We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest, objective review of Harrah's New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Over the past couple of years, I've stayed at Harrahs New Orleans probably a half dozen times. I've also stayed at most of the surrounding hotels as well (Hilton, Marriott, Westin, Wyndham).

First, the Harrah's hotel itself....it's one of the 'newer' hotels in the immediate area. Check-in has always been a breeze. I've never been there when there was more than one person ahead of me in the check-in line. The front desk has always been friendly and helpful.

The rooms are fairly good sized, the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are large, with a soaking tub, a seperate shower and private toilet. The rooms have always been clean, and I never had any problems with housekeeping.

The hotel is fairly quiet. You still have the train....but that's true at all the area hotels. If you're a really light sleeper, you may want to ask for a 'city view', which will put you on the oppisite side of the hotel from the train tracks. The noise is less noticeable at Harrahs than at the other area hotels I've stayed in (particularily the Wyndham.....the train is right next to their rooms).

If you're lucky enough to get one of the 'corner rooms', you get a larger room (seperate bedroom), and a nice view. From my experience, unless you're a really 'high roller', your best chance at a corner room comes during a mid-week stay. But, I've never had a bad room during any stay.

Any 'cons' with the hotel?....the elevators....Harrahs has a 'key' system in the elevators...and while this is a plus for security, it seems to me that it's always a bit 'flaky'. I always have to try my key 3-4 times before I get a 'green' light. Not really a complaint, just a nuisance at times.

The hotel itself is 'small', so they don't have a lot of 'services'. There's no spa (although you can request to one at another hotel, Lowes, I believe....but it's in another building). The gym is small, but it's hardly ever used (at least during my experiences).

Parking.......Typical New Orleans parking, or lack thereof. If you plan on parking a car, plan on a little aggrevation. The options you have are....Valet at the hotel (think it's about $30/day), or you can self park at the garage next door. The self parking costs around $20/day, but if you gamble for 30 mins, you can get your parking validated (or if you're a Diamond Rewards member, you can park for 'free' in the self park.....not in the hotel valet). Be forewarned, if you there on the weekend, the parking garage fills up quickly! A car isn't a necessity, as everything is within a nice walking distance of the hotel.

The casino.....it's fairly large. Although they have plenty of slots, they do get crowded on the weekends. The same for the tables. Never had any big wins on the slots there. The table games are plentiful, with a good variety of games, but, again, on the weekends they are crowded, and you're not likely to find any $10 tables. The poker room is decent sized. They always seem to have a variety of levels. The casino can be fun, but if this is first trip to New Orleans, don't spend too much time in the casino!

The buffet .......I've been to almost all of the Harrah's properties around the country, and to several other casino's (buffet's) in NV.....and I would rank the New Orleans one as somewhere near the bottom. But, if you're in New Orleans, there's too many other places to eat, than a buffet. I did find the breakfast to be decent. But would recommend other places to eat.....go down to Cafe du Monde.

Other restaurants in the casino....again, there's too many other choices, so I haven't tried all the ones in the casino. But if you like sweet iced tea, go to the McAllisters deli in the front part of the casino (you have to be a southener probably to like sweet tea...lol). They also make a great club sandwich.

Make sure you go to 'Mothers' while you're in N.O. It's located just up the street, to your left when you come out of the hotel (about a block and a half away). They have the most authentic (and delicious) N.O. and Southern cooking of anywhere downtown (in my humble opinion). But, plan to go 'off peak' hours, unless you want to stand in line. Everyone else knows it's good too! Some of the best 'etoufee' I've ever had.

I will be returning to Harrahs at the end of Feb (right before Mardi Gras), and would recommend the hotel without hesitation.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
6  Thank Thomsarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,277 - 5,283 of 5,447 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

Went to New Orleans after Christmas to scout some hotels for our Family Reunion coming up in July. Ended up staying at Harrah's because my mom got a comped room.

To start off parking is steep ($30 something dollars) , however if you play atleast 30 minutes on your Total Rewards Card you get 24hours of parking for free in the casino's parking garage (self park). We stayed Monday-Wednesday and didn't pay one penny for parking. Another thing one should note is that Harrah's Casino and Harrah's hotel are not one in the same. They are actually across the street from each other. However, there is a nice covered walkway/tunnel that connects the two.

The hotel's location is great. Steps away from the Riverwalk, the Aquarium and the French Quarters. You are in prime walking distances for many activities. The room itself was very nice and equipped with a large tv and mini fridge. There was even a doorbell for each room and an electric indicator to press if you did not want to be disturubed of if you need housekeeping. My favorite part of the room was the bathroom. It was HUGE! Walk in shower, separate tub big enough for two people. Lastly, the toilet was separated by a door from the rest of the bathroom.

Housekeeping was very attentive along with the other staff. Many times when I came and left I was greeted by someone at the front door and the bellmen were very helpful when trying to hail taxis.

We didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel, but we did eat at the buffet in the casino. It was okay, not the best but not terrible either. My mother and her friend visited Steak and Bamboo (I believe that was the name of it), they were not impressed with the food and stated that the hostess was very rude because they did not have a reservation. We also ate at McCalisters in the casino. The food tasted nothing like the McCalisters I have been to. In addition, I had to send my 'sweet' tea back because clearly it was unsweetened. When they gave me another one, still no luck so I just gave up.
All in all a great hotel, prime location. Though, I would venture out for food.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Court18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

i would like recommend this hotel... the staff with very helpful and what a town... just can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 55chicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

I have stayed here 3 times and this place is great. I get free rooms so I can't complain about the price. Besh steakhouse is really good, best filet i ever had. Yes they are expensive but most of the top level restaurants are.
Rooms are very nice with great bedding.
If you do gamble make sure you grab a total rewards player card. This card gets you comps for your play and free or reduced rooms at all of the harrah's properties. The staff was always polite and helpfull. I am heading back down in January can't wait.
Jeff C.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stayed a few days in October at Harrah's New Orleans. Should have done more checking. This hotel needs an over haul. The rooms are small and need to be remodeled. They are dark and ugly. The service of housing keeping is poor. I called for two towels at 3:00 on a Saturday afternoon and they did not arrive until 6:37 after I called four times. There is no pool (inside or outside). Small lobby - Ruth Chris is decent rest. on property. Besh Steak is expensive for the quality of food. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would rate it a 6.5. We had breakfast at the buffet. Please find somewhere else to eat. I suggest Mamma's about 2 block away. Also there is a fun seafood place called the Crazy Lobster across the street on the water that has great seafood. They do serve steaks, hamberrgers etc. but great seafood. We had a bucket and it was fab.

Checked out Lowes and Westin when I was there. Now I know where to stay.

The casino is ok - you don't win on the slots. I did not see anyone win on slots. The table games seemed to win more.

I stayed in a lot of hotels all over the Carribean and US and Harrah's New Orleans is just not good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Very pleasant stay and we have both travelled ito many destinations. Fast efficient check in and check out; bravo- great job!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evaluator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Check in went smoothly. Room was ready when promised and was clean and bright. Linens in order. We were on the 24th floor so traffice, sirens, trains etc were not too noticable! Great views of the river and downtown! Absolutely great beds to sleep in!
Besh Steak is really good! Buffet superb as well!
Casino a little tight...but who isin't right now?

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NC-Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,616 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,634 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#76 of 166 in New Orleans
5,757 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 166 in New Orleans
4,325 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $283 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing