We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I travel to New Orleans frequently for business and this hotel is the perfect choice. I would echo the others' comments about the property. The hotel lobby has character and reflects its New Orleans heritage. The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable and spacious in the warehouse building. Location is great; several very good restaurants are within walking distance. However, the most important feature for me is the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. All of the staff (garage attendants, bellmen, desk staff, concierge, maids, dining room attendants, and business center personnel) is welcoming, know you by name, and really do make you feel like "they love having you here." When you are away from home a great deal and traveling alone, you appreciate the friendly interactions with the people you see every day. Whoever is hiring at the Hampton Inn and Suites is doing a great job!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chessie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    485
    119
    48
    24
See reviews for
437
357
60
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Hampton Inn Convention Center is a great value for convention goers. I am a meeting planner and my clients love staying at the Hampton Inn. We book hundreds of room nights here every year and never have a complaint. It is directly across the street from the Convention Center and has a delicious breakfast included in the price. I would certainly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is across the street from the convention center. It is clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly. There are no safes in the room, but the front desk staff was more than happy to store valuables in the manager's office (probably safer that way). Our room was in the newer section and faced the interstate, but there was very little noise. We did not use the air conditioner at night, but it might be considered noisy. The price was the lowest of any of the other convention hotels, and the location and comfort of the hotel make it a terrific value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation00002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I like the Hampton Inn & Suites brand because it's consistently clean, quiet, comfortable and business-friendly. The New Orleans Convention Center property is really nice and the pool area is beautiful. There is a large lobby with comfortable chairs and a larger than average breakfast area so it doesn't get too crowded. This is close enough to the French Quarter and business district without being too noisy or rowdy. They also host wedding receptions and other events. Overall, it's a definite 5-star property in my book, without paying the 5-star price. I really like their 100% satisfaction guarantee and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

this hotel is a great choice for a convention - being right across the street allowed us to run back during breaks, get up at the last minute, still eat breakfast and make it over there! Also brought our box lunches back one day and ate in the lovely courtyard. The lobby area is unique, breakfast was good, and plenty of tables. Wireless was good.

I'd definitely recommend the historic warehouse building - stayed there a few years ago and was impressed. We were in the other tower this time and it was pretty disappointing - small room, one small window and the room was overall just quite "worn" - some peeling wallpaper here and there, scuffs on all the walls and corners.

But the location and amenities for the price can't be beat! We walked to the French Quarter and it was no problem. The Sun Ray Grill nearby was also great -good food, and we actually ate there twice one day.

Room Tip: get a room in the historic warehouse building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was nice, the service was above average, the breakfast was good, the location was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54321Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just spent three nights here. If the logos were absent, you wouldn't know it was a Hampton Inn. This chain normally has clean, comfortable, functional, but simple properties. This particular property is much more substantial in its services and decor.

This renovated warehouse offers an interesting change from cookie-cutter hotels. They did a great job modernizing it without destroying its original look. The large, high ceilinged lobby is a nice place to sit and read or meet friends. Also, there wasn't obnoxiously loud music blasting, making it peaceful and relaxing.

Pros: Friendly staff. Spacious and clean room, with high ceilings. Our requested rollaway waiting for us in the room. A huge breakfast area with many tables (often a problem at other hotels). A better-than-average breakfast buffet that was constantly refreshed. An on-site bar. Plentiful cabs (we didn't have a car). Nice neighborhood; despite its neat but somewhat gritty appearance, there are lots of little nooks and crannies to explore. A shower with ample water pressure and hot water, which can be problematic at older hotels in New Orleans. Upon check-in, we had to initial on the contract that we would comply with their no-smoking rules, which I appreciated, being allergic to smoke.

Cons: Very few...I was surprised that since the hotel had a nice lounge, and offered in-house catering for events, they would have food service available for guests but they didn't. There were bar-and-grill places nearby for a simple meal, but were really smoky. We had a partial kitchen, (no stove or kitchen sink, but a counter, microwave, fridge and basic eating utensils), which was handy, but a serrated knife would be helpful. We had bought fruit and cheeses and found it hard to assemble a platter using what was basically a butter knife. Lastly, either there were guests who disregarded the smoking rules, or the ventilation system had issues, but several times the smell of stale smoke was in the room. If it was a guest belligerence problem, I guess the hotel can't do much about that.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shortysnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing