We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minutes from the French Quarter with free parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #118 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Prytania Oaks is one of three related properties within a block or so of each other. The Oaks, at least, is a converted historic home, and has the charm and elegance of a turn-of-the century mansion. Our room was in the front on the top floor, with a shared balcony. It was too hot to use it in June, but at another time of year, we could imagine sitting out there with our coffee in the morning and a stronger drink later. The entire building has been recently renovated, with modern fixtures in the large bathroom. Our room had a sink and counter outside of the bathroom, as well, which was very convenient in the mornings. Very comfortable bed; the usual coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and toiletries.
The hotel is on a quiet street, just one block from the St. Charles Street car, which had us to Canal street in a matter of minutes. The WWII museum is just a couple of stops away, and there are restaurants in the neighborhood that are much less expensive, quieter, and less crowded than those in the tourist areas.
Very pleasant, very accommodating staff, although they should have more than one person on the desk at the check-in time. We were given no instructions on how to get to our room -- we had to go around to the side of the building and through a door to an interior stairway -- primarily because the young woman at the desk was trying to check us in and handle the phones at the same time. The door to the stairs was marked with the room numbers, but we had to find it first!
The complimentary breakfast includes fresh waffles, instant hot cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, fresh fruit, breads -- I don't know what other reviewers are complaining about.
The only negative was that the locks on the windows leading to the balcony were broken; one came right out of the frame! There was no way to the balcony except through the rooms that opened onto it, but I was still glad that I hadn't taken my laptop with me.
And when they say check-in is at 4:00, they mean it! We arrived about 2:00, were allowed to park the car in the lot, and told that the room would be ready in about 30 minutes. We walked up to the St. Charles Pub, had a drink, wandered around, returned at 3:30, to be told that the room would not be ready until 4:00. Why promise us 2:30, then? What really rankled was watching others arrive -- at least one without a reservation -- and check in while we waited. Apparently the Oaks is that last of the three properties to be cleaned. We'll know better next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_QBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Wow, Thank you for your review. I appreciate all the comments, and will make sure the window locks are addressed immediately.

We do allow early check ins, and will always work hard to get you into a room when you arrive.
I am truly sorry your room was not ready "early", and not within the time you were advised of. GIving times is always a sore point with me, and one that my Front Desk staff has been warned not to do because of situations like this. Again, I apologize for your having to wait like that, but there are usually circumstances beyond our control that preclude our getting all rooms earlier than the stated check in time of 4pm., namely the "heat and humidity".

But for the record, The Oaks is not cleaned last, but in rotation as to when guests check out from that morning. Guests leave starting as early as 6 am until 11 am, with the few exceptions of late check out (which we do offer) to Noon at no charge. Housekeeping starts promptly at 9am, so not to disturb others that may be sleeping in a bit later.

We have had a very busy June, due to many conventions and tourist in town, which is a good thing. This happened to be the day that one convention ending, and another beginning, so it was a full day of room turn overs. With the extreme heat we have been experiencing, our housekeeping staff is moving a bit slower.

I will make sure my entire staff reads your review and uses this as a learning tool. I hope to see you back later in the year, latter part of October, and early November is a great month to enjoy the balcony and so are March and April.

Fondly,
Dori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Prytania Oaks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is an elegant hotel with no annoying lobby and fussing staff. Just like staying in your own house - it is quiet, clean and the rooms are very well furnished. You have your own key.
Short walk in to town - closeby . Definitely recommend this place.
Only thing it lacked was a pool!

Room Tip: Stay in Prytania Oaks - pretty yellow building
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nomski123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a week from the 24th May - 1st June. It was above expectation considering how cheap it is.
We stayed in a Superior Queen Room which had a super comfy bed! It was clean and new but still had a nice warm vintage feel to it. The air conditioning was very quiet and our room was facing the courtyard so it was really easy to sleep. There is a lovely big shower with a place to sit down - perfect for tired legs when you've been walking around all day in the heat and your feet are swollen!
The rail-car is really close and very handy transportation if it's to hot to walk in to town. We walked to Canal St on one of the days and it was fine but just a bit too hot to handle in the middle of the day.
The breakfast was the only thing we weren't happy with. A few extremely sweet pastries, cereal and toast were the only options, but it didn't really matter as we found a really nice place just down the road called Blue Plate Café on 1330 Prytania Street. It has an amazing selection of breakfast and is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
The staff were nice and helpful with everything. I have no complaints and we will definitely stay again when we come back to New Orleans - and we will - we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Halgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

On our second stay here, I left a large amount of cash in the safe, along with a couple of credit cards. Things got busy when we returned home and I'd assumed that the money was tucked back in my carryon and didn't think to look until later.

Prytania Oaks emailed us, then followed up with a telephone call, after they unlocked the safe and discovered the money and cards there; they're taking care of returning all to us. We were supremely impressed with their honesty!

We've enjoyed our stays at the hotel; the rooms are very comfortable and clean, quiet also. They are also very attractively decorated.

They've added a breakfast at Prytania Oaks this year, which was nice.

There's a nice, large patio out in back with several tables, (with umbrellas) and chairs. Very nice to sit out there in the morning, having breakfast or coffee, then winding down for a pleasant evening after a day outside.

The only thing that I didn't like is that you have to check in at Prytania Park, then haul your suitcases a couple of blocks over to Prytania Oaks. It's not a terrible distance but it's not so much fun over the cobblestones especially as we come for Jazz and Heritage Fest and bring folding chairs along, as well! That said, it didn't stop us from coming back a second year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank MyPapillons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We loved this place. My wife was hesitant because it seemed out of the way but it was great. It was just a one block walk to the St. Charles Street Car which took us back and forth to the Quarter. The room was beautifully done in a restored mansion. Parking was free and the breakfast buffet was in a beautiful room with French doors opening to the nice courtyard. While you have to check in at the Prytania Park Hotel which is half a block away, we pulled up, checked in and drove the half block to our parking lot which is not much different than many hotels. In fact, down in the Quarter, parking is often quite a distance from your hotel. We would definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-Binger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Large rooms in a small, clean and quiet hotel. Very friendly and conscientious personnel.

Extraordinary service example: Forgot shoes, called hotel and they were more than happy to package and mail them to me.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 165 or 265.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RockoVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The room is approx 12x14 with 12+ foot ceilings. The modern bath while not large is more than adequate. The furnishings show no wear and are very well maintained. Housekeeping comes later in the day in case you want to sleep in after a night of entertainment. However the "old style' affects that amount of dark in the room while you are trying to sleep. The doors are not tight and with the light in the hallway it's like sleeping with a bright night light. Concerns about crime and being accosted on the street are unfounded. You can walk to the street car stop. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Local restaurants with excellent menus are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to all rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#104 of 165 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#97 of 165 in New Orleans
244 reviews
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#60 of 141 in New Orleans
88 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $151 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing