We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainstorm Stop in with Excellent food!!!”

Katie's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #29 of 2,142 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mid-City
Description: Closed due to damage sustained in Hurricane Katrina.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I arrived to NOLA on a day of crazy down pouring rain. While I had to wait to check in to accommodations I killed time at City Park / Morning Call and cruising the area. I did a quick search on phone for local place to eat and decided to try Katie's. What a great decision! It was an odd time to eat, around 3pm. So the place was mostly empty, so seated quickly and very friendly service. I was with my husband and 4yr old, who needed a 'snack'. We needed up ordering a shrimp po boy, eggplant fries, and a salad. My husband declared it was the best fried shrimp he's had in NOLA (after 5 visits and so many po boys) The batter on the shrimp and how it was fried made for a delicious 'snack'.
Thanks to our server for being friendly, attentive and welcoming on our recent trip. We will now make a point to eat here each time we visit! Such a great neighborhood spot that had charm and quality food.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank ACABBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 884 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

A bit of a wait but worth it. Air conditioning so bring a light sweater. Attentive waiter. Stuffed mushrooms were rich and full of flavor.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

What a great place. Went there and ordered the seafood beignet. It was incredible. The seaford platter with the fried gulf fish was also delicious. This is a must do when in New Orleans.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 298AndrewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We didn’t want to deal with fighting all the crazy crowds on Bourbon Street or near Magazine Street. After a lot of research and catching an episode of Diners, Drive Ins and Dives, we found Katie’s. A little off the beaten path plus it has it own free parking lot (an amazing thing to find in NO). No wait, sat immediately, and quickly received menus and drinks. Tried the swamp fries for an appetizer (think Southern Poutine — delicious!) and each made our own pasta dishes. Generous portion sizes, tons of shrimp on our pasta, and great flavors. A little more on the expensive side (most entrees were $17+ unless you wanted a po boy), but a great nice meal out during bacarion.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank KMB_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

On our trip to New Orleans, our great friends discovered this place. The food is amazing and the service friendly. I’m giving them a four because there isn’t much in the menu for vegetarians or people that don’t eat pork or seafood.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Yupi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katie's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Katie's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing