We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Stay at Drury Inn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis Metro
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at Drury Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We spent four nights here for a conference being held at the Hyatt Regency. As usual, we were thrilled with the Drury chain! First of all, the hotel rate was $74/night less than what my traveling partner from work paid to stay at the Hyatt. For the short, five minute walk to the conference, I’m glad I saved my company a few bucks and would rate this as a great value in New Orleans.

The hotel check in was great, but I agree that they need to do something about the parking. For $25/day, you’d think it would be a bit more organized. I guess the hotel construction, when finished, will help with that problem. Otherwise, the valets themselves were responsive and helpful. The front desk was very accommodating; when we asked to extend our stay by one night, Renaldo was gracious enough to make it happen, despite being told on the previous evening that the hotel was sold out.

Our room (#804) was clean, comfortable, and quiet despite facing the street. The free wi-fi worked as promised and was actually quite fast (a major accomplishment for most hotels). The lobby was clean and inviting. The breakfast buffet had enough selections, but it was extremely busy and it appeared they could have used a little more staff to manage through that busy time. We did not partake of the evening food and drink, but the happy hour crowd looked pretty happy.

We are walkers, and the hotel is convenient to most everything. This made it easy to get around during our night time excursions and my husband’s daytime matchbook collecting expeditions.

Overall, our stay was wonderful. We would not hesitate to stay here again and it is quite clear why the Drury Inn is ranked #1 in New Orleans hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doormold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    511
    90
    24
    13
See reviews for
640
595
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We spent 2 nights here and 2 at the Marriott, and we spent the Marriott nights wishing we were here. The place does not look great, but it appears they are about to update it. The location is the central business district, but it is very close to the french quarter and close to lots of streetcars. The best qualities are the size of the room, the free breakfast and happy hour and the free wifi.
We went with a toddler and their crib was a little scary. The gym is 2 treadmils, but it has a great view and the pool is on the roof and they provide separate towels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maybrook
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel was beautiful. Practically sitting in the French Quarter. Great tv, great breakfast. Location was great. No negatives about this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

very close to french quarters and nearby other 5 star properties. although the rooms are a bit old, the hotel and is staff are good. lots of freebies - meal in the evening, popcorn etc. although the terrace pool is a bit small.

Room Tip: look for street facing rooms. do not go for rooms that are in the rear. the room windows are very sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Booked this hotel for a 2 night post cruise in November 2009.
This hotel was undergoing HUGE renovations at the time, but we really didn't notice a thing.
The rooms were spacious and well equipped with a king bed and HDTV and fridge.
Location to everything was great and the receptionist was ever so friendly. The 'happy hour' is really neat. Free food and drinks (limit on the alcoholic drinks) is an added bonus.

Being that we were there during a category 1 hurricane, the staff were really reassuring to us that everything would be fine.

We've vowed that if we ever return to New Orleans again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freestylecruizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Room was in good shape; people at the front desk were very helpful and polite; breakfast was good (when we got up early enough to be able to eat it); nice location near Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobiushorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Came here for three days to take in the area. Stayed in a one bedroom suite. I happened to be here on JazzFest so prices were inflated but that's on me. You can't go a weekend without something going on in New Orleans. I went in wanting to be impressed from the reviews it gets but was somewhat underwhelmed. So on to the hotel pros and cons.

Pros
-Decent rooftop pool and hot tub, if not a bit small.
-Right next to the Carondelet(St Charles) street car line so this was a bonus.
-Not far, maybe 4 blocks to Bourbon St. or to Canal St. street car line to take you to the French Market, Jackson Square or RiverWalk.
-Breakfast and the evening Kickback are nice touches that add value.
-Room was acceptable except for the cons below.
-I liked the lobby, thought it was classy.
-Front desk was pleasant and helpful.
-Bed was very comfy.
-Wi-Fi was good.

Cons
-Mold in the bedroom closet ceiling. Don't they check for this kind of thing?
-The lighting is not good, at least in my room it wasn't
-View from the one small window was terrible. Just an observation. Room 518 so you know.
-The room was odd shaped, so tons of wasted space.
-Big Con! Beware! This hotel is being renovated! I don't have a problem with that so much as the parking set-up is atrocious because of it. The valets are in constant confusion and never know for sure if your car is coming until it shows up. When it does get there, there is no room to park it because the lot is set up badly for this. When paying 25 dollars to park I need some kind of system I can trust. Either they need to start eating the cost or get a company to handle this better!

Overall, I'm still on the fence if I would return to this hotel, maybe after the additions to parking and the expansion are finished I might consider it.

Room Tip: Get an odd numbered room, it gives you a chance for a decent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ohcoasterfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I do apologize for the issues that you mentioned below. Our hotel is located in a historical building resulting in some of our rooms having unique set ups such as the one you were in during your stay. We are working with the valet company to make sure that they can better inform guest of the status of the return of their car to the lot. We will return to a paid self park garage when our new addition is complete in the fall of 2013.

Thank You
Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,820 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Travelocity so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing