We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Delight”
Review of Steamboat Natchez

Steamboat Natchez
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cruise back in time aboard the Steamboat NATCHEZ,the last authentic steamboat on the Mississippi River. Depart from the heart of the historic French Quarter on our daily Harbor Cruise at 11:30am & 2:30pm. Board to the sounds of the Steam Calliope, followed by a trip to the museum quality steam engine room, live historic and port narration brings the Mississippi River alive during your two-hour cruise. Optional food is prepared on-board Monday-Saturday. Sundays are perfect when you join our Steamboat Natchez Jazz Brunch. Full bar available and "small plate"snack bar open Monday-Saturday in the Captain's Salon. And for a truly unique view of the City of New Orleans board the Steamboat Natchez for our Evening Jazz Cruise at 7:00pm with the Grammy nominated Dukes of Dixieland. Choose Dinner aboard with New Orleans style food prepared with fresh ingredients, special seasonings and love, buffet style - sure to please those who want to experience our local cuisine. Southern hospitality is in large supply at our fully stocked bar and our mixologists will dazzle you with their specialty drinks.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I was with friends who suggested this and though I was not looking forward to what thought of as a gigantic tourist boat, it was unexpectedly enjoyable, educational and a highlight of our three day NOLA visit. The narration was live and not canned! Local history, battle fields, info on boat activity on the river, a sugar processing plant and more were all covered. You could even view the engine room of this original steamboat. The crew and jazz band we lively, engaging and seemed to be enjoying their roles as ambassadors to visitors.

Thank micknmarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrienneGLNOSC, Public Relations Manager at Steamboat Natchez, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Mick n Marley - so glad to hear from you. Our narrators personalize each tour with stories and events on the river in the port during that cruise. They will be delighted to know you enjoyed them and the band. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"engine room"
in 581 reviews
"jazz band"
in 467 reviews
"dinner cruise"
in 288 reviews
"mississippi river"
in 477 reviews
"paddle wheel"
in 147 reviews
"steam engine"
in 91 reviews
"top deck"
in 111 reviews
"creamed spinach"
in 49 reviews
"steam driven"
in 48 reviews
"dinner seating"
in 39 reviews
"fried catfish"
in 50 reviews
"great cruise"
in 53 reviews
"boat ride"
in 104 reviews
"bread pudding"
in 114 reviews
"gift shop"
in 158 reviews
"hour trip"
in 39 reviews
"two hours"
in 117 reviews
Filter

177 - 181 of 4,395 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

I truly enjoyed my time on the Steamboat Natchez. This is a real steamboat. The Captain was very knowledgeable about the ship and the area. The food was fantastic. There was a good variety of foods and you could go back for seconds if you desired. One plate was enough for me. I would highly recommend.

1  Thank 257donnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrienneGLNOSC, Public Relations Manager at Steamboat Natchez, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Donna, what a wonderful review to receive. From our boat, to the crew, to the food - we are very appreciative! Come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I was in New Orleans for the Easter weekend and wanted the Steamboat experience on the mighty Mississippi. Unlike others on the river this is a true steamboat with the paddles steam piston driven. While waiting to board the boats steam pipes played out some traditional tunes that the waiting passengers enjoyed. The boat offers lunch and Dinner cruise packages but also has a couple of bars and a snack bar selling hot and cold food. The cruise was well worth the money, well organised and a must if you visit the "Big easy".

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We took an evening dinner trip on the steamboat Natchez a couple of weeks ago.
It far exceeded our expectations as just a few people had suggested that the food in particular may not be of a high standard.
However, it was great. For starter there was a refreshing dressed, mixed salad, then for main we had roast beef and roast pork , a good sized slice of each, and a variety of vegetables, salads, potatoes wedges, pasta and appropriate sauces. Delicious. Following the main course were 2 desserts and many people tried both!
I noticed that there were second servings of both courses to be had if anyone still had space!!
All this accompanied by drinks of choice from the bar served at our table.
We felt lucky to be on the first sitting as then we could find seating to enjoy the excellent Dukes of Dixielad jazz band. Very talented musicians.
All this while travelling along the magnificent Mississippi as the many lights from bridges and buildings reflected in the water.
We'd definitely do the trip again if we ever visited N. O. again.

Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrienneGLNOSC, Public Relations Manager at Steamboat Natchez, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Elizabeth, we would be delighted if you returned to New Orleans in the future and came aboard the NATCHEZ. You might also enjoy the Sunday Brunch with the Steamboat Stompers. Thank you for such a nice review that we can share with our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Thought it would be interesting to take a trip on a paddle steamer, so bought tickets for the Steamboat Natchez. This apparently is the last authentic steamboat working on the Mississippi River. We took the 11.30am cruise, which last for 2 hours. It took about half an hour to board as there was a very long queue. Whilst waiting, "Jazz" music was played over the loudspeaker. It was dreadful, like a 100 cats being strangled! Very happy it finally stopped when we boarded.

You can have lunch on board, which you need to book as it's very popular. We sat on top behind the paddle. If you sit outside make sure you put on plenty of sun cream. The combination of sun and wind means you will burn very quickly.

Through the trip the history of the steamer and the port are told, and the city highlights are pointed out. More jazz music is provided by the Steamboat Stompers during the cruise. This was better than what was played over the loudspeaker, but it wasn't really my kind of jazz.

We did enjoy the trip, although there's not that much to see really, and we felt the trip could have been half an hour shorter. Like a lot of attractions a photograph of you is taken before you board, which you may or may not want to buy. You can buy hot and cold drinks, and there is a gift shop on board.

1  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steamboat Natchez also viewed

 

Been to Steamboat Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing