We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, indifferent reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Ranked #71 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, indifferent reception staff”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Great location, friendly housekeeping staff and the guy who looks after the bags and taxis is a star and true gentlemen. Room size is good and nice exposed brickwork. Bathroom was clean and large enough. I had to pay a daily supplement for the safe and even though it didn't work i had to pay it. I raised this and one of the ladies on reception, Renada, was just uninterested. She was also as uninterested when I checked in. Aside from her the visit was fine. Its no W or Hyatt but does the job. Breakfast is acceptable but does the job. I wouldn't stay here again but at short notice or on a budget it gets my approval.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timothymarkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    474
    194
    98
    105
See reviews for
324
487
38
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was my budget choice for a downtown hotel during a convention. The location was perfect.
Everything was clean. The staff was accommodating. It did have the best morning coffee (free) of any budget hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask if your rrom has a window! this is an old building. My room had a skylight (frosted glass) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman_Luxury_Yacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel is positioned almost halfway between everything which makes it nice. It's a 10 min leisure walk to the French quarter or the river walk or the museums. The beds are comfortable. Top floors are the only ones with views but the 10th floor is smoking. The continental breakfast surprised me. It includes fresh banannas, apples, oranges, boiled eggs, string cheese, muffins, bagels, waffles, cereals, yogurt, sausage and biscuits, juices, teas, coffee, milks and more. The hotel is older so things aren't sparkly but they are clean. Overall I was impressed. I would not pay more than 150 a night for the hotel though as they are other places around for cheaper. Tip: meters for parking are always off (meaning free) from 6pm to 6am every night and all day Sundays. I pay to park because I stay for a week usually and don't want to worry about it but if your staying for just one night then park on the street versus paying valet

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 33104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Just on the edge of the french quarters we had the best time here. Rooms not very big but comfortable and clean. Staff excellent and very helpful. Breafast was fantastic. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Feruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I had no idea when I made the reservation that there were windowless, interior rooms, and we'd been placed in one! It was disconcerting to have a hotel room with no window to the outside. I had to pay a higher price to be switched to one with windows (not a great deal higher), BUT as alam1 points out, it was on the second floor and was noisy, both from inside the hotel and the street. There is constant mechanical noise from the air conditioning system. In converting the old building (former warehouse) to hotel, sound-proofing was not well done.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Degan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was there for a conference and did not want to stay too close to the convention center so we can walk to the French Quarter. It is about 15 minutes walking distance to first and 10-15 to the latter.
The hotel is very well kept and very clean. The front staff was very attentive and helpful when asking for directions and suggestions. There is valet parking but we did not use it.
Breakfast was OK (some yogurth, pastries, fruit and coffee but no scramble eggs or potatoes... or anything that caught my attention and ended up having breakfast somewhere else twice after 5 days). The hotel rooms have a small fridge that came in handy several times.
The rooms are average and thought that the bathrooms were a little small (though my in laws got a bigger one with a jetted tub). Avoid the 2nd floor (just above the breakfast area, where you can hear everything) and the 10th floor if you are not a smoker!
It was much cheaper than comparable places and even cheaper with my wife's military discount.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucybelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was here for a conference and wanted an inexpensive place to stay. The location can't be beat. It is just on the edge of the French Quarters, and only 15 minutes to the convention center and the waterfront.
Maybe it was because I came in late or I paid the lowest price (I booked through discounter Otel.com), I was given the worst room in the house. Avoid the second floor at all cost, esp 204 and 205. These 2 rooms are right over the busy breafast area and noisy lobby. By 5 30 AM or so the workers were already getting ready for breakfast and you can hear it all in the room above. 204 and 205 also have very little natural light. These 2 rooms should never have been made into guest rooms. No one in his right mind would stay in these rooms.
I complained and was moved to the 10th floor and given a smoking room (nothing left in the hotel and I didn't smoke). Here almost everything was better, incl lots of light and quiet. Bed also felt firmer. The room and hallway had a smokey and musty smell and the windows can't open.
The free breakfast was just adequate. Most of it was processed, rich and unhealthy. Advantages-The staff was friendly and the room price was cheap. Location also perfect.
I wouldn't stay here if I came with my spouse. Hotel seems to attract big tour groups.
Book it if you want something cheap, no frills, convenient but reasonably clean. Go somewhere else if you are staying with someone special.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor at all cost. Room 204 and 205 should never have been used for guest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#63 of 163 in New Orleans
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Address: 114 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing