We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Blacksburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but....”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My friends and I stayed at your hotel from the 8th till the 13th. Great Location, but you cleaning staff needs some serious addressing. We had stuff taken from our rooms, (we had connecting rooms). we had stuff moved, I don't mean like a little I mean moved about the room. Our furniture had major stains, carpet was real dirty. Brought this to the front desk staffs attention. We were told they would let us know something about our missing stuff and never got a response back. I will say the guys out front and the majority of the front desk staff were wonderful. But we had issues that were ignored and well I'm already looking into staying somewhere else when I go back because I can't trust the housekeeping staff at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seortega1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    646
    160
    39
    25
See reviews for
454
647
79
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Plus: the rooms were quite large and pleasant. The parking is valet and we took the car out every day - and the valets got it there fast.

Minus: Breakfast was pretty lame. Although the coffee was excellent, the eggs were powdered, really inedible, actually inexplicable. There was pork sausage but no hash browns/grits/etc. The pastries were also pretty bad.

One morning I requested an extra chair for the room and the repair of the broken hairdryer and was told "right away." Upon our return 10 hours later neither had been addressed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEAinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of your breakfast you experienced during your stay. We are working to improve our offerings and welcome your comments. Also, please accept our apologies for the amenities in your room that did not function properly. We hope you will come back and stay with us the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woods Hole
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was the ideal spot for our 4 days over New Years for our family of 4 (2 daughters in college).. It is close to the French Quarter (one block) and on the street car line. The hotel is unusual for a Hampton Inn because it has enormous room size and high ceilings and huge windows. All the rest is the reliable Hampton with healthy breakfasts. The staff were helpful and the celebrations on the river were just an 8 minute walk away. Also it is away from the New Orleans Convention center which is nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street bring in a great light in daytime and there was no noise despite the hilarity of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very close to everything - Bourbon street is just a block away. Our room was very nice - the staff was friendly. Would stay again (and hope to).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn for 2 nights on a girls' trip. First of all, the location is excellent. It's a 5 minute walk to Bourbon street - right in the middle of every place you want to be.

After a long drive, we made it to the hotel around 1:30, although check-in was not until 3pm. They let us check in early, so that was a plus! Once we arrived in the room, we noticed a couple of things. The tub faucet was running a steady stream of water and wouldn't shut off, and the bathroom sink wasn't draining. About 10 minutes after we arrived to the room, a staff member called to make sure everything was as expected. We told them about the 2 issues, and someone was up within minutes to fix both problems.

With 5 girls staying in one room, we had to call for extra towels a couple of times. Each time, towels were brought up withing 5-10 minutes. One night we called for an extra blanket around 2am and it was to our room within 5 minutes.

The hotel has a breakfast buffet that was good and is available until 10am. They also have valet parking ($29/night), but it was prompt and I'm sure that's standard for any hotel in the area.

Overall, I think that this Hampton Inn is a great place to stay - especially because of the outstanding service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallorybsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed in New Orleans over the St. Patrick's Day weekend. Picked this hotel for price and location.Felt this was an okay choice. You should be aware there are less than desirable street people in the nearby area, however once we hit Canal Street (two blocks away) things were fine. Big rooms, okay breakfast and steep parking fee ($30.00 per day) Pleasant staff. Convenient location to French Quarter and streetcar stop is nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were in New Orleans for the NCAA Final Four.......and this property was the perfect spot for our stay. Stay here and you are within walking distance of everything.....Superdome, Bourbon Street (only 1 1/2 blocks away) and the French Quarter, French Market, Riverwalk and the Convention Center. The rooms are spacious and include a huge flat screen TV, refridgerator, microwave and a safe. They also offer fee breakfast and free wireless internet. Book this hotel for your next stay in the Big Easy and you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSquared007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,428 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing