We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
109
24
4
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
24
4
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast tourhistory bufffresh fruitesplanadeweddingdocentsuitecreolenola
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 159 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

During spring break we stayed at the Degas House Bed and Breakfast it has been very nice very quaint. Elegant very old but the bathrooms have been updated and the beds have been comfortable and breakfast has been amazing cooked order every morning and just a very nice visit. Very different from what we're used to cuz we are definitely Modern Hotel dwellers.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PhyllisGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

We are very happy that you chose Degas House for your visit to New Orleans and that you enjoyed your stay. Staying in a bed and breakfast is very different from a hotel, the main advantage being that you are in a unique home rather than a cookie-cutter hotel. Degas House is a historic home - in fact, one of the few historic house museums that you can actually spend the night in. We hope to see you again sometime. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2017 via mobile

Since we're staying in the day Degas hHouse Bread & Breakfast, we decided to take the museum tour today. I found it very interesting. If you're ever in New Orleans, and have a about 45 minutes it's a great tour.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Thank you for writing your review of the Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour. We're delighted that you enjoyed it and appreciate the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Enjoyed this tour very much, PARTICULARLY because of Micey (who gave the tour) and her connection to the Degas family. The breakfast was delicious. One thing to know is to ask when the tour actually starts . . . we were told to arrive at 9 a.m. for the breakfast, but the tour didn't start until 10:30. It was pleasant to hang out and enjoy the ambiance of the house and neighborhood, but we would have preferred the tour to start at 9:30 or 10 a.m.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NovelTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Thank you for submitting your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour. We wish you would have been told that you could have come later for breakfast, as long as you finished your breakfast before the tour began at 10:30. Please forgive us for not mentioning that. Nevertheless, we hope you will return to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2016

We did not spend the night here (but we will next time we are in New Orleans). We really enjoyed brunch in the cozy dining room, followed by a tour. You don't need to be an art expert to appreciate the importance of Edgar Degas. I felt that the tour guide (a descendant of Degas) did a good job of explaining where Degas fit into the times of New Orleans as well as the Impressionist movement in France. To me, this is the best way to learn about art- one artist at a time...

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Momplannedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Thank you for submitting your positive review of the brunch and the tour. Many people come not knowing much about Edgar Degas and leave with a desire to learn even more about him and his art. We love that you appreciate what the tour offers. We look forward to welcoming you as a guest in our bed and breakfast the next time you are in New Orleans where you will have the opportunity to stay in the same rooms where Edgar Degas lived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

My family went the day after Thanksgiving for breakfast and we were met with friendly faces asking if we wanted a Bloody Mary or a mojito. We were offered several choices including a variety of omelettes, French toast, sausage, bacon. You can't go wrong, as any choice here is a good choice. We all shared food and enjoyed good coffee. We met others visiting New Orleans. A Tour with the history of Edgar Degas followed, including a short award-winning documentary. Degas was the only French Impressionist painter to visit the United States. You need at least two and a half hours for this and it ends with an opinionated walking tour of the neighborhood. Go and do this!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank 12dbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Thank you for writing your very positive review of the breakfast and tour. We love your statement "Go and do this!". The Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour is totally unique to all tours in New Orleans and having a delicious breakfast prior to the tour is an added bonus. We hope you will visit us again and stay with us on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews