We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Star Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Precruise stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is not considered in the historical French Quarter district so the price is reasonable. You are only a few blocks from there. The hotel is old but clean. Our room was spacious, bed comfy. View was not good. Looking at an empty building. Overall it was a good location & if you like to walk, you can walk over to the French Quarter & the Casino. We also walked to board the boat. Make sure if you do this to ask for walking directions.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missjane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Though we are not in the actual French Quarter, we like to think we offer the best of both worlds. We are just 2.5 blocks away, so everything is VERY close to walk to - but we are just far enough that the French Quarter noise doesnt follow you home. As you noted, its a great compromise as EVERYTHING is within just a few steps! We hope you get to come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    1,197
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
883
1,395
131
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis TN
Level Contributor
174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Have stayed there 2x during the past 3 months. Most recently 12/24-26. Helpful staff, very good accomodations for an affordable price. The location is within a couple of blocks to the French Quarter, a nice walk to the WW II Museum and right on the Magazine St bus line. For those interested in exploring NO outside the Quarter, try Magazine St.

Room Tip: We always request a suite facing Magazine St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Magazine Street really is a great stretch of New Orleans! With all the local shops and restaurants and such it gives a great atmosphere to experience the city! I am glad that we have established ourselves as your "go to" location! Hopefully you get to come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hotel during Mardi Gras. This was my second time staying here and I was pleased once again. Great location, not too far from or too close to Bourbon Street, nice walk to Jackson Square. Super friendly and helpful staff and great breakfast! The only drawbacks for us were that the pool was a bit small and our room didn't have windows, but this didn't affect how great a stay we had!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY2theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Glad to hear you had a 5-star stay! As I have mentioned a few times with these Mardi Gras reviews - the location cant be beat. It is close enough to walk to all the fun, but just far enough that it doesnt overwhelm you. A perfect balance.

Hopefully you get to come back for a third visit soon. Thank you for taking the time to share the review - we definitely appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for a few nights before and after Mardi Gras. The location cannot be beat - very close to all the parades and right on a bus route, two blocks away from the cable cars, and the french quarter and not far from the waterfront. The room was spacious enough for a city hotel, the beds were very clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that the floors in the room were somewhat dirty. Also, the breakfast was delicious and comprehensive, but the hotel might consider having more breakfast attendants during busy times. There was simply no way that the VERY hard working and friendly attendant could keep all the different kinds of food stocked for all the people who flowed through breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were cruising out of New Orleans and decided to spend 2 nights in New Orleans prior, once we discovered it was just before Mardi Gras. This hotel was close to the French Quarter, parade routes and not too far from the famous Bourbon Street. We were greeted by Cory, who helped us with our bags and getting settled in our room. I believe we were upgraded to a suite. We were in Room 148. Very nice! John in the Lobby Bar was lots of fun and the breakfast certainly met our needs. The room was immaculate and everyone was friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Very nice, clean property that was walking distance to many places. Liked that there was a safe in the room too. Great stop for before a cruise! Very close to port.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Glad you had a fantastic stay. New Orleans is such a great city to cruise out of - we often hear about what a nice bonus it is to get an extra day or two with the vacation- almost like an extra port of call! We definitely do our best to do all the little things that make a stay special and it seems like the staff really came through on all fronts!

Thank you for taking the time to share the positive feedback. We hope you get to come down and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here 3 nights over mardi gras. 4 girls in a room, spacious enough...we enjoyed that the building had some character and a nice courtyard. Free breakfast was a bonus although a bit of a zoo. Great location, steps to Canal street/shopping mall/river plus a few blocks from the french quarter. Also right around the corner from Mother's restaurant where we ate twice. Would definitely recommend/return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staaaar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Glad you had a great Mardi Gras! The location really is a huge benefit, especially during an event like Mardi Gras. Having everything from the parades, to restaurants , and even basic convenience/drug stores within steps makes it a lot easier to manuever your weekend. Mothers is definitely a favorite of ours as well!

Thanks for sharing, and we look forward to you coming back to New Orleans for some more fun soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites 5 nights. It was clean, the room was average size. Very nice staff. Excellent breakfast. Super small pool though! Good value for money. Walking distance from Bourbon street 10 minutes. Not far from any Wallgreen in case you need some advil or so...Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing