We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Richelieu in the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Le Richelieu in the French Quarter”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is an utterly charming hotel with class A service and a congenial and helpful staff. Stay here in New Orleans! It's off the beaten path enough to avoid drunken tourists on Bourbon Street, but easily within walking distance if you want to be one!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room, or possibly one of their delux ultra southern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    451
    130
    42
    15
See reviews for
185
562
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Le Richelieu is the perfect hotel in a great location of the French Quarter - close to Frenchmen Street, which is where the locals go for food/drinks/music & within walking distance to Bourbon Street. The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful with recommendations. If you want to experience authentic NOLA, Le Richelieu is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcminnville, oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have visited New Orleans many times but have never stayed in any of the historical hotels in the French Quarter. It was great being within walking distance of everything and I thought the building was beautiful. If you want fancy fixtures you should probably stay in one of the highrises on Canal St. That is not what this place is about. Everything in our room worked fine. The parking is a great plus. This is a quiet side of the Quarter, which I personally like. We had a great time. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is an amazing place to stay when visiting NOLA. The location can't be beat! you are 2 blocks away from everying including, trolly car, bourbon, frenchman st. the marken, coffee shop, restaurants, shopping etc. The owner Frank is a wonderful man with an amazing heart, his staff are like family to him he states and I can see why, they are like family and make everyone who walks through that beautiful door feel at home. We had a balcony room on the 3rd floor and it was wonderful, bed was comfortable, small fridge and everything we needed. The outdoor pool was fabulous and I won't stay anywhere else, it is close enough to catch the action for anything, but far enough to retreat and hang on the balcony for a couple cocktails while enjoying the sounds, smells and tastes NOLA has to offer. I would recommend without hesitation, not a fancy place or high class, but that isn't what NOLA is about anyway. Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor balcony is private, 2nd floor is shared with others staying on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerbear2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The place still has its charm but is overrated by some reviews. The desk and bar staff are not as friendly as some report. They appear to be bored and going through the motions. The room was OK. The bathroom was decent sized but badly in need of new fixtures. We had to call for service twice on the toilet and it still never worked right. The shower head was unadjustable and pounded water down on you. The A/C unit was ancient and unadjustable. The bed was OK, and there was a walk in closet and outer deck to the street. I had heard that there was no coffee maker in the room, but when we asked, they brought one up with coffee for each day for free. Otherwise you have to walk down to the bar area to pour your own free coffee and bring it back to room. Don't know why they dont just provide coffee makers in each room. Strange, quirky place to stay but a good quiet location near to most things on that side of the quarter. A bit more of a walk to the busier west side.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an outside balcony and ask for a coffee maker. Good Italian restaurant a block awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carney33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I almost don't want to share this info-since this place is such a great deal and great location and I want to be sure I gert the room I want when I return.
We found the staff welcoming pleasant and very funny. Ladies talking to you you through the kitchen windows was one of my highlights as was chatting with the owner Frank who still stops to pick up items on the terrace. My other highlight was sitting out on our balcony after a long day havign a night cap or sipping a coffee as the sun was rising . We loved room 311. Our intention is to return to New Orleans every year and Le Richelieu is the only hotel we will ever stay in again. There is no better location. That said it is the staff that made our stay special. .We will thank them personally when we return. Frank you don't own a hotel you own our home away from home. Like other reviews state is you want the new stuff go somewhere else. But if your interest is New Orleans the music and real life in New Orleans this place is it
We won't stay in another place-there is no need. There is a coffee shop and bar around the corner a deli and variety store a block up, The Market and street car two blocks south, Bourbon two blocks north. Frenchman two blocks east. Preservation Jazz Hall 1 block south. And all of this is in an amazing neighbourhood. Good luck to me finding the room I want now!!

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and I didn;t order breakfaast. There is no NA option Tell them bob says...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
2,560 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,279 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 163 in New Orleans
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#35 of 163 in New Orleans
2,264 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 163 in New Orleans
825 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing