We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES!! To the Chargrilled Oysters, So-So to the Service. ”
Review of Royal House

Royal House
Ranked #279 of 2,102 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: Royal House is a French Quarter oyster bar and seafood restaurant with a classic New Orleans atmosphere and menu featuring fresh-air dining and local seafood dishes. From fresh-shucked to charbroiled and Rockefeller to Royale, you’re sure to find your new favorite oyster dish here. While enjoying a dozen at the bar or a cool cocktail on the balcony, you can usually catch a street performance from a jazz musician, an experience unique to New Orleans. Whether you’re a traveler to our great city or a New Orleans native, we’ve got the perfect place for you at our restaurant and oyster bar. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This was my 3rd time eating at Royal House. We go for what we believe are the best Chargrilled Oysters in NOLA or anywhere. My husband and 4 yr old attended a couple Easter Parades and then planned to eat here - the wait was very short for a party of 3 / and considering the area. As stated in my title, the service has never shined for us, whether with child, light drinkers, or any other factor. While I ordered very quickly, knowing we all needed food having spent the morning and afternoon in the sun, the server missed our full order and was extremely slow on drink delivery and general attentiveness. In fact each request, required me to flag down the server.
While I take into account a lot of behavior and attitude on the patron, I was certainly kind enough and stretched out patience knowing the Chargrilled oysters are worth it. Indeed, they did not disappoint. In addition we have spinach dip, shrimp po boy, and chicken salad. All of which were good. I always recommend this place for oysters and share that it's hit or miss with service.

Thank ACABBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

We appreciate all of this feedback and we will bring your experience back to our team. We truly apologize for the service you received. We strive to provide excellent service with southern hospitality. We hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

We came here for dinner because it was a very short walk from our hotel and were tired so didn't want to have to walk too far. The ice cold draft beers were excellent. We shared a portion of their French onion soup which was as good as any we've had in France. The chicken Caesar salad was very good with s great dressing. My shrimp jambalaya was outstanding, with lots of blackened shrimp and strongly flavoured rice which made for a great combination. Tina, our server, was excellent - explaining the menu and suggesting alternative dishes where appropriate.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandylindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for not only enjoying us, but Tina, as well. We will be sure to pass along the message to her. We hope you get a chance to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Our first night in great dinner. Nothing fancy just simple good food and basic service. We had the gumbo sampler was VERY good.

Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thanks Christian for this wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our gumbo. We hope you get a chance to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Our concierge recommended this place, and it was very good. We were seated promptly and our waitress was super nice. Our food was very good and the red velvet cake was very good. It’s not in the heart of the French Quarter but still good place to people watch from!

Thank 689timothyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thanks for this review and rating. We are glad your concierge recommended us and we did not disappoint. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Thank goodness my family and I overlooked the very rude hostess and stayed for dinner. The Shrimp and Gritts were fabulous as were the Oysters. The balcony seating was tight but the view was worth it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kimberly834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you Kimberly for the review and feedback. We are shocked to hear our hostess was rude to you and we deeply apologize that it happened. We will be sure to speak of this matter to our team. We truly appreciate you still giving us an opportunity. We hope you will join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal House also viewed

 

Been to Royal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing