We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balcony Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel de la Monnaie(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Frenchmen Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marigny Guest House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soniat House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Provincial(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn on Ursulines(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
131
94
27
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
94
27
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilk roadb brestaurant downstairsfrenchman streetfrench quartermaster suitemarigny districtdirect accessgreat neighborhoodhoneymoon suiteminute walkevery morningquiet neighborhooda great place to stayfour nightsvisit nolahome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here during Mardi Gras week and were so pleased with our choice. They didn't price gouge us and even included a delicous breakfast each morning. Upon arrival, we were offered a free cocktail of our choice and Chuck took our bag to our room. We weren't going to New Orleans to sit in our room so it was fine that the room was small. Although it was small the bed was comfy and the balcony area was beautiful. I would definitely stay at the Balcony Guest House again because of the awesome neighborhood, hospitality, and great food at Schiro's.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fperez81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This place has ALOT of character and if you are looking for a true New Orleans experience you will like this place. The location is safe but far from the sites, get a trolley day pass. Breakfast isn't served till 9:30 - 10:00, we are early risers so this didn't work for us. Not very clean or private and you will smell the restaurant downstairs the whole time. But if you want that gritty NOLA experience...here is the place for you.

Room Tip: Front balcony room seems like a good idea but it's not a private balcony and the drapes offer NO privacy so get ready to show your birthday suit to Royal St without receiving the beads!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ttroy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My daughter & I stayed there August/September 2011. Great hosts, the restaurant etc is very convenient and the food was good. Priced reasonably & walking distance to the French Quarter etc. Plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My cousins and I stayed here in 2010 for the Essence Music Festival. Parking is free, so that was a definite plus. At the time, we were given free drinks and breakfast. The rooms are above a restaurant/corner store. The shrimp po'boys and hamburgers were absolutely delicious. We stayed in a suite, which was spacious. The bathroom was extremely small, but the bedroom was decent in size, especially with the pull out couch as an option. You could sometimes hear the entire conversation of the people in the next room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angelita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Economy guest house is nice for those on a modest budget. Bed was noisy (creeky) and the outside tables on the first floor seemed to be an after hours gathering spot for the locals. They would talk & laugh all night long. It was very disturbing to those trying to sleep directly above the activity. The guest house includes a nice breakfast cooked to order in the small restaurant on the first floor. Restaurant staff was great. The room was adequate size and the bathroom was small, but clean & functional. I originally selected this place because of its attractive building design and the full breakfast. I wanted to try something different than the B & Bs on Frenchmen street. This guest house is further away from Frenchmen than I wanted.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 72JohnD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews