We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked some things, but needs improvement in some areas.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Liked some things, but needs improvement in some areas.....”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Came here for three days to take in the area. Stayed in a one bedroom suite. I happened to be here on JazzFest so prices were inflated but that's on me. You can't go a weekend without something going on in New Orleans. I went in wanting to be impressed from the reviews it gets but was somewhat underwhelmed. So on to the hotel pros and cons.

Pros
-Decent rooftop pool and hot tub, if not a bit small.
-Right next to the Carondelet(St Charles) street car line so this was a bonus.
-Not far, maybe 4 blocks to Bourbon St. or to Canal St. street car line to take you to the French Market, Jackson Square or RiverWalk.
-Breakfast and the evening Kickback are nice touches that add value.
-Room was acceptable except for the cons below.
-I liked the lobby, thought it was classy.
-Front desk was pleasant and helpful.
-Bed was very comfy.
-Wi-Fi was good.

Cons
-Mold in the bedroom closet ceiling. Don't they check for this kind of thing?
-The lighting is not good, at least in my room it wasn't
-View from the one small window was terrible. Just an observation. Room 518 so you know.
-The room was odd shaped, so tons of wasted space.
-Big Con! Beware! This hotel is being renovated! I don't have a problem with that so much as the parking set-up is atrocious because of it. The valets are in constant confusion and never know for sure if your car is coming until it shows up. When it does get there, there is no room to park it because the lot is set up badly for this. When paying 25 dollars to park I need some kind of system I can trust. Either they need to start eating the cost or get a company to handle this better!

Overall, I'm still on the fence if I would return to this hotel, maybe after the additions to parking and the expansion are finished I might consider it.

Room Tip: Get an odd numbered room, it gives you a chance for a decent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ohcoasterfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I do apologize for the issues that you mentioned below. Our hotel is located in a historical building resulting in some of our rooms having unique set ups such as the one you were in during your stay. We are working with the valet company to make sure that they can better inform guest of the status of the return of their car to the lot. We will return to a paid self park garage when our new addition is complete in the fall of 2013.

Thank You
Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    534
    93
    25
    13
See reviews for
668
622
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Almost afraid to add to the positive comments here -- will prices go up, availability go down? It was a great choice for Jazz Fest. Decent location right on streetcar stop, gorgeous lobby, good security, nice, clean room, beautiful marble bathroom, excellent breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Didn't make it to the manager's happy hour but it sounds great! Was thrilled to find rooftop pool and spa, but only downside is they don't seem very well-maintained. Will watch with interest the planned expansion of this property. Rates are probably lower (and better value) when it's not a major festival. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The streetcar was a bit noisy outside our window but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorLor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel in early April 2012 and we enjoyed our stay. Good security, although had some problems with our room locks. However they fixed the problem right away. All of the front desk staff were cheerful and helpful. The pool on the rooftop was quite enjoyable. We loved the happy hour time with free drinks and food. The breakfast each morning was wonderful!! Not your average continental breakfast. It is withhin decent (about 3/4 mile) walking distance to the French Quarter and Bourbon St but far enough away to be nice and quiet when sleeping. We had a suite with a king bed and a pull out sofa bed which was plenty of room for 4 of us. The bathroom is large with a huge jacuzzi tub and separate shower. For price and food, a great value!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northlagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is a very interesting hotel located within a long walk to the main attractions of New Orleans. It has rude staff who do not understand customer service at all. The hotel loby is a dingy, dark, old place that reminds you of an antique boutique with the smells to go with it. The room was also very poor with darkness, no view, old amenities. It did not appeal to me at the least. The neighborhood around this hotel is also a bit wierd and many pan handlers and homeless folks hang out nearby. The best part was the evening meal and the breakfast with 2 free drinks in the evening as well. This does not make up for the other things mentioned and should not sway your decision in staying here. I know for sure that I will never come here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brij27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our lobby has been beautifully decorated to preserve the value of our historic building that is located in the central business district in downtown new Orleans. We are located only 4 blocks from Bourbon street, 7 blocks from the riverfront, 5 blocks from the superdome/arena area and about 5 blocks from the WWII museum. All these areas are within a 10 minute walk of the hotel while the French market, garden district and cemeteries can be reached by riding on the street cars for as little as $3 per day. The front desk is willing and happy to provide our guest with assistance and direction upon request.

Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed two days last week at this hotel. While there is construction at the property site, the rooms were nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The service was excellent, from the valet, to the front desk staff, housekeepers and all staff we came in contact with. I actually started LOOKING for things to find wrong with this place. The only thing I could find was a few broken tiles along the side of the jaccuzzi on the roof top.. Yes, it isn't the Le Pavillion across the street, but value wise, excellent!!! Can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: There is no self parking for this hotel. Valet parking is off site about a block away, so be prepar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecajungent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed in the drury inn suites a couple of weekends ago. Nice rooms, good service, maximum security. You have to have a key to come in the doors, and even go in the elevator. Its withing good walking distance to the superdome and bourbon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy123_rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel has everything one could ask for in terms of a moderately priced hotel for families in New Orleans: free breakfasts, free afternoon snacks and drinks, clean rooms and comfortable beds. The hotel is popular with tour groups; there was a large group on a school field trip while we were there, which made it difficult to find seats for breakfast. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite. The bedroom was very spacious, the living room with sleeper sofa not so much. It's one of the quirks about retrofitting a hotel into an office building. The hotel is close to the French Quarter and a block from the trolley car. We didn't use the pool since we were out sightseeing. It's small and it requires two elevators to get there. They have valet parking, ~$25 a day with in and privleges. I can't remember when they're starting the addition for the hotel so check before booking if you don't want to stay there during construction.

Room Tip: If you do get a one-bedroom, be aware that some suites have no windows in the bedroom. We were given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithKids8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,220 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
513 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
5,549 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing