We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth trying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #100 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Great location for Jazz Fest and access to French Quarter, and primary tourist attractions. Very quiet. We were given poor advice by the booking desk. We were put in an "atrium" room and told it was preferable to street facing rooms with windows----not so. Atrium rooms are the equivalent to living in a cave.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Even though your stay was not 100% satisfactory, please know we value your business and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please contact us at 504-522-0083 if you have any further questions or comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,904 - 1,910 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Besides the fact that there was no window except to the atrium, our room and one of our friends rooms had a horrible, moldy, stench. We both used anti microbial Febreeze which helped a little but every time we reentered the room the stench hit us. It was really unbearable. The hotel said they could not change our room because it was during Jazzfest and they were fully booked. That said, the Wyndham beds are the best in the hotel business. I would avoid this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Susan O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Would you be so kind to contact us and let us know which room you were staying in so we can forward these issues to our Housekeeping and Maintenance Department? We hope to see you again so please do not hesitate to contact us (504-522-0083).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Great Location - 1 block west of Canal Street and 1 block north of Bourbon Street. Parking garage in basement. Modern, clean, and quiet. Great value too. Could not have asked for a better centrally located hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel last weekend, Aug. 25-29. I woke up the second morning of our stay with bug bites covering my arms, face, back and legs. After spending some time online researching bed bug bites and comparing them to mine, these were no doubt bed bug bites -- painfully itchy and in rows of three all over my body. We alerted the front desk and they moved us into another room.

I've worked in the hotel/travel industry for ten years and understand that sometimes these things happen. We were very calm and polite with the hotel staff about the issue and the general manager said he would contact Orbitz about a refund.

Later on that day I thought I had left my phone charger in the infested room. I asked the front desk if I could go in the room and grab it but they told me new guests had been checked in to that room. I couldn't believe that the hotel would knowingly place guests in a room with bed bug problems -- especially on the same day we made a complaint.

Upon returning home, I contacted the general manager to inquire about the refund. He said the best they could do is comp me for one night. Ridiculous. Bed bugs are a major headache and can be very expensive to exterminate if they hitch a ride back home with you in your luggage. I spent an entire day thoroughly washing all of our clothes and we decided to pitch our luggage as we don't want to risk having the bugs in our home.

I asked the GM why they placed other guests in the bed bug room on the same day we made the complaint. Apparently an exterminator came that day and sprayed a chemical that allows the hotel to flip a room in four hours. Seriously??? Disgusting.

I requested a full refund at this point. He again insisted the best he could do was refund one night. He also said that the exterminator was an additional cost to the hotel so they would be unable to spend any more money giving me a refund. Such a bizarre conversation, as if it was my fault or problem the hotel had to bring in an exterminator.

I contacted Wyndham corporate about the issue as the GM obviously didn't understand how to handle it. The response from Wyndham was that the Wyndham Garden Baronne was a franchised property so not Wyndham's problem. They passed my complaint on to the franchise owner. It has been four days and I haven't heard anything from them. Unacceptable.

I didn't want to go down this Tripadvisor route, but here we are...

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank june80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear june80,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear your stay was not 100% satisfactory . As with any report of suspected bed bugs in a guest's room, we do take them very seriously. After thoroughly researching this incident, we did in fact move you to another room and immediately contacted our local pest control services. Upon inspection, the pest control inspector informed us he found no signs of bed bugs (with documentation on record). Even with that being the case, a one night refund was issued as an apology for the inconvenience. In addition, we do offer guests the option to check-out early (without penalty) in the event they do not wish to continue staying at our property, for your comfort and satisfaction is very important to us.

Since this incident, our local pest control inspector did return back to our property to re-inspect the room (as well as the rooms next door and above) and again, found no signs of bed bugs. In addition, we have not received any further report or complaints and will continue to take immediate action in the event another case is reported again. Feel free to contact our management team if you have any further questions regarding this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I came to New OrIeans for the Ironman 70.3 Triathlon on April 22. I used Priceline to to put a bid in for a hotel downtown and it was accepted at the Wyndham Garden. I did some research and was pleasantly excited to see that this was a unique building with a lot of character. It also eased my mind that it had gotten a lot of good reviews. I also saw that if you wanted a room with an outside window, you had to ask. Otherwise you may get one with a window to the inside.
Check in was quick and the clerk was very pleasant and helpful. I had requested an outside window room with a king bed, but had gotten a double. This was not a real issue for us, and as I noticed later on, almost all of the rooms with outside windows were double beds, so it's possible that they may all be that way.
We made our way up to the room on the 2nd floor. We were happy to see that the room was larger than what were expecting. There was plenty of storage space, including a bench with drawers under it, a small cabinet, and a very large cabinet for hanging up clothes and storing shoes. This was very handy as we had a lot of triathlon gear and clothing for our 4 night stay. There was ample space for his bike and bike box and everything had a place and we did not feel cluttered or crowded in.
The bathrooms were nice and modern with a lot of room to put our toiletries. The shower pressure was great and took only a few seconds to get hot water.
The beds are indeed some of the best and most comfortable in any hotel we have stayed in (have also heard that from other reviewers and yes, it is true).
The free WIFI was super fast, and I never had a problem connecting.
The room was very clean and we did not find any problems with it at all.
The hotel is also within great walking distance to downtown and Bourbon Street. There is only a small cafe on site, and I highly recommend going to the nearby Streetcar Cafe. Had a nice breakfast there and the owner is very friendly and knowledgeable about events in the city. Also if you are craving good Cajun food, try Sammy's on Bourbon Street. We ate there 3 times and were never dissatisfied!
The only downside is the self parking. It is limited and only smaller vehicles can fit,
When we come back to New Orleans, we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: It may be that all rooms with an outside view are double beds. Have not seen one that had a king in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownSquirrel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review and selecting our hotel during your stay in New Orleans for this event! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had a LOT of bags, and while still unpacking our ride at the front door we looked up to find helpful hands grabbing bags and putting them on a luggage cart. THANK YOU. The lobby is fabulous; sparkling clean, bright, shiny - I love Art Deco. Until I just read it here, I didn't realize the building had been a department store at one time - great, creative reuse of the space. The front desk was friendly, professional and looking sharp. The nice guy with our luggage waited with us to check in and we all went together up to the room, no waiting for luggage to appear. Our king room was not spacious, but it was certainly large enough, clean, cozy, and very comfortable (the bed was particularly nice). We didn't have an outside window, but our 3rd floor interior window over looked the 5 story open space rather than having a foot traffic path right outside our window so it was fine.

We tried to book a room the day before our arrival but there was no availability (I didn't book another hotel because when I saw the pix and read the reviews of this place, that's where I wanted to stay). We tried again the next morning before we headed that way (with or without a room reservation!) and were then successful. I mention because I assume based on that and seeing a good number of people milling about in the common areas, that the hotel was pretty full up yet we had no noise problems. Perfect location, short walk to Harrah's, Bourbon Street, shopping, and many restaurants. As importantly, we were also just far enough away from Bourbon Street.

My husband met me down in the lobby the next morning for a short walk to IHOP (also very clean) and declared this hotel one worth making a trip back to (don't think I've heard that from him before!). We used the free wifi, and we often saw people using the business center off the lobby. No pool, but we didn't go to swim. I don't know if there was room service (so many places to eat right in this area that I didn't check in spite of my being a BIG fan of room service). We did not have a car (with this location we didn't need one for any of the things we wanted to do), so didn't need to deal with parking.

I thought the room was fairly priced for this area and location. I don't know how far it is from the airport, but it seemed to be less than a mile from the Amtrak station (which is also a Greyhound station). Thanks to this Wyndham hotel and Amtrak's "City of New Orleans", we had a great trip!

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room that over looked the 1st to 5th floor open atrium, rather than a traffic pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Pros:
-Reasonably good location. It's 2 minute walk to Canal Street (trams), 5 minute walk to Bourbon street (nightlife) and 15 minute walk to the heart of the French Quarter
-Quiet street
-Close to shops and pharmacies (2 minute walk)
-Free internet

Cons
-More like a motel than a hotel. Some rooms have no exterior windows.
-Interior decor and carpet are dated.
-Wifi internet dropped out for hours during my stay.
-Probably first hotel I stayed at that sheets are not ironed

Overall: Good for its price but probably would not stay there again. It's good of its price though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,481 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 166 in New Orleans
2,361 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#83 of 166 in New Orleans
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $108 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing