We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun fun fun!”
Review of India House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
India House Hostel
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Fun fun fun! The 16 bed dorm was actually like 4 x 4 bed dorms...

Friendly and informative staff, big comfy TV room and a big clean kitchen made you feel right at home.

Huge outdoor common area which was jumping everynight, by far the most social hostel I've ever stayed at. Massive bonus having a swimming pool too help you cool off in the New Orleans heat.

Awesome hostel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liamjohnson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    134
    59
    32
    40
See reviews for
4
68
109
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daejeon, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

As other reviewers have noted, atmosphere is everything in this place and indeed atmosphere it have. Check out other reviewers' pictures, they give a good impression of the place.

I found this a to be a very good place to stay during my visit to New Orleans. It is very cheap, I found (most) staff to be nice, friendly and helpful. Location is fairly good, a streetcar 50 meters from the hostel will take you right to Bourbun street for only 1.25$ (3$ for day-pass), however I would be careful walking too far off at night, neighbourhood looks like it might not be the safest at night.

However, inside the hostel I felt very safe. When I was there, there was a good international crowd, everyone being friendly. People leave their beer and food in refrigerators and it seems to be respected what is who's property.

There is an outside pool which is nice and you can buy a solid breakfast to a few dollars.

But as said in the title, this is not a place for everyone. Do NOT expect hotel standards, this is not a hotel, it's a hostel! It is a bit worn down, ramshackled and yes, there are cockroaches and other bugs. But I've seen far worse places (at higher costs) during my other trips. All in all, I think that the staff of India House Hostel are doing a good job of balancing costs for quality. And a big applause to the cleaning staff. Although this place might be worn down, at least I found the kitchen, showers and toilets to be as clean as can be expected in a place like this (and for my acceptably clean .... considering the low price of this place). Every night there is an outside party, but every morning empty bottles and cigarette buds are cleaned away by 9am.

Well, I think I've made my point clear. This is a great place for backpackers and people who are young at mind. However, if you are travelling with children, looking for a quiet, relaxing, luxurious experience of New Orleans, well, go for one of the many B&Bs instead (however, you WILL pay 5-10 times the price of this place).

Thumbs up for India House, if ever in New Orleans again, I'll be back :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed with three friends in a private room, which was excellent. We had our own bathroom, which was great, as it meant we didn't have to wait for the communal bathrooms.
The place is a little run down, and has a very home made feel about it, but this is fine with the price you pay, which is very reasonable.
They serve meals for a reasonable price, but we didn't partake as we were normally out and about!
Very close to the tram, easy to get into town.
The neighborhood the hostel is in is not the best, but since we had a private room I was not so concerned about security.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Among backpackers this place might be legendary by now. If you want to party it's great. Not so if you're more of a quiet type. Lots of hippies too. Clean, helpful staff on location 24/7, a pool, free wi-fi, lots of room to stock food and cook your own meals. I personnaly dislike the rundown and shady surroundings in Mid-city but the hotel in itself is really safe. You can take the streetcar on the corner and be in the French Quarter in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youmightaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed here with 4 other girl mates in June 2010, we had a 6 bed room and a girl that was working at the hostel was staying in with us. She was completely crazy and drunk most of the time. The building's are run down, with lots of chipped wood, graffiti on the walls, cockroaches in the bathrooms and the "pool" is so dirty it is gross, the water was cloudy and there were plenty of UFO's flying around in it.

But the atmosphere at this place is awesome, if you're looking to meet great people and be entertained this is a great place. In the evenings, everyone gathers in the back garden where there are lots of benches and the staff would make some strong cocktails and cook some food for everyone. Some nights there was singing and then people would group up and go out together.

During the daytime, it's pretty quiet and chilled as most people tend to be hungover and slobbing around.

If you're not too bothered about cleanliness and comfort but want to meet other people and have a reat time in New Orleans, this is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotteahoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stacey is great - both on the desk and cooking (cheap) breakfast. Could be a few more bathrooms and the place could do with a coat of paint but charming in a faded hippie-house kind of way...One minute walk to trolley car and a great venue (Chickie Wah Wah) 2 blocks away. If you don't want to be kept awake by young noisy drunks outside until 4am don't sleep in a back dorm,but generally the vibe is pleasant and laid-back and it's easy to meet fellow-travellers. Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hostel is right across the road from the streetcar which is super convenient. We stayed the first nite in the 12-bed dorm then moved into the all girl dorm upstairs.. The big room has a private bathroom with 2 toilets & there r 2 more showers & a toilet upstairs.. A bit dirty and only a curtain to shield u from the rest of the building but certainly can't complain. Breakfast was awesome and super cheap ($1 for toast) & there's great facilities - chill out area inside & out, pool, fridges for food & booze, kitchen.. Staff r friendly, yeah air con is noisy but ear plugs blocked it out sufficiently. Great party atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph000084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#71 of 164 in New Orleans
243 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#2 of 35 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#12 of 35 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#10 of 35 in New Orleans
74 reviews
The Quisby
#1 of 35 in New Orleans
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Property: India House Hostel
Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your India House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing