We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #31 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Not one complaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Country Inn and Suites in the French quarter was great. We had a class reunion so there where close to 60 of us, Everyone was so pleased with the rooms, breakfast buffet and the staff. Lisa the manager made everything so easy for me to set up our reunion. The Inn was so close to everything and when we needed to get everyone to the cruise line they had all the taxis waiting outside for us. The price was outstanding and I would highly recommend this clean well run hotel to all!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Gene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
We are glad the group had such a great stay! I know we definitely enjoyed having you here for the reunion. Several mentioned what a pleasure it was working with you. We hope that the cruise went just as well.

Come back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,827
    1,130
    242
    82
    58
See reviews for
835
1,325
125
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I and 33 others stayed for a week and found the service to be exemplary. The entire staff was well trained and professional and provided everything we needed for a wonderful week in New Orleans. They made us feel at home and we will definitely stay there anytime we visit the Crescent City.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Great to hear! The sales team works hard to make sure everything goes off without a hitch for our groups, and as always, the rest of the staff does whatever they can to welcome guests and make stays special. Thank you for the kind words, and I will be sure to share them with everybody.

Hopefully you get to come back to the Crescent City for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was a find on Trip Advisor. The rooms were clean and the staff was noce. The breakfast buffet was good. It was an inside room so it was like being on a cruise with no windows. Nice walk to everything in New Orleans, for the price I would definitely come back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nollvis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

After staying in the French quarter for a few nights at Hotel St Pierre, this was like a mansion..and at the same price. No complaints, best place we stayed all week.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustytrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Glad we could help make your trip to New Orleans that much better! Finding the right place to call home makes a big difference on the road, especially on those longer stays - its amazing what even just a little extra room can do for a stay! Hopefully you get to make the trip back to New Orleans soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We picked this hotel thanks to Trip Advisor. I'll start with the one gripe. The girl and reception had not been to smile school , in fact was quite close to surly. She explained that we had been upgraded because the room we had booked wasn't available but I got the impression from her that we were paying extra. It was only when I checked out I found the upgrade to a suite was free. Unusual hotel as this is the only in-town Country Inn and it has been built around three or four old buildings. As others have noted an excellent location, friendly staff (except front desk) and good free breakfast. One tip - breakfast room is crowded but you can take you plate through to the adjacent pool area. Incidentally the pool is very small. Must also make a mention of the car jocks, I think they work for the car park company, but they were pleasent and helpful. For what you get this hotel is great value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite, even if you don't get the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PitLanepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am not sure what happened with the front desk agent, but I will be sure to pass the information along to the entire desk staff. It sounds like otherwise, everything went great. I agree on the tip to find a table outside, as the courtyard is such a great relaxing space. It hardly feels like you are downtown, even though you are just a short stroll from all the action of Bourbon Street. Hopefully you get to come back to New Orleans again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakenham, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this downtown location. It is a renovated old warehouse with much of the original brick and woodwork exposed throughout the lobby/common areas. Very charming and interesting.
The rooms are very modern and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, with a micro-wave and refrigerator in the room.
The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from Harrah's Casino and the River Walk. It is only 5 minutes from Canal Street, the streetcar to the French Quarter, and the beginning of Bourbon Street.
The free breakfast is better that average. The pool is small - more like a large hot tub, but in a beautiful setting.
The staff are very kind and helpful. There are free snacks and discount drinks at the bar in the afternoons.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor facing east. Have breakfast on the patio in the pool area. Take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penright8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel is in a very cool old building and the way they've designed it has a lot of eye appeal. But it isn't very practical for people who like to sleep in. All of the rooms (all the way to the top floor) open up to an open area outside their door that looks down on the breakfast area. We were on the fourth floor and we could here everything - plates, sliverware, chatter, etc starting when breakfast opened up (6 am?). Now this isn't a bad thing for business travelers because they have to be up early anyway. But for those of us on vacation who just want to sleep in after a late night out, it wasn't enjoyable at all. There was no outside noise, which may be due to there not being a window in our room. The rooms are so large that I didn't even notice it. Everything else about the hotel is perfect. The room size is excellent, the beds are comfy, there is a microwave and refrigerator. The bathrooms are a good size and there are mirrors and outlets outside of the bathroom if you need more than one person to get ready at a time. Customer service is very helpful and prompt. The concierge is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. There is a mandatory valet fee (I believe it was $20/day), which allows you to park right in front of the hotel and unload (and reload). But we got such a great deal on the room that this fee didn't bother me too much - I just enjoyed the benefits. Location is great. Two blocks walk to a main street where you can catch a trolley to take you all over downtown and to the convention center. If you're running behind getting to the convention center, it's a brisk 15 minute walk and you're there. Not bad on a beautiful day. So except for the early mornings, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnewheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing