We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service ”
Review of Desire Oyster Bar

Desire Oyster Bar
Ranked #107 of 2,085 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: The design of this upbeat and casual dining venue tastefully blends traditional with contemporary. Desire features a raw oyster bar where expert shuckers prepare fresh Gulf oysters any way you like them - chargrilled, on the half shell and more. Our Executive Chef is excited for you to try the extensive menu including signature dishes like our Shrimp & Grits, the "Creole Trio" (jambalaya, red beans and rice, and gumbo), po'boys, and the Crawfish and Fried Green Tomato Benedict. Come for oysters, stay for the menu! Open Daily for Breakfast 6:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m., Lunch and Dinner from 11:30 a.m. - 'til. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 3-6pm $1 oysters & more!
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

Appetizer: crab cakes were fantastic!
Seafood jambalaya was delicious!
Crawfish étouffée was amazing!

Dine here - you won't be disappointed. Like the other reviews said, don't let the Bourbon Street location deter you from visiting... the food was all fantastic and the service was prompt and friendly.

Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nwillams2016, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of Desire Oyster Bar. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Crab Cakes, Jambalaya, Crawfish Etouffee, as well as the service provided by our staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to you dining with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 224 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2017

Bourbon Street has many cheesy bars and restaurants that are not representative of the real New Orleans. But it also has many excellent choices and Desire is one of them. We stopped in on a Saturday for a late lunch. Our server was friendly and efficient. My dozen raw oysters were cold, plumb, and tasty. My wife had the shrimp and crabmeat Louis salad which was excellent but a little light on the lump crabmeat. I also had a cup of gumbo that was loaded with shrimp, sausage, chicken, and ham. It was the real thing. Prices were a little high but you're going to get that in the French Quarter. It's worth going back.

1  Thank RMZR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nwillams2016, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent visit here with us at Desire Oyster Bar. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Oysters, Louie Salad, as well as the service provided by our staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

The oysters on the halfshell are awesome here!! So delicate and flavorful. Very convenient location and a great spot to stop in.

Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nwillams2016, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for providing feedback of your recent visit here with us at Desire Oyster Bar. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed our oysters. We appreciate your business and look forward to you dining with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

We had breakfast at Desire and Ruthie was an outstanding, attentive waitress... a real pro! The food was very good too.

1  Thank Alex U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nwillams2016, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Thank you for dining here with us at Desire Oyster Bar. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast as well as the service provided by Ruthie here in our restaurant. We appreciate your business and look forward to you dining with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here last night. The service was good. The crab cakes were yummy. My chicken fried steak was pretty bland. But my husband had lots of flavour in his meal.

Thank WinterBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desire Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Desire Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing