We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$85
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$159
US$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$112
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Court Hotel(New Orleans)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$255
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
98
100
33
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
100
33
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden districtfrench quarterhigh ceilingshardwood floorsstreetcar stopwithin easy walking distancecharming hotelquiet neighborhoodchecking incomfortable roomsold world charmbourbon stcharlestrolleyblockcruisequarters
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 242 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Fantastic hotel. All pros & no cons. A must stay for anyone visiting NOLA. We are all born & raised in NOLA & now live in GA. & AL., but we come home quite often throughout the year. Prytania Oaks will be our hotel of choice from this point on.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jermstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Prytania Oaks for four nights this month. The room was clean, cool and comfortable, and we even had our own small balcony, from which I loved to watch people walk, cycle and drive by. The neighbourhood is old, quaint and quiet. The St. Charles streetcar is only a block away, which makes it very easy to access other areas like the French Quarter. However, there are many excellent shops, sights and restaurants close by. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, and provided me with maps, magazines, and excellent recommendations. I highly recommend the Prytania Oaks, and if I'm ever in New Orleans again, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the street.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraBeanZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a very nice hotel away from the noise and crowds downtown. Parking is easy and free and the rooms were scrupulously clean and comfortable. The streetcar is only a block away and is a quick and easy ride to the French Quarter. Or catch it in the other direction to see more of the really interesting Garden District.

The lady on the front desk was so nice and helpful. Breakfast was a little basic but as advertised. On not sure why the precious reviewer had an issue with the furnishings, but our room was probably the most comfortable I encountered on a 4 week holiday staying in similar-level accommodations.

If you don't want to stay in the thick of things and are looking for excellent value for money, I can recommend the Prytania Oaks.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jono2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The staff were great... very friendly and accomodating. And, the hotel is very quaint and attractive. Our room was facing the street and had a great front porch, but the room itself was disappointing. The bed was extremely uncomfortable with a cheap mattress and cheap linens. The extra blanket provided was dirty. There was no bathtub in the room, only a standing shower that almost blew me down when I turned on the water. The water pressure was ridiculous! The floors were nice wood, but they were very dirty. And, the best advice I can give is to skip the breakfast. OMG, it was a joke. The best part of our stay at Prytania Oaks was the free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank JLala0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

The mattress’s are Visco Elastic Foam , in layman’s terms, the same material that Temprapaedic matttress’s are made of. Hardly cheap, if you have priced these out lately. The ownership of the hotel is part of a local furniture retail family, and knows and understands quality furnishings.

The extra blanket in the armoire, may possibly have picked up a musty odor, but after being enclosed since winter, it is not out of the ordinary. But who uses extra blankets in the dog days heat of summer? We always take them out in late October to wash and re fresh for the upcoming winter. I have stayed in many fine hotels, 4 star and up, and the extra linens are not the same freshness nor quality of what is on the bed. If a guest is not happy with the extra linens, a phone call to the desk and a replacement would be brought over to them.

Our bed linens are the same quality as most 2 ½- 3 star hotels. They are a mid level thread count with some polyester for durability. Not like the all Cotton quality as your own personal home, nor the Ritz. Again,are our guest paying the same as the Ritz either.

Complaining about strong water pressure, now that is a first. NO COMMENT.

Hard wood floors are original and have been fully restored. They have markings of age, but with Red Heart Pine, you don’t fool with Mother Nature. It not dirt she was seeing, but the dark striations in the wood grains. However, under the bed, she found 2 dust bunnies. We apologized and had the housekeeping staff re sweep the room with her there.

Breakfast, it’s a basic expanded “ continental breakfast “, as advertised. We do not sugar coat or mis lead what it is. Breakfast pastries, coffee, juice, 2 different cereals, flavored grits and oatmeal that you self make with hot water.

I am glad that liked the free parking and the front porch. Saved them some money while giving them bench seating to relax and kick back, and enjoy their breakfast on right at their door.

Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We loved our room .. the shower was the best! Very clean and well located. You have to check this place out!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lu_and_deek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews