We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for triathletes coming to the Ironman!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #98 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great hotel for triathletes coming to the Ironman!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I came to New OrIeans for the Ironman 70.3 Triathlon on April 22. I used Priceline to to put a bid in for a hotel downtown and it was accepted at the Wyndham Garden. I did some research and was pleasantly excited to see that this was a unique building with a lot of character. It also eased my mind that it had gotten a lot of good reviews. I also saw that if you wanted a room with an outside window, you had to ask. Otherwise you may get one with a window to the inside.
Check in was quick and the clerk was very pleasant and helpful. I had requested an outside window room with a king bed, but had gotten a double. This was not a real issue for us, and as I noticed later on, almost all of the rooms with outside windows were double beds, so it's possible that they may all be that way.
We made our way up to the room on the 2nd floor. We were happy to see that the room was larger than what were expecting. There was plenty of storage space, including a bench with drawers under it, a small cabinet, and a very large cabinet for hanging up clothes and storing shoes. This was very handy as we had a lot of triathlon gear and clothing for our 4 night stay. There was ample space for his bike and bike box and everything had a place and we did not feel cluttered or crowded in.
The bathrooms were nice and modern with a lot of room to put our toiletries. The shower pressure was great and took only a few seconds to get hot water.
The beds are indeed some of the best and most comfortable in any hotel we have stayed in (have also heard that from other reviewers and yes, it is true).
The free WIFI was super fast, and I never had a problem connecting.
The room was very clean and we did not find any problems with it at all.
The hotel is also within great walking distance to downtown and Bourbon Street. There is only a small cafe on site, and I highly recommend going to the nearby Streetcar Cafe. Had a nice breakfast there and the owner is very friendly and knowledgeable about events in the city. Also if you are craving good Cajun food, try Sammy's on Bourbon Street. We ate there 3 times and were never dissatisfied!
The only downside is the self parking. It is limited and only smaller vehicles can fit,
When we come back to New Orleans, we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: It may be that all rooms with an outside view are double beds. Have not seen one that had a king in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownSquirrel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review and selecting our hotel during your stay in New Orleans for this event! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    719
    397
    175
    137
See reviews for
409
689
89
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had a LOT of bags, and while still unpacking our ride at the front door we looked up to find helpful hands grabbing bags and putting them on a luggage cart. THANK YOU. The lobby is fabulous; sparkling clean, bright, shiny - I love Art Deco. Until I just read it here, I didn't realize the building had been a department store at one time - great, creative reuse of the space. The front desk was friendly, professional and looking sharp. The nice guy with our luggage waited with us to check in and we all went together up to the room, no waiting for luggage to appear. Our king room was not spacious, but it was certainly large enough, clean, cozy, and very comfortable (the bed was particularly nice). We didn't have an outside window, but our 3rd floor interior window over looked the 5 story open space rather than having a foot traffic path right outside our window so it was fine.

We tried to book a room the day before our arrival but there was no availability (I didn't book another hotel because when I saw the pix and read the reviews of this place, that's where I wanted to stay). We tried again the next morning before we headed that way (with or without a room reservation!) and were then successful. I mention because I assume based on that and seeing a good number of people milling about in the common areas, that the hotel was pretty full up yet we had no noise problems. Perfect location, short walk to Harrah's, Bourbon Street, shopping, and many restaurants. As importantly, we were also just far enough away from Bourbon Street.

My husband met me down in the lobby the next morning for a short walk to IHOP (also very clean) and declared this hotel one worth making a trip back to (don't think I've heard that from him before!). We used the free wifi, and we often saw people using the business center off the lobby. No pool, but we didn't go to swim. I don't know if there was room service (so many places to eat right in this area that I didn't check in spite of my being a BIG fan of room service). We did not have a car (with this location we didn't need one for any of the things we wanted to do), so didn't need to deal with parking.

I thought the room was fairly priced for this area and location. I don't know how far it is from the airport, but it seemed to be less than a mile from the Amtrak station (which is also a Greyhound station). Thanks to this Wyndham hotel and Amtrak's "City of New Orleans", we had a great trip!

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room that over looked the 1st to 5th floor open atrium, rather than a traffic pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Pros:
-Reasonably good location. It's 2 minute walk to Canal Street (trams), 5 minute walk to Bourbon street (nightlife) and 15 minute walk to the heart of the French Quarter
-Quiet street
-Close to shops and pharmacies (2 minute walk)
-Free internet

Cons
-More like a motel than a hotel. Some rooms have no exterior windows.
-Interior decor and carpet are dated.
-Wifi internet dropped out for hours during my stay.
-Probably first hotel I stayed at that sheets are not ironed

Overall: Good for its price but probably would not stay there again. It's good of its price though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

When we got to the hotel to check in, it looked just liked the pictures. Very pretty lobby and design. Definitely can tell it used to be a department store (in a good way). I immediately asked the person at check-in about the smell (told him I read reviews about it) and requested a room without the issue. He said ok and told me that he thinks they resolved the problem. We didn't have any odor issues in our room (room 429). The room was a little small but adequate and clean. Nice Bath & Body Works toiletries. We didn't have any issues with hot water at all. It is true that there are no outside windows for king rooms. It wasn't really a problem for us but it was very easy to oversleep in the morning and lose track of time so just set your alarm. Yes, the walls were pretty thin but we didn't have too many issues with noise at all. It was pretty quiet. The location was FANTASTIC!!!! That's the best thing about this hotel. Within walking distance of everything (Bourbon Street, River Walk, etc.) but far enough away that you didn't have to deal with the noise at night. The walk also seemed pretty safe. I would suggest riding the Magazine St streetcar/trolley through the Garden District and to the Audubon Zoo and Park. The zoo was great. Bourbon Street is exactly what you imagine if you've never been there. A big frat party with bad smells but good for drinks and people watching. Most of the venues on Bourbon Street are more like nightclubs with party music. If you want jazz bands your best bet is to walk to some other places in the French Quarter off of Bourbon. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant...there are too many great places to eat in NOLA. Oceana Restaurant on Conti St was probably our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was very nice but the parking was horrible and confusing. The hotel staff was excellent and the rooms were nice and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows. Some rooms are interior and have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElusiveCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

When we checked in, the staff was very helpful and got me some information I wanted. The room was clean with a separate sitting area. The bed was very comfortable. Room was quiet and dark when sleeping. Only a couple of blocks from the French Quarter. You can self park for only $20 per night which is a bargain in NOLA.

Room Tip: Fifth floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Hotel is five Minutes walk to Bourbon Street and French Quarter. Excellent Location. Rooms are pretty big and Lobby is excellent. When we asked for Coffee and Milk, it was delivered within 4 Minutes. Can't ask for More. Hotel Team is always there to help you with direction or suggest you for Nice Restaurant. There is Sushi Place downstairs which you should try it. Specially their Baked Salmon. It's almost like Chocolate Cake :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#54 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#26 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Astor Crowne Plaza - New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#78 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing