We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty to Feast; No Famine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Plenty to Feast; No Famine”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent 5 days on this trip to New Orleans. First, the staff..Jayme was excellent in providing directions and all hotel needs. Our food servers were quick in providing drinks during rush hour and the others assisted with taking our dirty and completed meals from the table while we sat and chatted. Free popcorn and soft drinks are available from 3PM to 10PM.

There was no rental car this time as cab fare from the airport is $33 total. Across from the hotel, cables cars run frequently. An all day pass runs $3 per person which will take you to the Garden District and to Tulane University and beyond. You can also take a cable car to the cemeteries or to the Riverfront on Poydras/Canal Streets. Even the Riverfront has a cable car to take you from one end of the river to the other.

The room was quite pleasant with easy access to the elevators. I never heard any of the neighboring rooms either come or go, or any existing noises. Our room was equipped with microwave, refrigerator, and Jacuzzi bath.

Boarding Passes can easily be printed in the lobby. The hotel location is superb because you are a just a few blocks from the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. Spend time on Royal Street which is one block over and you will find many nice shops. Stay away from the "hand grenade"! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Collegeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    527
    92
    25
    13
See reviews for
660
616
39
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I booked the Drury New Orleans based on the glowing reviews that I had read on TripAdvisor for our post-cruise hotel. While we found some of the positive experiences that I had read from shared reviews, we also had some not-so-good issues that clouded my opinion of this hotel.

To the hotel management's credit, they made it right (i.e., reversal of paid cost for night), but I would hesistate to stay here again, particularly since we had just stayed at the Renaissance Arts a week earlier pre-cruise for a lower rate (which offsets the free food at the Drury) and a much better experience and hotel atmosphere.

Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful; free popcorn in afternoon is a nice offering; our children enjoyed the rooftop pool; location was good for being away from hustle and noise of Canal Street and French Quarter, yet within walking distance and on the St. Charles streetcar line.

Cons: Cleanliness of room. While the room appeared to be generally clean, there were some very specific (gross) items that were found in the tub, on a blanket, and on the hair dryer (not to mention a french fry in plain view under the sofa).

This may have been a fluke on the part of housekeeping, but it did put a damper on our experience and our impression of the hotel. We normally only book through Marriott, and have never had any problem such as this before.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hfitzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide our guest with a clean comfortable room during their stay. I do apologize that we failed to provide the level of service that was expected by you as well the staff at the hotel. Our staff would have been more that happy to correct the issue when discovered if brought to their attention instead of at check out. Our rates will change according to what is happening in the New Orleans market and we remain very competitive with the other hotels on a daily basis.

Slade Stratman
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Went to New Orleans for the Final four as first time visitors. The Hotel met all of our needs,
The location was great, the staff was great, the room was great and the food was more than adequate. We were able to walk everywhere, didn't even have to rent a car, We spent 4 full days and were able to see a lot of New Orleans. We caught a trolley 2 blocks away on St Charles street and headed out towards the garden district and Tulane University. The architecture and the big houses were a pleasure to see (Get the 3 dollar trolley pass- good for all day on the trolley and bus systems which will take you anywhere you want to go until four in the morning.
There is store that sells fruit just a block away and there is a neat little pizza place two blocks away Reginelli's Pizzeria on Poydras Street (try the combo) so good we went back three times.
The WWII museum is worth the visit, Again, you can catch a trolley and be there in less than 10 minutes. The Flea market in the French Quarter is a cool place to shop, again accessible by walking or trolley. and you can meander down to Bourbon Street on foot and get happy feet listening to the great music (a 10-15 minute walk).
The NOPD were great, There was police presence everywhere, Not to rain on anybody's parade but just to make sure everyone had a good time So you felt safe whether it was four in the afternoon or four in the morning.
Had reservations about going to New Orleans but by the time the trip was over I was a full blown ambassador for New Orleans. Again, Thanks to the folks at the Drury for helping make this such a great vacation!

Room Tip: You can pay 1.25 for a one way fare on the trolley or for a 3 dollars get an all day pass which wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottSlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

# 1 rated three star hotel (as I believe was advertised in the elevator) just about sums it up. Although a little dated, the rooms were clean. I wished the windows would open though. The lobby area is very nice. The hotel staff is helpful. I asked them to print my boarding pass later in the afternoon to get me in Group A of Southwest Airlines, and they were very helpful that way. The rooftop pool is simple, but adequate enough....lots of sun! The exercise room was very small with only two treadmills. The (hot) breakfast buffet and 5:30 kick off hour/food are a nice addition. You must swipe your room card to access the elevator, which is a nice security feature. The rooms have a mini frig and microwave. It is a short, safe walk to Canal St./Bourbon St., Riverwalk & casino. I would probably stay here again, although I do think there is something nice about the ambience (and getting a hotel with a little patio in a courtyard) of actually staying in the French Quarter but it's more expensive. If you are traveling with children, you will DEFINATELY get your $$$$$ worth on the buffets alone! One other point, if you have a fear of dogs do not stay here as they allow dogs in the rooms/elevators/hallways.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This wasn't my first choice of hotel but due to the Final Four being in town the same weekend we were due to catch a cruise ship (very bad timing) we struggled to get accommodation. Thank goodness we didn't get in our hotel of choice which was straight on Bourbon St and totally inappropriate when travelling with children. The Drury was great. Large bedroom with 2 big beds, clean and fully functioning. Only downside is no safety deposit box but the main reception will let you use one there for free. Breakfast is fine and the Kick Back snacks are ok but after eating for 1 day your not so keen to go back. Hotel could do with clamping down on the homeless people who sneak in for free coffee.
Free wi-fi and free soft drinks from 3pm until 10pm. 3 free alcoholic drinks per adult each night too and they'll even make a cocktail for you. Not too far to walk from all the attractions but far enough away from the madness.
If you catching a cruise, we managed to walk from hotel with all our luggage no problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTorrington5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel public areas and room were nicely decorated and very clean. Good location--a few blocks from Bourbon Street/French Quarter. Close enough to walk but away from the craziness. Maybe 3 blocks from the Airport Express bus ($2 fare). Adjacent to the St. Charles street car line which goes out to the Garden District. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and made good restaurant recommendations.
There were two reasons I didn't give this hotel 5 stars. The room had full size beds instead of queen. I knew this when I made the reservation, so it was not a surprise, but there was a bumped out wall (maybe with some ductwork behind it?) right next to my head and on 2 nights of our 3 night stay I woke up the whole family hitting my head on this wall while I slept! Also, while the food offerings at breakfast and 'dinner' (chicken fingers, nachos, mac and cheese, soup, baked potatoes, salad) were above average and greatly appreciated, I thought that the food was not at a good serving temperature. By the time I sat down, the meat, beans and cheese sauce for the nachos was cold. Or in the morning, the gravy of the biscuits and gravy was cold.
Price of the hotel was good, especially considering the money we saved by a large lunch then eating 'dinner' at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hearts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Took TA's advice, and glad we did. Lots of small free extras -- hot breakfast, happy hour -- and unfailingly polite staff.

A bit of a walk to French Quarters, but definitely within range with comfy shoes.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,124 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,393 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,010 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing