We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #101 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

When we got to the hotel to check in, it looked just liked the pictures. Very pretty lobby and design. Definitely can tell it used to be a department store (in a good way). I immediately asked the person at check-in about the smell (told him I read reviews about it) and requested a room without the issue. He said ok and told me that he thinks they resolved the problem. We didn't have any odor issues in our room (room 429). The room was a little small but adequate and clean. Nice Bath & Body Works toiletries. We didn't have any issues with hot water at all. It is true that there are no outside windows for king rooms. It wasn't really a problem for us but it was very easy to oversleep in the morning and lose track of time so just set your alarm. Yes, the walls were pretty thin but we didn't have too many issues with noise at all. It was pretty quiet. The location was FANTASTIC!!!! That's the best thing about this hotel. Within walking distance of everything (Bourbon Street, River Walk, etc.) but far enough away that you didn't have to deal with the noise at night. The walk also seemed pretty safe. I would suggest riding the Magazine St streetcar/trolley through the Garden District and to the Audubon Zoo and Park. The zoo was great. Bourbon Street is exactly what you imagine if you've never been there. A big frat party with bad smells but good for drinks and people watching. Most of the venues on Bourbon Street are more like nightclubs with party music. If you want jazz bands your best bet is to walk to some other places in the French Quarter off of Bourbon. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant...there are too many great places to eat in NOLA. Oceana Restaurant on Conti St was probably our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    768
    429
    189
    153
See reviews for
450
738
100
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was very nice but the parking was horrible and confusing. The hotel staff was excellent and the rooms were nice and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows. Some rooms are interior and have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElusiveCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, AL
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

When we checked in, the staff was very helpful and got me some information I wanted. The room was clean with a separate sitting area. The bed was very comfortable. Room was quiet and dark when sleeping. Only a couple of blocks from the French Quarter. You can self park for only $20 per night which is a bargain in NOLA.

Room Tip: Fifth floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Hotel is five Minutes walk to Bourbon Street and French Quarter. Excellent Location. Rooms are pretty big and Lobby is excellent. When we asked for Coffee and Milk, it was delivered within 4 Minutes. Can't ask for More. Hotel Team is always there to help you with direction or suggest you for Nice Restaurant. There is Sushi Place downstairs which you should try it. Specially their Baked Salmon. It's almost like Chocolate Cake :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson nh
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2012

this is a wonderfull hotel. staff very friendly and helpfull awsome location very clean and very comfortable . you are just 5 minutes walking to the french quarter and burbon st. take the street car down canal st it connects you everywhere I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: chose a double double room it has a window you can see the outside we liked being able to have sunli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have not had a good experience at this hotel. We found the service to be cold and unfriendly, and we found both the common areas and our room to be in disrepair. Our bathroom had mildew, and there was a very noticeable cigarette burn in our furniture. The interior walls of the hotel are generally not clean, and common amenities - such as the ice maker or luggage carts - were out of order or unavailable.

We had an exterior facing room, so location of our room did not impact our rating of this hotel. The hotel is well below our expectations for a three-star hotel.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_via_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear sea2skyaus,

Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review on your most recent stay with us. Reviews such as yours help us to identify problems and make the Wyndham Garden experience what it should be, an unforgettable and memorable experience. We truly appreciate your business and are positive we can make your next stay with us a truly unforgettable experience if given the chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just got back from 5 nights at this hotel. It gets great pluses for being in one of the best locations. A 2 block walk to catch the trolley and a 3 block walk to the French Quarter. It was also an easy walk to the Civil War and WW2 Museums. The beds were so comfy and they have room darkening shades which helped when needing to nap after an early flight into town. The one big drawback is the towels which are about the worst I've ever had in a hotel. This is what keeps the rating at 3 stars for me. The bathroom as well as the shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were fine so I'm not sure why they scrimped on the towels. The hotel also has a fitness room but it's very limited in size with 1 treadmill, 2 bikes, and 2 stair machines. The treadmill was broken and one of the bikes had a broken seat that would not lock in place. I also had trouble getting hot water on the first day, but the maintenance man came to my room and fixed the problem. They have a coffee shop which serves Starbucks coffee but in terms of hotel bar or restaurant, this hotel is very no frills. There's a Sushi restaurant next door which has a separate entrance from the street but you can also get to it through the hotel lobby. Unfortunately, it wasn't really a good bar-type atmosphere but the French Quarter was filled with all kinds of options for that! It was nice to have free Wi-fi. It seems so many hotels charge you for this these days.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms overlook the interior atrium. We had a room facing Baronne Street but all we saw w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 164 in New Orleans
1,401 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#76 of 164 in New Orleans
1,251 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing