We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap friendly bed in N'Orleans”
Review of India House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
India House Hostel
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap friendly bed in N'Orleans”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stacey is great - both on the desk and cooking (cheap) breakfast. Could be a few more bathrooms and the place could do with a coat of paint but charming in a faded hippie-house kind of way...One minute walk to trolley car and a great venue (Chickie Wah Wah) 2 blocks away. If you don't want to be kept awake by young noisy drunks outside until 4am don't sleep in a back dorm,but generally the vibe is pleasant and laid-back and it's easy to meet fellow-travellers. Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    134
    59
    32
    40
See reviews for
4
67
109
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hostel is right across the road from the streetcar which is super convenient. We stayed the first nite in the 12-bed dorm then moved into the all girl dorm upstairs.. The big room has a private bathroom with 2 toilets & there r 2 more showers & a toilet upstairs.. A bit dirty and only a curtain to shield u from the rest of the building but certainly can't complain. Breakfast was awesome and super cheap ($1 for toast) & there's great facilities - chill out area inside & out, pool, fridges for food & booze, kitchen.. Staff r friendly, yeah air con is noisy but ear plugs blocked it out sufficiently. Great party atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph000084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

As a solo traveler, this place barely cut it for me. Bathrooms are ok but can be much cleaner with all the bugs I kept seeing, same goes for the bed sheets and blankets, not sure exactly how clean they were either, especially with the cat wondering around everywhere. I didn't use the facilities but I'm not entirely sure of the outdoor kitchen, although the indoor one looked fine. Breakfast isn't until 9, and even then you have to pay, which I don't really agree with in a hostel. The dorm room I was in really wasn't all that welcoming or homey, it made me want to stay out as late as I can and spend as little time there as possible. Beds were super noisy, cracks on the walls, noise air conditioner. Location is ok since it's right near the streetcar and only takes about 10 minutes to get into town. As with the kitchen, common area was ok. I think if you're staying here for spring break or something (as MANY people do I believe), I think it would be ok, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, mine was in the one next door and makes since slightly more inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JToaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

helpful staff/ good breakfast/private rooms good, with great bathrooms.clean but beds could be more comfortable. Can be noisy if you are in a dorm. Trams into city are 50yds away.
A good cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: private rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great place.i stayed at India hous for one night, stayed with 3 other people in one of the private rooms and it was just perfect, the hostel itself is just what you would want from a hostel, a place full of friendly peoPle and great vibe. The couple of guys at the front could really be a little bit more helpful and friendly.
They have a little kitchen food area outside with some great food for sale with great prices...the courtyard it's perfect to meet others or just chill.
They are close to the French quarter, the location is not the best in the city but close enough to all the attractions and literally a minute walk to the trolly that takes you downtown just for a few bucks.
This place has its own personality and it's great!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColJRATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Reallly liked this place! Courtyard in between the buildings creates a perfect space to meet people. We stayed in Vodoo hut, really kookie and unusual, reminded me of places you would find in Gilli or Bali... Not luxury, but clean and cute with helpful staff and yes you have to catch the trolley into town - but it gets you out and about and is easy to ride. Will stay again if I am back in NOLA anytime.

Room Tip: Voodoo huts are cute, very small in a cosy way - three is a pond outside which we liked but if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lane_road
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay, but just be prepared its LOUD! I stayed in the 6 bed female dorm that overlooks the pool area and every night there was merriment and music that went well into the night and the sound filled our room. I can't imagine how the neighbors stand it. And its not really very clean- it looks and smells like it could use some elbow grease and scrub the corners. But there are No Bugs, just dirty from use. But Lots of fun people, and great location for the street car and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that doesn't face the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 35 in New Orleans
229 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#9 of 35 in New Orleans
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#14 of 35 in New Orleans
118 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#6 of 35 in New Orleans
73 reviews
Mid-City
The Crescent Palms Motel
The Crescent Palms Motel
#123 of 163 in New Orleans
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Property: India House Hostel
Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing