We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here with 3 18year olds for the Final Four. Absolutely perfect location. At the corner of Burbon (well, it turns into Burbon at Canal) and Poydras which is 4 blocks or so from the Super Dome.
Had a corner two room suite. Good Breakfast, better snack bar in the evening. Don't really need dinner if you are on a budget. Staff is wonderful. Location even better. Wish the windows would open but the building is old and lovely. They are about to embark on an addition and remodel. Probably would still request the original part of the hotel when we come again. Will stay here whenever we are New Orleans. If only OSU had won. . . . . .

Room Tip: We asked for and had a corner room. Would think the street facing rooms would be best.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank b52-befiftytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
There are newer reviews for Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,449 - 1,455 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for a pre-cruise hotel and loved the location. To tell you the truth I do not ever think that I would want to stay direcetly in the French Quarter unless the hotel is located far enough away for all of the partying on Bourban Street. The hotel was clean and beds comfortable and a very good value. The only thing we did not like was when we walked inot our room there was a strange oder, like someone had smoked in there and they were trying to clean it up. Besides that a very nice place to stay in New Orleans and if I evre visited again would more than likely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gidget&rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hotel a few blocks away from the French Quarter. It is also convenient to transit. The room we received was a good size and comfortable. The hotel offers a good continental breakfast in the morning, popcorn and fountain drinks in the afternoon, and kickbacks starting at 5.30pm. There was some good munchies especially for teenagers. There offer free wi fi, which was added bonus. We would stay here again,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Drury for two nights pre cruise and were very pleased with location and "extras" It's a short walk to the French Quarter and very safe for walking at night. Evening happy hour was a bonus - three drinks and a buffet of food that could fill you up (but save a little room for enjoying New Orleans food) Lobby was spacious and nice. Our room (suite) was great - we were with several other couples so it made it easy to sit down with them while waiting for others. It was also nice in the morning as I get up much earlier than my husband and could just let him sleep. Breakfast buffet was typical Hampton fare - very filling (but again save room for some beignets at Cafe DuMonde - cab fare there was $7/pp btw)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jawouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Positives: Free Internet- Good Hot & cold BB- Great Kickback with 2 Drinks pp/pd & enough food for a meal - Rooftop pool & spa -Parking lot free, gated/secure - Great front desk -Good location with 1 block walk to St.Charles Cable Car, 1/4 ml walk to Canal St French Quarter, far enough for quiet night's sleep - Downstairs available conference room and reading areas - Spacious, clean lobby, friendly staff. Room has microwave/mini-fridge/safe, dresser with extra drawers, bathroom has extra towel bars and hooks, full closet.

Drawbacks: Hotel and room furniture appears comfy but needs replacing as many have stains and show wear down. Standard double bedroom are small sized, lighting is poor, room is dark, only one window. Sparse fitness room. No room service, concierge, or bell captain/bell hops. Toilet/Tub/Shower area small yet adequate.

Would return but upgrade to a suite for room and desk space.
(Actual stay January 2011)

Room Tip: Room on parking lot quiet but dark, ask for higher wattage bulb.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palma05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank your for your feedback! Our hotel is located in a historic building in the central business district, so some of our guest rooms have limited windows. We are renovating the hotel now to add a new addition which will include additional rooms and a larger cardio fitness center. As a limited service hotel, we do not have bell, concierge or room service. However, our front desk staff is knowledgeable in the area and happy to answer questions and make recommendations. We hope to have you as our guest again.

Slade Stratman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

just a 5-10 min walk to french quarter,a few mins. to canal street. st . charles street car on corner. We liked that it was alittle away from the quarter. rousses market around the the block ( good & decent prices)They have breakfast & 5:30pm kick back .ok food,it helps if you want to save,especially with a family.Suite was nice.Valet guys were really good.We left car in lot & walked every where,took tours & street cars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was clean. We walked several places and it was not too bad of a trek.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caligirl518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,725 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,466 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,432 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $169 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing