We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for a special occasion!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #25 of 1,873 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
North Shore, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great food and service. A "must do" for every New Orleanian! Tourist shouldn't have all the fun! Do this with a group of family or friends for a memorable experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dotty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,638
    1,035
    493
    167
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watch the Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Zone Defense has Nothing on the wait staff at Commander's Palace. The congregate, plan, swoop and disappear. Amazing show to watch.

The food was as good as expected. Had the pig and fig salad, quail and bread pudding. All three were fantastic. The salad was light and spicy. The quail was a wonderful presentation, dainty looking but stuffed with sausage. Awesomeness! And the special order bread pudding, its true, there is a God!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal and Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Some restaurants are more hype that substance, or they rest on their laurels. This is not one of them. It lived up to what we had hoped for. While it is in the Garden District and requires a taxi ride if you're staying in the Quarter or Downtown it is WELL worth the trip. Wonderful romantic experience and we will be back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank spiritedtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second only to Emeril's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I had a very nice dinner out at Commander's Palace. We did not eat in the main dining room and had to walk thru the kitchen to get to the other dining area, which seemed a little strange. We split the shrimp remoulade for an appetizer and it was good, if not great. My husband had the steak and crawfish with grits for an entree and I had pecan crusted gulf fish, both of which were delicious. My husband did note that one of the pieces of meat (there were two large pieces) was not very hot. For dessert we split the bread pudding souffle and it was again good but not great (altho we downed the whole thing!). The atmosphere is quite romantic at the restaurant with dimmed lighting and impeccable service. My husband said that the decaf coffee was rich and excellent. All in all, a nice night out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank noscreenname200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Culinary Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I recently ate at Commander's Palace for the first time in over twenty years and was happy to see that its quality has in no way declined during that time. If anything, it is even better now. The food and service were outstanding. After the famous turtle soup and delicious pork tenderloin, I had bread pudding for dessert. I've had lots of very good bread pudding in my life, but I think the bread pudding at Commander's Palace wins the prize as best of the best. Everything about the meal was perfect.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing