We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far From The Maddening Crowds, In A Good Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Far From The Maddening Crowds, In A Good Way”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

At the "locals" end of the French Quarter, a stone's throw from the French Market, the music clubs of Frenchman Street, and excellent restaurants, Le Richelieu is also a few minutes walk to all the popular "must-see" sites such as Jackson Square, Canal Street, and the "mighty Mississippi." Thanks to the streetcar line and public bus system, a car is unnecessary, though the Richelieu provides safe, on-site parking for a reasonable fee. The hotel is very "old New Orleans" and decorated accordingly with beautiful antiques. If you need anything, just ask. The entire staff is there to help you find your way around safely and comfortably. The cozy bar offers lovely drinks, the cafe attracts many New Orleanians, especially for Sunday brunch. The salt-water pool is an oasis of tropical pleasure and as the charming, octogenarian owner says, the lack of chlorine prevents damage to "the ladies hair-does!" My room was clean, comfortable, and the little refrigerator was great for storing drinks and leftovers from the great restaurants. If you like a small, cozy, quaint-but-elegant hotel with a convenient, safe, quiet(ish) location (New Orleans is rarely sedate!), then stay at Le Richelieu and enjoy the best town in the USA.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdsong352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    450
    128
    42
    15
See reviews for
184
558
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We found it ideally situated, easy to walk to the French Quarter and also to get on one of the Paddle Steamers for a trip down the 'muddy Mississippi. We didn't eat at the hotel preferring to stroll to the coffee bars and restaurants to try the local fare.

It is an old hotel, only to be expected, but the staff were very helpful, we would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormajoTampaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two days in January and really enjoyed this hotel. We booked late so we ended up taking one of the corner rooms on the street so there was street noise at night (to be expected in a busy city!) but that was the only drawback. The staff was top-notch - we loved leaving the key at the front desk when we left so we didn't have to worry about losing it on our travels! We spent a couple of sunny hours one afternoon in the courtyard by the pool, having a few drinks and reading (mostly resting our feet!) and we enjoyed that. The wi-fi worked great in the room and I also saw someone using their laptop in the courtyard.

The location is wonderful, especially if you like the music on Frenchman Street which we prefer over Bourbon Street. It was a short walk to everywhere we wanted to go so we will definately make this our hotel of choice for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcbcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My traveling buddy found this fine little hotel. Its location is excellent, just blocks from the French Market & the river. Very safe, clean, quiet and relaxed. Not recommended for the party crowd. Right across the street from the pompous, self-important, ridiculously expensive Soniat and much nicer all around. We frequently go to New Orleans as we live only 2 1/2 hrs away and will make this our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albizzia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

found this little gem via tripadvisor reviews and then went to the hotel website. found their "jumpin january" special which offered a great rate and included multiple coupons for hotel breakfasts, drinks, and cafe du monde beignets and coffee. wife and i were there from jan 22 thru jan 28 and it was a wonderful stay. it is located at the extreme east edge of the quarter, between barracks and gov. nichols, but still very convenient to jackson square and the french market, as well as other quarter attractions. if you dont feel like hoofing it all the way to canal, the riverfront streetcar picks up right behind the french market. (hint: get the $3.00 unlimited daily pass,,unlimited rides, off and on, unlimited transfers from 8:00am to 4:00am daily) our room was on the 2nd floor and opened up to a long shared balcony overlooking chartres. the room was a tad small, but adequate and very nice and clean with a very comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. the under-the-counter refrigerator was a definite plus for keeping drinks and the occasional left-over in. you're definitely away from the noise and raucous bourbon street crowd at this place which makes for an excellent quiet night's sleep. as other reviewers have said, all the staff at this hotel really do go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you have a pleasant stay there. to say they are extremely helpful and nice would be an understatement. checking in and out were a breeze, their suggestions for tours and restaurants were right on, and although the hotel doesn't have a business center, the desk clerk printed out our boarding passes for our deptarture flight. the couryard area with the large pool is an excellent location to enjoy a late evening cocktail and cigar,,,a very peaceful setting. for those with cars, they have a secured parking area on the east side of the property. we would defintely stay here again. oh, they still use real metal door keys, not swipe cards, which they prefer you to leave at the desk when you go out. a good idea not having to be bothered with the possibility of losing the key.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casperntn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here on our way to Texas from Florida on 2-6-12. We literally decided this 2 hours prior to arrival and were referred here by a local B&B. We called to see if they had anything available and were helped very happily on the phone and at check in by Becky. We got in around 8pm and she gave us some directions on where to go to get some food near by. We found Mojitos Bar and Grill and got our first taste of French Quarter New Orleans. Best crab cakes ever, good music and atmosphere.
The next morning we got up and walked around the French Quarter to do the touristy thing. As we were taking our stuff to the car we were acknowledged by every staff member we passed with a "Good Morning." This is not something I'm very use to and was very nice.
For our first trip to New Orleans we were so happy that this is where we stayed and will gladly stay again in the future. I know everyone looks for a complaint so here is my only one: the bed was a little too firm for our liking but not to the point of not sleepable. Sorry but that is all I could come up with, everything else we loved about this hotel. If you want the nastalgic feel of classic New Orleans then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room on balcony side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darksideemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just called to inquire about making a reservation for an upcoming event and the desk clerk I spoke with quickly told me that they were all sold out, although the website showed that the dates I was inquiring about were partially sold out, so I had a few questions. Before I could ask them, she had already hung up. Very rude....if the service is bad over the phone and I haven't even made a reservation, then I will make a note to skip this hotel in the future.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lulupark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
2,512 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,253 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
803 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing