We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great price for a good stay”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel is priced well compared to other hotels in the french quarter. It is on Canal Street, only one block from the quarter. We stayed for four nights and had no issues. The room is not the largest, but adequate for two people.The bed was comfortable, make sure to ask for a room with a window. Shower was great, lots of pressure. We had a small table and a couple of chairs. Not much room to hang clothes, but does have a chest of drawers. Only drawback was lack of countertop space in bathroom. Free breakfast is just fine in the morning. Book this place and save yourself some money. It is in a safe area and not all the noise of bourbon street, but only five minute walk away from the action.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    470
    192
    94
    102
See reviews for
316
481
38
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked the week of for a last minute trip to Mardi Gras last year. My friends and I were driving in from Houston and unfortunately could not reach the hotel for a little while because it is cut off by many of the parade routes. If you stay here for mardi gras I would definitely advise learning the parade schedule, etc to find out when or if its possible to get to the hotel. We had to park pretty far in a private pay lot and then walk with our luggage several blocks and then wait for the parade to be over for the night before getting to the hotel. I was a little irritated because I called the front desk for information on how to get there since all the streets were closed and they didn't seem to know. The hotel itself was pleasant and smaller. Like most hotels they had a strict guest only upstairs policy during mardi gras where you had to wear wrist bands throughout your entire stay. I was staying in a room with just 1 king size bed and it was very very small. There was maybe 3 feet extending out from the bed in all directions and not much more. Not that bad of a problem if you don't plan on staying in your room much. Sometimes the hotel staff at the front seemed a little inconsistent about some rules but I guess for such a hectic time of year they were doing their best.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fallingleaf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for one night in February during early Mardi Gras season. The hotel itself is very nice although a bit of a walk to Bourbon Street versus other hotels I've stayed at in New Orleans. Room was great, had free wi-fi and we were happy with room amenities. Only downside was continental breakfast. We had plans to leave early the morning of check out so we were just going to grab breakfast at hotel. Only problem was that the entire breakfast area including where the food was had gnats flying all around. I took a danish and sat down and the gnats followed me. Needless to say, we got up and left and walked down to breakfast at a different restaurant which we hadn't budgeted for financially so that was an added expense to the hotel stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVELGIRLS46561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannheim, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just across the street from the French Quarter the St Christopher is located in a perfect location. Our room was clean and spacious and the hotel staff very friendly. Would definitely stay again and I believe a good value.

Room Tip: We were in 613, which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel like many is an old warehouse that has been converted. It is half a block off Canal Street and only like 4 blocks to Bourbon Street. The room is smallish but clean with great old floor to ceiling windows and a large bathroom that also had a large window. Convenient, reasonablly priced and free internet. Not a lot of frills but a great stay. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is a great location right off canal st. Nice big room with floor to ceiling windows and a refrig. The staff at the front desk was cheerfull. the only drawback is their house keeping. They never cleaned the floors. The breakfast was nothing to brag about.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mssurfcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

the red cross set me up in this hotel after my apartment building caught on fire. After sleeping in the bed I woke up with welts all over my arm and torso. Its the first week of the month and they put a $30/night hold on my card, with out telling me, and when I checked out they added another $110 with out telling me. thanks guys its not like you could have gotten me nsf fees for my rent and bounced check fees for my bills.
over all I am very disappointed in my stay there, the beds were comfortable but they bite!

Room Tip: corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We are concerned when any of our guests have less than a great experience staying with us regardless of the circumstances. It is common business policy at all hotels to require a credit or debit card to guarantee payment of the room and any other charges that may be incurred during your stay. Unfortunately when a debit card is used the charge is actually debited from your account unlike a credit card which is authorized for the amount due if needed. Consequently you need to make sure you have sufficient funds in your checking account when using this form of payment. We do everything we can to disclose the effect of using a debit card upon check-in. This policy and the effect on a debit card are printed on the registration card for each guest upon check-in and there is even a line that is required to be initialed.
We are sorry for any confusion that may have resulted from any misunderstanding you may have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
1,340 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#85 of 162 in New Orleans
554 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Address: 114 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing