We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rave isn’t What Was Expected”

Liuzza's by the Track
Ranked #92 of 2,124 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighbourhood: Fairgrounds
Description: Local flavor at it's best near the Fairgrounds! BBQ Shrimp poboys, Gumbo,Bloody Marys etc.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

The Rave isn’t What Was Expected

I’m a local boy familiar with how New Orleans food taste and also know how to cook. I got the gumbo and the roast beef po-boy here. It was just OK and not like the reviews claim. I’ve had much better food at other establishments of the same type. Roast beef was OK but a bit dry, had to request more gravy. The gumbo was over cooked and hardly had any evidence of chicken in it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 268 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2017

This is a cool local spot. It's seemed like more of a bar that served food than a regular restaurant but there's nothing wrong with that. It's not fancy at all but has a lot of character. We went for lunch. My wife had their signature dish which they call a barbeque shrimp poor boy. It was OK but maybe a touch disappointing only because our expectations were so high. However their gumbo and the Catfish poor boy that I devoured were both really excellent. The fresh cut french fries were good too. I would return. When the Fairgrounds Racetrack is running I would expect this place to be humming and I'll bet a lot of the local horsemen eat here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Worst oyster po-boy of my life! Surly service delivering a plate of what can best be described as "Regret." A large eight inch crouton, cut in half, piled not at all with lackluster, measly fried oysters and the most non-garlic "garlic sauce" in all Creation. The container-brick (I won't say bread) was cold, hard, stale and crumbled into shards when you unfortunately tried to bite it. I mean, how do you mess up bread?? But don't worry; you will be happy to discover that it is also overpriced! So as you wait an eternity for a bill, hoping your car is has not been broken into outside, you can savor their best drink: water. At least IT was moist.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CG1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiuzzasBytheTrack, Public Relations Manager at Liuzza's by the Track, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

CG,
If you weren't happy, why didn't you ask to speak to management or the owner to give them an opportunity to fix things up for you while you were at the restaurant? An old saying goes like this "If your food's not perfect and you don't tell us - we both lose." Right?

LBTT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

The creole gumbo was next level, but the BBQ shrimp PoBoy was out of this world. So incredibly tasty! If you visit NOLA don't miss the opportunity to eat here. It's an uber or cab ride from the French Quarter, but it's definitely worth it and you get to see more of NOLA's neighbourhoods. Highly recommended.

Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017

Stop in and enjoy an awesome BBQ Shrimp po-boy. Don't worry about the BBQ being too sweet or saucy - it's a wonderful mix of butter and spices. The roast beef po-boy with horseradish was also very good. The gumbo was definitely worth ordering, even though you can get gumbo on every corner in New Orleans.

Thank JGPnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liuzza's by the Track also viewed

 

Been to Liuzza's by the Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing