We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great hostel, area felt very safe. 10 min walk to the St Charles Street Car to take you to the French Quarter. Comfortable room, very clean. Lovely, helpful staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2penguin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    31
    33
    20
    13
See reviews for
1
24
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This was a nice place to stay at a good price. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and there are all the normal amenities like a kitchen and laundry. The staff were also really lovely and accommodating - they switched me from a top to a bottom bunk when I asked (because I have a strange fear of crushing the person below me to death in the middle of the night - I don't know why).

My one bugbear is that there didn't seem to be any curfew for noise and that meant that I didn't get much sleep. The location is also just average. It's near the street car line but there are many more hostels/cheap hotels nearer the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We arrived by train and were picked up at the station by the hostel shuttle. The room was very small, concrete box but reasonably comfortable with AC that helped cut through the humidity. The shared bathroom was like a swamp.
Breakfast was okay, with pancakes and cereal available.
Cheap backpacker's place with reasonable facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

My friend and I stayed at Bourbon House for 2 nights over the weekend. After being worried about location based on reviews I read on this site, the location was not a problem. It was a 10 min walk to the street car, or alternatively a $10 taxi from the French Quater. The owners where amazing, really accommodating and lovely and provided us with great suggestions for food and nightlife. My only negative comment is that the 6 person dorm we stayed in had NO window - this made sleeping pretty difficult as the room was extremely stuffy, there was a fan on the ceiling but with 6 people in one room and no ventilation, this did not do much. Other then that, great place and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure that you as for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa_4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

After such a bad experience at an AAE hostel in Boston which charged me an unexpected non-member fee after I had already booked it, I determined never to stay in another AAE hostel. I am super glad that I decided to give this one a chance because it was great in every way (including not charging a non-member fee). It is located in a nice neighborhood 6-8 blocks from a cheap city bus and streetcar. The staff is friendly and helpful, it is clean and secure and the pancake breakfast was a great touch! The only thing I didn't like was a $2.00 charge for lockers. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it highly to others.

Room Tip: They have a stange policy of not permitting older guests to reserve beds in dormitories, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The staff is amazing! Anna is a such nice person!!!! Loved the free pancakes at the breakfast!!!! The place is simple, but comfortable and clean!!!! Good location: close to trolly, supermarket, Garden District, bus stop, etc!! It was a good choice!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaRMarrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

First Impression:
We arrived here and the first thing we witnessed was the an employee threatening to throw a young girl out in the street. The reason we found out was that she had booked a private room, was given a dorm instead, and was complaining.

The Room:
On our way to the room, we notices several cockroaches in the hallway. The sink and the tub in the bathroom was full of water and the drains were clogged with sand. Also the location was a good 10 min walk to the tram that takes you to the French Quarter, so my friend and I decided to find another place for the rest of our stay.

The Employees:
We got up, collected our stuff and were at the reception desk at 8AM to checkout. Here is where the unreasonablity comes in. We said we would like to check out, please charge us for the one night we stayed, but not charge us for the next three nights, because we are checking out. After a long and stressful discussion (this was a different person than the day before) they decided to charge us for four nights and later contact the owner in Michigan. Eventually, after a week, we got our money back. It should not have been this difficult =/

General Comments:
Pay a few dollars more and stay at a hotel.
The hostel culture in the US is rather sad. A hostel should not be a dirty rundown place, it should be a clean, but modest accommodation for budget travelers (i.e. students). And the employees have no right to treat their customers in such a manner. This place was not clean and the employees were not friendly, so I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paym01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Owner at AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Guest
Your review of "not clean and unreasonable employees" alarmed me. I am the "owner in Michigan" you mention. I took action and wen there to review. It is not often we get such a bad rap!

Too be honest, what you witnessed at the reception desk was the reverse of what was stated. It was a female who booked a dorm and was forced to accept a private room or leave. We have a policy for protection of all our guest. If you are a New Orleans resident, you are not allowed to stay with us. If your visiting to review schools and only have Louisiana State ID- we still consider you "local" and your not allowed a dorm bed - instead a private room. We do this to ensure that our guest are mingled with like mind travelers and true "back packers" out to experience our great city. We don't want locals just looking for a cheap bed and free food at 15 bucks a night.

On my visit, the place was very clean and bathroom schedules of cleaning were maintained. I reviewed what you said with staff. On the cockroach thing, unfortunately New Orleans is a humid city and the entire area is rich in soil and moistness. cockroaches are prevalent at any ground floor entry during the summer in all areas of NOLA. We do our best to keep doors closed, appropriate hallway poisons and repellants. But, sometimes they seem to "make a run" for it. We do very well at keeping them out of guest rooms and bathrooms. This problem is only in the summer months and they go away the rest.
As for the refund issue, I am sorry- the desk clerk was following policies on refunds after a guest has used room. We did refund your stay- even if it took a few days. I hope you enjoyed New Orleans on your vacation after you re settled! Thanks for trying us, Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Garden District House
Garden District House
#18 of 30 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Garden District
The Atlas House
The Atlas House
#15 of 30 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
#1 of 30 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#9 of 30 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#7 of 30 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Madame Isabelle's House In New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel

Property: AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel
Address: 1660 Annunciation Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are AAE Bourbon House Mansion and Hostel, located only 18 minutes walking to the French Quarter and famous "Bourbon Street". In the "lower Garden District" we are 5 minutes walk to the Convention Center and the only Guest House/ Hostel that provides a FREE Shuttle to and from Greyhound and Amtrack. We also have airport shuttle for as low as $15 a person. All guests, either dorm beds or deluxe private rooms get to enjoy FREE BREAKFAST, Free Internet, Free Shuttles, Free Parking and a great Guest House full of European Travelers that create an exciting environment. We welcome all ages and have private rooms for families that sleep up to 8 people available. We are the "top rated" hostel in New Orleans and there is a reason for that... because were the best choice from the traveling public viewpoint! Come stay with us and be happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aae Bourbon House Mansion Hotel New Orleans
Aae Bourbon House Mansion And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing