with enough positive reviews we decided to book a Bordello room. Upon arrival, the service was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were humble, yet beautiful. They were simple, clean and comfortable. It never felt like a bland hotel room. The breakfasts were fantastic-freshly made for you everyday. The location was within walking distance to the garden district, the french quarter, the river, and close to the trolly making getting around very easy. The staff is very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. They are great in making sure you know where to go and what to do and making recommendations if you're too tired to decide. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone looking for a great little place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackenzy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, Owner at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Oh we love people like you!! We're not for everyone (if you like uniformity stay at a chain, if you want a bellhop stay at the Ritz) but if you love New Orleans for the reasons we love her and want a real TASTE of what this town is really like, you will most probably love us back too!
We hope to see you again soon and thanks for becoming part of our growing Creole Gardens extended family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This B&B wasn't awful but neither was it deserving of the hyperbole. Our room was old, the furniture was rickety, the linens were almost see-through, and there was a pretty clear ring of grunge around the entire room. The vanity in the bathroom was so rickety I was afraid to lean on it for fear it would come right out of the wall. The breakfast was pointedly uninspired - eggs and grits, variations on a theme. The breakfast room is a confusing jumble of massive TV with CNN blaring over top a stereo playing music - not exactly an easy place to start your day.

The place looked and felt like a hostel - I actually kept mistakenly saying that the whole time we stayed there. 'When we go back to the hostel' etc. This is not what I expect from a B&B. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else if you are an experienced B&B'er.

When we arrived there was a huge miscommunication about our room which was irritating because I had actually spoken to the owner to ensure we would be getting a specific room - which of course we didn't. The room we had specifically requested was dirty - so we had to wait somewhere else for 40 minutes. A small irritation, but we had just come through a torrential downpour with our things and this really put us off.

NOTE: this B&B is NOT wheelchair accessible. They have one room that is ramped, but the furniture blocks the bathroom and a wheelchair user cannot access the office or dining room because of multiple stairs. It should not be listed as such.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theartichoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

We are so sorry you had a less than perfect experience and invite you to come back and try us again (as you said you would). In all fairness, you were originally offered the room with the ramp when you booked via email but turned it down in favor of another room with a handicap accessible bathroom without a ramp. When you showed up, though, you opted for the first one, instead, so we rushed to get that room ready for you while you and your partner waited in our antibellum parlour rooms. The room you had doesn't have a vanity in the bathroom (it's handicap accessible with a custom sink with beautiful wood scrolled brackets so it doesn't in any way seem institutional---our father was in a wheelchair for the last 30 years of his life and the last thing we want to ever do is offer anyone who is less abled anything short of the best experience anyone else gets). Our linens are 250 count and we are always ordering new fresh towels. When you were here we not only served eggs, bacon, grits and toast, but fresh made banana pancakes with the bananas off our trees (by the way, bed and breakfasts in New Orleans are NOT legally permitted to cook hot food so don't expect our big Southern style breakfast in a "normal" B and B ---unless you realize they're not abiding by the local laws and licensing permits. We had to go the extra mile to get retrofitted and pay for a commercial restaurant kitchen which is why OUR guests get to munch and enjoy hot and yummy home cooked meals without the fear of the local health and restaurant police barging in on a raid!) And, yes, it's true, the 1840's era double dining parlours with 13 foot ceilings and pocket doors are fillled with original art and photos from local artists, plus an art nouveau baby grand piano for any of our guests to play. And there's a flat screen TV on during breakfast time so guests can watch the news (we put it there during the football season when our Saints were marching to the Superbowl), but that's shut off after breakfast in favor of our beloved local radio station WWOZ FM that plays all nature of Nawlins funk, blues, brass and jazz. Most people enjoy our place and the fact that the jumble and color of the town is somehow reflected in our own personality (in other words, if you prefer sleek minimalism, go stay at the W). But a hostel? That's a new one. It's true we aren't like a typical stuffy Bed and Breakfast with doilies and antiques everywhere--more like a European style inn (at least we've been told) and we go out of our way to give everyone a personal, handmade blast of Nawlins fun, love and laughter. And do you remember telling us you'd like to come and stay again? We hope you do come back! We will make sure you do get the best time you expect and deserve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The staff at Creole Gardens was amazing, and were full of helpful recommendations and suggestions on what to do while in the City. The breakfasts were delicious, and we were made to feel so welcome. The B&B was convenient to the St. Charles trolley, er, streetcar, and it was a quick ride to both the downtown Canal/Bourbon Street area, or out to Uptown. It was walkable to much of the Garden District, and a quick walk to a few good neighborhood places. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to NOLA!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our Bordello room was beautiful, the bed was so comfy I wanted to bring it home. The bathroom was the cleanest one I have ever seen. Breakfast was amazing. We used the trolley, oops! streetcar (one block away) to go back and forth to French Quarter. St. Charles Street (one block away) has great restaurants. Walked to Garden District, Magazine Street. Staff was always helpful. Awesome place, staff, location. We will be back!

Room Tip: Go to the website and look at the rooms. I chose while on the phone with staff. Room looked exactly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

When I couldn't get a room at the traditional hotel where my conference was held, I looked for the next closest place. While the Creole Gardnes was still a mile away, I enjoyed the morning walks, but don't recommend walking back at night. It is convenient to the St. Charles Streetcar, so I rode that a couple of days. The accommodations in the cottage rooms are aptly described as 'funky'. In addition to a small set of bongo drums, my room had bunk beds and a very small bathroom, but I knew I would only be there to sleep. For the difference in price, it was definitely worth it. It was nice to have a quiet sit down, cooked to order breakfast without the usual hassles of long waits in big hotels with everyone you know sitting in the same dining room. The staff was very friendly and I felt right at home.

Room Tip: No elevator, so limit your luggage to the cottage rooms. Convenient to the streetcar. Good locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefirstmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Location was great of this b&b. Just southwest of downtown made walking a nice 15 min walk or trolley ride one block away. $1.25 per person on St Charles. Stayed in mansion 2 and was very nice. Clean sheets and towels. Small Frig and small tv. Nice big four post bed with two sitting chairs in front of it. Wife loved the claw foot bathtub for soaking in. Stand up shower was ok, but needed shower head replaced. Breakfast was good and staff was great. Did not go away hungry but breakfast was nothing fancy like at other b&b. House has great history with woodworking not seen now days. I would love to stay back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbone3672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
401 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#11 of 142 in New Orleans
386 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
503 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $131 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing