We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luck of the Irish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
249 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Luck of the Irish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Well it was St Patricks Day in the Quarter so green was the color of choice, not just on faces but the clothes too. The Ritz is an oasis, it has a superb location front door onto Canal and back door you fall into the Quarter. Well appointed rooms and smiling happy service. The A/C was broken in our room upon arrival, but repaired within the hour. We enjoyed coming back in the evenings to settle into the lounge for the live jazz trumpet & songs, and for that one last drink you always seem to need. We booked through American Airlines vacations with air, a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend St.. Patrick's Day with us and for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay. We will share your review with our ladies and gentlemen. It is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    603
    244
    125
    53
See reviews for
371
981
76
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Made reservations for a long girls weekend in March. The Ritz is nicely located about a block from Bourban Street and was a generally good starting point for all of our activities. The rooms were average, but nothing special.

There was no coffee maker in the room and there was also an additional charge for wi-fi. We didn't use the spa, as it seemed to be pricier than other Ritz's we have stayed at in the past.

The Concierge was very helpful in making dinner reservations for us. Really enjoyed herr recommendation.

The bellhops and door service was very poor. Most times they never asked if you needed a taxi or assitance. Not what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Equinox03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We hope to earn back your business and appreciate that you chose to stay with us for your girl's getaway weekend. We are glad to hear that the concierge's recommendations were helpful and that you enjoyed our location. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Please contact Front Office Manager Jerry Stillwell at the hotel directly (504-524-1331) if you would like to discuss any of the issues further. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittston, PA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Spent the Regional Semi Finals of the 2011 NCAA tournament at the Ritz. 1Br Suite - club level.

Really nice stay. With my Dad, he really liked the Gumbo served in the Club level parlour one day. He expressed his liking to the hostess who in turn had the chef cut the recipe down, print it out and send it up. My father being appreciative said thank you and began looking over the recipe. He looked a bit confused and asked the hostess what a Roux was.

The hostess instead of being flustered, had the head chef come up and spend 15 minutes explaining to my father how to make Gumbo.

It is the little things at the Ritz that they do right.

Nice location too

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group and need multiple rooms, at least one of the rooms should be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimWPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay with your father. And, we're very glad that our Club Level Concierge was able to locate a recipe and a chef to offer assistance. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was our first stay at the Ritz Carlton in New Orleans since Hurricane Katina. We had stayed here three weeks prior to the storm. First of all, they have remodeled the hotel to bring the main level of the hotel up to the third floor. We heard many stories from the staff about the hotel's loyalty to guests and employees during the hurricane. Even years later, these were welcomed stories of triumph. The service we received during the stay was exceptional--front desk, operation manager, housekeeping, event coordinator, banquet staff, valet, bell captain, business center and spa. The rooms, although redecorated and clean, are small which is normal in New Orleans. I cannot emphasis the great service and spirit among the employees and staff. This management's doing something right by keeping the right people on the bus! Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay. Thank you for the glowing compliments, which we will share with our ladies and gentlemen. As a point of clarification, our lobby has always been situated on the third floor. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

the property is awesome, the room was much bigger then I anticipated. My biggest regret is that we didn't catch the jazz musician that they have playing in the bar area, I heard from others that he was awesome (I think he plays thurs fri and sat nights). I wish we gravbbed some drinks here, as the beer menu and coctail list was pretty reasonably priced despite it being an upscale/expensive hotel. The Ritz is always fantastic for its level or service and how nice the properties are. Location is good on the hotel as well, its on canal and very close walking distance to bourbon and the quarter. Bourbon street is literally one street down. What I liked about the location is that the hotel is right on the outskirts of the quarter and gives you easy access to to other parts/sights in the city if you to see beyond bourbon street. It is very easy to walk to St. Charles to catch the streetcars to the garden district, it's also about a 15 min to the ww2 museum if you'd like to see that as well. Overall we loved our stay here. Staff was great.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank brooksdj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay, enjoying our French Quarter location. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Ritz is an AMAZING hotel. Its common areas and the room are beautiful and very comfortable. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed is very comfy, and the bathroom is luxurious. I do not think the pictures on here represent how amazing it it. The service personnel are wonderful. They recongized us and greeted us each time we came back to the hotel. In fact, the doorman would open the door and welcome us back as as we approached the hotel on the street. That is awesome.

The courtyard is also wonderful, and it is a nice place to relax in the evening/night. The only negative was that there was a group of people in the courtyard who were clearly smoking marijuana and behaving a bit uncharacteristic (e.g., loud, jumping on chairs) for the "Ritz" environment. Such behavior would be less shocking on Bourbon Street, though still illegal. It went on for a long time, and there was no attempt by those guests to be discrete about their activity. I was surprised that the staff did nothing about it. The waitress strolled the area, and it would be hard to believe that hotel security doesn't monitor their hotel and this area.

I still give this hotel 5 stars because it is that amazing and I would come back. Perhaps this review will inspire hotel security to step up their surveillance and enforcement.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LexBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and regret to learn about your experience in our courtyard. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will share your comments with our loss prevention team. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Bright
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Currently stating in this hotel, until Sunday.

Service is spotty, and so is cleaning the room. I never get the same toiletries twice. I requested an upgrade, and was given some excuse that they were fully sold out, and then I received a call from the front desk the same day mind you, saying that if I wanted an upgrade it would cost $200 additional dollars per night. That is not an upgrade. I checked several times on the Ritz Carlton website and there are rooms available. If they aren't going to give me the upgrade, then please do not make an excuse that is not accurate.

I gave two genrous tips to the front desk and the bellman, don't waste your time. It does not get you anywhere.

The other problem is the phone system, I have called several time for various items and when you call the wrong room number comes up, and you never get what you asked for. The best is that I have been calling for wake-up calls, and since the wrong room number comes up, some poor guy is getting my 6:30 wake-up call.

Room service is very good, but make sure they repeat your order back to you, twice they have gotten it wrong.

I have reservations in San Juan and I am considering cancelling them, since I was not treated as I should be from a Ritz Carlton

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We would like the opportunity to speak with you in person. If you are still in-house, please come to the front desk and ask for Jerry Stillwell, Matthew Helms or Donna Brown. If you have departed, please call 504-524-1331. Your feedback is important to us and we want to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,809 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing