We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sunset
1 review
“Great Stay . . .”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Really enjoyed this location as the Inn is located in the ideal place to travel about New Orleans, enjoy the sights or just casually stroll down St. Charles Avenue. Innkeepers were very accomodating and hospitable; our accomodations were quite nice and very much to our liking. With access to both uptown and downtown New Orleans, we were able to enjoy so many sights and sounds of New Orleans and without a whole lot of fuss or transporation concerns. Inn and stay were just the right fit !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    45
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
175
370
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome from Joe and Bebe during our three night holiday in New Orleans. Despite the fact that it poured with rain during continuous thunderstorms, our stay was warm and cozy, thanks to their hospitality. The Avenue Inn is charming: the house was built in 1891 and our Innkeepers have tastefully decorated it with beautiful antiques.
A continental breakfast is served each morning in the dining room, though when the weather is fair, one could sit on the pleasant verandah or the pretty patio.

Our bathroom was not large, but we had every convenience and the pleasure of excellent water pressure, with lots of hot water. We had a large, quiet, queen room. Our bed was very comfortable, with exceptionally clean linen.

The location of the Avenue Inn could not be more convenient. As other reviewers have noted, the street car runs right in front. There are many great restaurants nearby including Commander's Palace, Superior Seafood, and Jacques-Imo's. Free off-street parking is available to guests, which was much appreciated. Prospective guests should note that there is no elevator--just in case negotiating stairs is an issue. Perhaps in that case, one might wish to reserve a room on the ground floor.

Thank you for your hospitality, Joe and Bebe!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiTravels52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

When you stay in a B&B you are staying is someone's home and it is the innkeeper who really makes is a great experience or not. Joe and Bebe are the best. They are very friendly and professional. I appreciated the small touches, snacks, bottle water, ice were provided at no charge and were really appreciated. Breakfast was light and just what you need to get up and go. They were great with recomendations on things to do and places to eat. If you are looking for a B&B in NOLA this is the one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Awesome stay at the Avenue Inn! Joe and Bebe are wonderful hosts, starting with the warmest welcome and orientation, then recommendations on places to eat and see, all given our personal time constraints. Our room was amazing! Delightfully charming Victorian style, the most comfortable bed ever, lovely (environmentally friendly) bathroom amenities, instantly hot water with great water pressure in the shower, clean and comfortable throughout. Breakfast was plentiful, and the generous selection of snacks and bottled water available around the clock was a much appreciated bonus. The location couldn't be better - a beautiful neighborhood for walking, right on the streetcar line, great location. Loved being in this old, beautiful mansion, and Joe and Bebe truly treated us as guests in their home. I'll definitely be returning to NO, and this is the only place I'd consider staying!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you have not been to New Orleans, this is the place you want to stay because Joe knows everything you need to know about this city. The B&B is totally charming with high ceilings and but the bathrooms are right up to date. Also the location is right on the Streetcar line and they have free parking. What is not to like?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2012

As two discerning New York City natives, the Avenue B&B was one of the highlights of our recent trip to NOLA. After a few days on a business trip closer to the French Quarter, coming uptown to this quintessentially charming, Victorian-adorned B&B was a breath of fresh air.

The moment we arrived, Joe and BeBe welcomed us and immediately made us feel like family. Completely knowledgable about the Uptown / Garden District, as well as Quarter and Marigny, they provided personalized tips about restaurants and attractions. And not the, "I hear it's good" kind of crap you get from most hotel concierges. They personally know many of the local restaurant owners and are fixtures in the neighborhood. They promptly made reservations on our behalf, and helped us rejigger our schedules to fit in one of their local favorites. They pointed us toward fun dive bars, as well as fine dining spots.

Joe upgraded our room to a lovely one bedroom with a scenic view of St. Charles St. Our bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was equipped with everything you'd expect in a good hotel. They advised us on an awesome running route in order to see the Audobon Park. Breakfast was simple, continental variety (try the special cinnamon raisin bread) that's what you really want if you'll be loading up on beignets, fried oysters and Sazeracs later, anyway!

Located a few miles outside of the French Quarter, the Avenue is on the very same street as the charming NOLA streetcar, and is easily accessible via cabs or bikes. The prices were also quite reasonable, and I was pleased that there was no three-night minimum stay (something required by many of the other nearby B&Bs).

My only regret re: our stay at the Avenue B&B is that it wasn't longer. Joe and BeBe are definitely making it on my holiday card mailing list, and the Avenue B&B should make it on your "must-visit" list if you're staying in Crescent City!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms require a few flights of stairs but have a great view of St. Charles St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRey729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This place has character, great hosts, a wonderful location and a fantastic price. I love that the St. Charles Ave trolley is right out front, that it's equidistant between the French Quarter and Uptown, and that the hosts took every conceivable measure to ensure our comfort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leifneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 163 in New Orleans
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
318 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing