We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“PROS & CONS OF OUR GRAND VICTORIAN BED AND BREAKFAST STAY” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“PROS & CONS OF OUR GRAND VICTORIAN BED AND BREAKFAST STAY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

First of all we enjoy and almost always stay in a bed and breakfast when we travel. Below are our unbiased pros and cons for a seven night stay.

PROS
The Garden District is stunning with all of its historical homes.
Very convenient location for catching the street car across the street and walking the neighborhood.
Staff was friendly.
Towels were very good and changed daily.
Balcony was pleasant to relax on and sip house provided sherry.

CONS
Continental breakfast offered is not up to the room price level.
Daily room housekeeping was marginal.
Sherry glasses were not always washed after being used. Had to ask for bathroom water glasses.
Stained bath rug, which then became more soiled, was never replaced.
Sheets were not changed during our stay.
Bathroom floors, toilet and tub were not cleaned on a daily basis.
Older small TV had extremely poor unwatchable static reception when we turned it on to see the news.
Nice chocolates were left bedside but for only two out of the seven nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jbhnlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOLAbar, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Nanncy,

I am so sorry that you had such a bad housekeeping experience at my home. Realizing that this is way after the fact, I have brought this review to the attention of my staff and have implemented a more stringent review policy of daily housekeeping results.
Thanks for bringing this to my attention. My regret is that I didn't know this was happening at the time because corrections would have been made immediately and you might have had a more enjoyable stay at my house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    25
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
27
97
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here several days between Christmas and New Year's eve, we loved it. The owner and the staff are very welcoming and professional. The parlor was decorated for Christmas with traditional ornaments, right down to the Mr. Bingle doll on the sofa. The location is great, right by a streetcar stop and down the street from Commander's Palace and Coquette restaurant. Magazine Street has great shopping just 6 blocks away. The area is beautiful, lots of historic homes and lush landscaping. The house is beautifully restored and full of nice antique furniture. Our room was spacious and had a very comfortable bed with soft sheets. The bathroom and room were kept very clean by the staff. We liked the extra touches like the sherry in the room and the early bird coffee, and the little shared refrigerator on the second floor for your leftovers or soda. The staff was excellent, they gave great advice on places to eat, they also sell streetcar passes which was very convenient. They have a well stocked library of brochures for tourists, including streetcar routes/times/maps and maps of the shops etc on Magazine Street. I thought it was a very good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Despite sitting on St Charles with the cars and street cars driving past, a throughly relaxing place to stay. Loved the service (ask what to do, where to go - great local insider info) and the small buffet breakfast is tastily rotational. Enjoy the antique furniture, dining room and drawing room in this quaint, medium sized mansion.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at the pictures and videos on the website, deinitely an accurate look at the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

the B&B is located on St Charles at both a rail-car stop and a stoplight. Between the screeching rail cars and cars peeling down the street, sirens, and the like, I simply wasn't able to sleep (and I was given suppossedly the quietiest room). I do need quiet to go to sleep. If you are one of those I'm out the instant my head hits the pillow people this place will work for you or if you are planning to get drunk the FQ then also good. Otherwise, stay away. the breakfast is very underwhelming---a canned-boxed spread worthy of a small Texas town but not New Orleans. The highlights? Boiled eggs. In second place--Canned Biscuits. I'm not kidding. I left early. There was no refund even for nights beyond 24 hours.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Ideally located on the St Charles streetcar line-we never needed our car during our visit. Stayed in the Evergreen room-well appointed, quieter perhaps since it didn't front on St Charles. Rachel was a great hostess! Breakfast was essentially DIY but with a great selection to pick from. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were thrilled with the Grand Victorian. The location was ideal in the beautiful Garden District away from downtown but with convenient access to the street car. Our suite is full of gorgeous furniture and decorated exquisitely. It is quite special. Bonnie and Rachel are most helpful. Thanks again ladies!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dolphinWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent the weekend at the Grand Victorian and had a wonderful time! Our room was very neat and clean and the inn keeper, Bonnie was very nice and helpful during our stay. The B&B was in a great location for anyone wanting to get a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of the Quarter but close enough for lots of adventures! The famous cemetary right down the street, magazine St, Commanders Palace and many beautiful home to see! The streetcar picks you up right out front. Their was a bit of a delay when we were there, sometimes waiting 30+ min but I think that is unusual, so you might be better off driving which isnt a big deal either. The breakfast was wonderfast and a large variety. pastries, boiled eggs, buscuits, fruit, cereal, etc. I wish it had been served a bit earlier but I'm sure at your request that wouldnt be an issue. There is a nice large balcony on the side too that you cant sit out on and enjoy the passing cars on St Charles. We would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a personal balcony, cant remember the name. Very Large! Might be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smoody0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hubbard Mansion
#32 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#45 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2727 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5929
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing