We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, very friendly, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our room was fantastic. 23rd floor with a great view. The staff at the hotel has always been very friendly and very helpful and on our recent trip, they were no different. We were there for 4 nights in April of 2012. Though the gym is small, it's adequate and clean. I used it 3 times while there to help work off Pat O'brien's bread pudding (the best we've had in New Orleans). The hotel is perfectly located across from the casino with underground tunnel access, and just a few blocks from the French Quarter. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advicebygrege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,968 - 4,974 of 5,308 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed there in March and had a wonderful time,The room wasnt ready when we arrived but that was OK cuz we went and ate and by the time we got back it was ready,Had a really pretty view of the water and the room was very nice,and clean.Hope next time I get my suite but the whole staff was great and very polite. I have never been in a nicer Harrahs, some of the Hotels are really in need of upgrading but this one was very nice. I can not say enough about the freindly people there and how helpful they are. Great Place to stay, will come again

Room Tip: Stay up high enough so you can see the view of the city and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We loved "Harrah's", beautiful room, great view of the river and attractions. It was "Fleet Week" so we enjoying watching the ships come up river. Very clean, nice decor, extra friendly staff, especially "Ernie". Only thing missing? A nice/great place to have breakfast. The "fluff" restaurants are nice but it would be great to have something simple, like a "Basic Cafe". Food at the French Quarter is always great but we want breakfast too. Very pleased the hotel is away from the casino too, makes it abit quieter. Thanks Harrah's, we will be back.
Deb & Ed in Denver

Room Tip: Get a "view" room facing the river, it's fun & tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgervel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had to make a last minute booking in NOLA -- Harrah's offered a nice price at a well located property. The bathroom was palatial -- the room was large and attractive -- BUT seemed odd when I realized that it did not have a desk! (and the TV was hidden behind a door flush with the wall) -- of course, perhaps, they want you to not spend much time in the room? -- But all in all, if you need sleeping quarters in NOLA, it is just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 501casper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with a great location. It is located on the edge of the French Quarter just a block away from Canal Street and only a couple more blocks from Bourbon Street. The hotel is VERY clean with a beautiful lobby, and nice clean rooms and corridors. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The staff is on point with customer service. From the front desk to the housekeeping staff, we were very well taken care of.

The hotel has a secured tunnel that goes underground to get to the casino. It's a short and SAFE walk to get back and forth. It was nice to be able to avoid the public street late at night with cash in my pocket.

I do see other reviews that mention this property is not kid friendly. No one should be bringing children to a city like New Orleans. There is NOTHING kid friendly about this town. It's an adult playground that should be left that way. I appreciate the level of security this establishment has. There is security at every single entrance to keep the teenagers and homeless out! For Harrah's safety, they cannot have anyone under the age of 21 on the casino floor, therefore no underage are allowed inside any casino doors.

The dealers are friendly, the cocktail staff is quick and accurate, and the restaurants are good. The buffet was excellent. Keep in mind that there is no competition next door, so you may not find the same experience that you would in Vegas or elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrewLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel is not kid friendly by any means.
A majority of the hotel's food, like the buffet, Besh Steakhouse, Fuddruckers burgers, Starbucks, etc...are all within the casino building, making it ALL OFF-LIMITS to minors..and not just minors, anyone under 21....even if 20 yrs old, can't eat. Hotel has no pool. There's a tunnel from hotel to casino building so you can safely cross the street, except for anyone under 21. The website does NOT make any of this clear. For example, any mention of age in regards to the buffet is in the "Group Information" section....well, a small family isn't a "group" and not going to read it...it's hidden.
Hotel room was fine, nothing special. There must have been some roadwork on the city view side, because all night there was a loud banging like a steel drum...I think it was cars driving over a steel manhole or something.
Casino itself was good. Play was fine.
Bourbon Street is nasty. Smells like poo and more.
Superdome looks like brand new, like just built.

Room Tip: No kids in primary restaurants. Consider it an adult only hotel. Parking/Valet is $35 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKimmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very nice hotel adjacent to the casino and within easy walking distance of the French Quarter. This hotel boasts an very elegant lobby and a really great Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. They did not have a cafe for breakfast. The rooms were up to date and clean. Room safes and a small but empty refrigerator. Also a small single portion coffee maker. An improvement would be a couple of bottled water in the rooms. Beds were comfortable but the pillows were cheap with hard spots at the corners (weird). During our 2 day stay we were allowed only 3 bath towels. No washcloths or hand towels. We asked the maid for washcloths but she replied that the hotel didn't have enough for all the rooms. We never had this happen before. Would definitely stay here again because of the location and the friendly staff. Hopefully, when you stay they'll have more towels!

Room Tip: The rooms that have a good view of the Mississippi River are interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walker-roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
2,595 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,522 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 167 in New Orleans
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,784 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,239 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $253 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing