We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcony Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balcony Guest House
Ranked #40 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My daughter & I stayed there August/September 2011. Great hosts, the restaurant etc is very convenient and the food was good. Priced reasonably & walking distance to the French Quarter etc. Plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    91
    22
    16
    18
See reviews for
30
128
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

My cousins and I stayed here in 2010 for the Essence Music Festival. Parking is free, so that was a definite plus. At the time, we were given free drinks and breakfast. The rooms are above a restaurant/corner store. The shrimp po'boys and hamburgers were absolutely delicious. We stayed in a suite, which was spacious. The bathroom was extremely small, but the bedroom was decent in size, especially with the pull out couch as an option. You could sometimes hear the entire conversation of the people in the next room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Economy guest house is nice for those on a modest budget. Bed was noisy (creeky) and the outside tables on the first floor seemed to be an after hours gathering spot for the locals. They would talk & laugh all night long. It was very disturbing to those trying to sleep directly above the activity. The guest house includes a nice breakfast cooked to order in the small restaurant on the first floor. Restaurant staff was great. The room was adequate size and the bathroom was small, but clean & functional. I originally selected this place because of its attractive building design and the full breakfast. I wanted to try something different than the B & Bs on Frenchmen street. This guest house is further away from Frenchmen than I wanted.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed in New Orleans over the Thanksgiving week this year. My family (4 boys and my wife) completely enjoyed our stay at the Balcony Guest House. We rented the two room suite and Room 4 next door. This place is run by the nicest, well informed sincere people that I have comeacross in my travels in a long time. They are very helpful with what to and what not do in NOLA. A breakfast is included, which is great and even on Thankgiving Day when the restraunt was closed, they provided a continental breakfast. The neighborhood is colorful and active, with coffee shops and night life. If you like your early AM coffee, you can walk two blocks to The Orange Couch and get a great cup there - breakfast is not served until 9:30am. We were only 5 blocks from the French Quarter and walked through Frenchman Street most days which has the smells and sounds of New Orleans. I would definately stay at the Balcony Guest House again - clean rooms, funky place, great people and food!

Room Tip: There are two rooms that open to the second floor balcony - ask Zak for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We recently stayed four nights at the Balcony Guest House. It's located above a deli-restaurant-bar-laundramat about 3 blocks from Frenchmen's Street. Being an older couple, we preferred Frenchmen's to Bourbon St so the location was perfect for us. It's in an older building on the second floor with small rooms and small updated bathrooms. A large balcony and small interior lounge added the NOLA amibiance to our experience. A full breakfast started each morning, served by a very friendly staff. The deli sold everything from candy to wine and if you wanted a beer, the bar was right there.
Some negatives: The neighborhood seemed a little seedy (but safe) until you walk it and see how much they are fixing it up. We never really saw the B & B staff and they didn't service our room on any of the 4 days. This wasn't a problem for us because the only thing I prefer is a made bed so I made it. We weren't in the room except to sleep. Room was clean but old with shampoo and soap. Overall, we had a fairly good experience and it seems to be a good, quiet value for the money especially with breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig081082324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed at the Balcony House to plan for our wedding in New Orleans and then stayed again a month and a half later. Both times were wonderful. The staff is great and the rooms are more than I would expect for the price. If you like new high rise hotels this may not be the place for you, but if you like the marigny you'll love the Balcony House

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

In October, my husband and I stayed at the Balcony Guest House for our honeymoon for 5 nights. The location is only 4 blocks from the infamous Frenchman St/French Quarter area! This made it easy to get to the French Quarter yet stay in a quite area. The staff at the Balcony Guest House were very attentive, friendly, helpful and FUN! There is a full cafe and general store downstairs. The cafe has a full bar! The food was excellent AND you get a complimentary breakfast each morning which was a real treat! We stayed in the Master's Suite which was roomy and clean. We would definitely stay at the Balcony Guest House again because you cannot beat the price, location, hospitality and cleanliness!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#45 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Garden District
Fleur De Lis Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guest House

Property: Balcony Guest House
Address: 2483 Royal St, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-7845
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcony Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony Guest House, in the historic Faubourg-Marigny, is your New Orleans Bed and Breakfast above Schiro's Grocery and Cafe(ground floor). Come and stay in our unique New Orleans Bed and Breakfast and see why everyone who stays here loves it. Only six blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Frenchmen street and three blocks from the river. Historic, alluring and relaxed(Creole Caribe), with a New Orleans style wrap-around balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Balcony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing