We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding & Stay”
Review of Degas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Degas House
Ranked #67 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Our wedding at the Degas House was nothing short of perfect! Shawne, the planner and organizer and her staff provided first-class service and assistance and gave great advice throughout the event. Our stay that night in the Estele Suite was picture-perfect and comfortable. Brunch and coffee in the morning tasted great, hats off to the cooks at Degas as well! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Estele Suite with balcony is definitely worth it, best room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

It is always a gratifying feeling to have a bride and groom happy about their wedding at Degas House. Our staff works hard to make sure everything is done to the satisfaction of the couple. Your review indicates that you were pleased, and we thank you for choosing Degas House and allowing us to give you a wonderful and memorable wedding. We look forward to seeing you again -- maybe on your anniversary?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

During spring break we stayed at the Degas House Bed and Breakfast it has been very nice very quaint. Elegant very old but the bathrooms have been updated and the beds have been comfortable and breakfast has been amazing cooked order every morning and just a very nice visit. Very different from what we're used to cuz we are definitely Modern Hotel dwellers.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PhyllisGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

We are very happy that you chose Degas House for your visit to New Orleans and that you enjoyed your stay. Staying in a bed and breakfast is very different from a hotel, the main advantage being that you are in a unique home rather than a cookie-cutter hotel. Degas House is a historic home - in fact, one of the few historic house museums that you can actually spend the night in. We hope to see you again sometime. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Since we're staying in the day Degas hHouse Bread & Breakfast, we decided to take the museum tour today. I found it very interesting. If you're ever in New Orleans, and have a about 45 minutes it's a great tour.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you for writing your review of the Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour. We're delighted that you enjoyed it and appreciate the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Enjoyed this tour very much, PARTICULARLY because of Micey (who gave the tour) and her connection to the Degas family. The breakfast was delicious. One thing to know is to ask when the tour actually starts . . . we were told to arrive at 9 a.m. for the breakfast, but the tour didn't start until 10:30. It was pleasant to hang out and enjoy the ambiance of the house and neighborhood, but we would have preferred the tour to start at 9:30 or 10 a.m.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NovelTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you for submitting your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour. We wish you would have been told that you could have come later for breakfast, as long as you finished your breakfast before the tour began at 10:30. Please forgive us for not mentioning that. Nevertheless, we hope you will return to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We did not spend the night here (but we will next time we are in New Orleans). We really enjoyed brunch in the cozy dining room, followed by a tour. You don't need to be an art expert to appreciate the importance of Edgar Degas. I felt that the tour guide (a descendant of Degas) did a good job of explaining where Degas fit into the times of New Orleans as well as the Impressionist movement in France. To me, this is the best way to learn about art- one artist at a time...

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Momplannedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you for submitting your positive review of the brunch and the tour. Many people come not knowing much about Edgar Degas and leave with a desire to learn even more about him and his art. We love that you appreciate what the tour offers. We look forward to welcoming you as a guest in our bed and breakfast the next time you are in New Orleans where you will have the opportunity to stay in the same rooms where Edgar Degas lived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

My family went the day after Thanksgiving for breakfast and we were met with friendly faces asking if we wanted a Bloody Mary or a mojito. We were offered several choices including a variety of omelettes, French toast, sausage, bacon. You can't go wrong, as any choice here is a good choice. We all shared food and enjoyed good coffee. We met others visiting New Orleans. A Tour with the history of Edgar Degas followed, including a short award-winning documentary. Degas was the only French Impressionist painter to visit the United States. You need at least two and a half hours for this and it ends with an opinionated walking tour of the neighborhood. Go and do this!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank 12dbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you for writing your very positive review of the breakfast and tour. We love your statement "Go and do this!". The Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour is totally unique to all tours in New Orleans and having a delicious breakfast prior to the tour is an added bonus. We hope you will visit us again and stay with us on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I'm not rating the B&B experience - Just took the tour. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, but in my opinion, this tour left a lot to be desired. You watch an informative (but lengthy) video re: Degas in New Orleans. Then the tour - you look at prints of Degas paintings, sketches, etc - some of which have nothing to do with Degas' time in New Orleans - and hear the same information you heard ten minutes before in the video. The day we were there, the place was still set up from a wedding held the night before (food on the tables, etc.) - was also one of the priciest tours I've taken to date. Can't in good conscience recommend this tour.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the tour, and especially sorry that the grounds were not yet cleaned from the previous night's wedding. However, much goes on here and things sometimes fall behind. Nevertheless, realizing that we get many many compliments on the tour, we also know that not everyone likes art and this type of tour, so we are sorry that this wasn't a pleasant experience for you. Hopefully, you will return and stay in the bed and breakfast where we can promise that you will at least enjoy our fabulous breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#53 of 141 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#40 of 141 in New Orleans
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Degas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Degas House

Address: 2306 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $171 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Degas House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Degas House is the celebrated only remaining home of the French Impressionist Master Edgar Degas that is open to the public in the world. Degas House has been recognized by the French Minister of Culture, through the French National Order of Arts and Letters. Today, the home serves as a Museum House with guided tours, Bed and Breakfast, wedding/reception venue and for corporate functions. Degas House is also home of the Degas Foundation, whose educational mission includes serving as a cultural resource center to the public. Degas House is licensed, insured and inspected. We are in our 19th year of business and provide the security you and your family desire during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Degas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Degas House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing