We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #39 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I hesitate to tell anyone about this place because I want to save it all for myself. After reading numberous reviews on tripadvisor, I booked this hotel for our first trip to New Orleans. I was nervous about what to expect as many hotels in touristy areas fail to impress but I was impressed with every aspect of this hotel. We booked a standard king size room through Expedia. When I tried to book online, the site said they were sold out but Expedia showed rooms available for $130 night in April. I called the hotel directly and they said if Expedia showed available rooms, then I should book through Expedia. I did this and had no problem at all. Parking is secure for $20/night. Some hotels were charging $40-$60/night for parking.
The hotel is in an excellent location for anything one wants to do in the French Quarter. We walked everywhere and didn't feel wiped out from walking. The hotel/room made me truly feel like I was in New Orleans. Room was clean. Bed very comfy. Shower good. No breakfast but they did serve coffee free in the restaurant onsite. We ate breakfast there one morning. It was simple but very tasty. All the staff at this hotel was outstanding and friendly. If I go back to New Orleans, I would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    447
    128
    41
    15
See reviews for
176
552
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

It seems that all the other reviews are in line with my thoughts. What a wonderful place to go and stay - parking no problem - reception staff excellent and charming - rooms are great - decor is traditional. We shall return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrapperDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We both really loved this hotel and it was everything most reviews suggested. It is off the beaten track from the busy Bourbon Street area but within easy walking distance and very close to Frenchmen Street and Decatur and also the French Market area. Our room was nicely decorated and had a lovely French window opening to a balcony. All the staff on reception were very nice and helpful and helped us with booking a swamp tour by airboat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatteras Island, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were very fortunate to get a room here as the result of a cancellation. The room was amazing, the service world class. The location is close close to perfect, in the desirable SE corner of the quarter, a short walk to Frenchman Street and far enough from the drunkfest on Bourbon Street that you can avoid it entirely. The true differentiator is their staff. Most are very long term, with strong service commitments and great pride in their hotel. The owner Frank is charming. Pam, an assistant manager, would be an asset to any fine hotel. We were glad to have made her acquaintance, and will call her personally when we return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBX_Innkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I absolutely adored this hotel. It's really truly a gem. You can easily walk anywhere from this hotel and when I'm in New Orleans except for areas near the 9th Ward. I would recommend driving to those areas if you need to go. The decor of the hotel is simply charming and yes, the room decor can seem a bit dated but if I wanted to stay someplace that reeks of modern taste, I would go there. However, if you just need the simple amenities and a place that's surrounded by beautiful wrought iron and has a decent pool, you've found your place. The front desk was wonderful and quite accomodating and the room was just fine for what I needed. I will always come back to this hotel whenever I'm staying in New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is an utterly charming hotel with class A service and a congenial and helpful staff. Stay here in New Orleans! It's off the beaten path enough to avoid drunken tourists on Bourbon Street, but easily within walking distance if you want to be one!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room, or possibly one of their delux ultra southern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing