We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
109
24
4
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
24
4
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast tourhistory bufffresh fruitesplanadeweddingdocentsuitecreolenola
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 159 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

You must stop at Degas House in New Orleans. Great tour.. And a surprise that our docent was a relative of the family... Though she did not reveal this until the middle of the tour. What a pleasant surprise. A must visit!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank PVPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Thank you for submitting your 5-Star review of The Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour. We are happy that you enjoyed it and enjoyed the surprise of having the tour given by a relative of Edgar Degas. We appreciate your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

We had our wedding at the Degas House, and we could not recommend it enough. For a New Orleans wedding, it is very affordable. It is a beautiful space. It's the type of place that a local or former local (like myself) would choose for their wedding. It has the wonderful character of New Orleans without the drawbacks of a downtown wedding.

In addition to a beautiful space and very good food (within the limitations of buffet catering), the staff are incredible. Shawne had to step in as the new event coordinator a month before our wedding, due to her predecessor having health problems. In spite of coming in so late in the game, Shawne pulled off our wedding without a hitch.

We also stayed at the Degas House leading up to the wedding, and initially our room was going to be ready later than originally expected. Instead of just apologizing, which would have been fine, they upgraded us to a beautiful two bedroom suite that was ready.

Every part of the process with the Degas House was pretty effortless and a real joy. We will always have beautiful memories there. We also plan to come back for an anniversary :).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Thank you so much for submitting your 5-Star review. We appreciate the detail you put in your review, because it tells us what we are doing right! Since you are from New Orleans or are familiar with it, it's gratifying to know that you choose Degas House for its character and location. What an honor it is for us when a couple chooses to have their wedding, one of the most special events of your lives, at Degas House. Our staff does everything possible to make sure that the entire event and stay go smoothly. We are so glad you were happy with your stay, but mostly, that you were happy with your wedding and reception. Thanks again for choosing Degas House. And we do hope to see you on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Our wedding at the Degas House was nothing short of perfect! Shawne, the planner and organizer and her staff provided first-class service and assistance and gave great advice throughout the event. Our stay that night in the Estele Suite was picture-perfect and comfortable. Brunch and coffee in the morning tasted great, hats off to the cooks at Degas as well! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Estele Suite with balcony is definitely worth it, best room in the house!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

It is always a gratifying feeling to have a bride and groom happy about their wedding at Degas House. Our staff works hard to make sure everything is done to the satisfaction of the couple. Your review indicates that you were pleased, and we thank you for choosing Degas House and allowing us to give you a wonderful and memorable wedding. We look forward to seeing you again -- maybe on your anniversary?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

During spring break we stayed at the Degas House Bed and Breakfast it has been very nice very quaint. Elegant very old but the bathrooms have been updated and the beds have been comfortable and breakfast has been amazing cooked order every morning and just a very nice visit. Very different from what we're used to cuz we are definitely Modern Hotel dwellers.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PhyllisGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

We are very happy that you chose Degas House for your visit to New Orleans and that you enjoyed your stay. Staying in a bed and breakfast is very different from a hotel, the main advantage being that you are in a unique home rather than a cookie-cutter hotel. Degas House is a historic home - in fact, one of the few historic house museums that you can actually spend the night in. We hope to see you again sometime. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2017 via mobile

Since we're staying in the day Degas hHouse Bread & Breakfast, we decided to take the museum tour today. I found it very interesting. If you're ever in New Orleans, and have a about 45 minutes it's a great tour.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Manager at Edgar Degas House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Thank you for writing your review of the Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour. We're delighted that you enjoyed it and appreciate the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews