We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #118 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 5 October 2011

A well-priced small hotel on the edge of the Garden District and reasonably convenient for the city centre - either by walking (10-15 mins) or by tram (5 mins or so). The surrounding area is a bit scruffy and you probably want to take care if you were out walking after dark.
Facilities were clean and adequate. Breahfast was pretty basic and a bit disappointing compared to the usual standard of US hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silver70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Prytania Oaks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Fantastic hotel. All pros & no cons. A must stay for anyone visiting NOLA. We are all born & raised in NOLA & now live in GA. & AL., but we come home quite often throughout the year. Prytania Oaks will be our hotel of choice from this point on.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jermstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Prytania Oaks for four nights this month. The room was clean, cool and comfortable, and we even had our own small balcony, from which I loved to watch people walk, cycle and drive by. The neighbourhood is old, quaint and quiet. The St. Charles streetcar is only a block away, which makes it very easy to access other areas like the French Quarter. However, there are many excellent shops, sights and restaurants close by. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, and provided me with maps, magazines, and excellent recommendations. I highly recommend the Prytania Oaks, and if I'm ever in New Orleans again, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the street.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraBeanZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a very nice hotel away from the noise and crowds downtown. Parking is easy and free and the rooms were scrupulously clean and comfortable. The streetcar is only a block away and is a quick and easy ride to the French Quarter. Or catch it in the other direction to see more of the really interesting Garden District.

The lady on the front desk was so nice and helpful. Breakfast was a little basic but as advertised. On not sure why the precious reviewer had an issue with the furnishings, but our room was probably the most comfortable I encountered on a 4 week holiday staying in similar-level accommodations.

If you don't want to stay in the thick of things and are looking for excellent value for money, I can recommend the Prytania Oaks.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jono2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The staff were great... very friendly and accomodating. And, the hotel is very quaint and attractive. Our room was facing the street and had a great front porch, but the room itself was disappointing. The bed was extremely uncomfortable with a cheap mattress and cheap linens. The extra blanket provided was dirty. There was no bathtub in the room, only a standing shower that almost blew me down when I turned on the water. The water pressure was ridiculous! The floors were nice wood, but they were very dirty. And, the best advice I can give is to skip the breakfast. OMG, it was a joke. The best part of our stay at Prytania Oaks was the free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank JLala0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

The mattress’s are Visco Elastic Foam , in layman’s terms, the same material that Temprapaedic matttress’s are made of. Hardly cheap, if you have priced these out lately. The ownership of the hotel is part of a local furniture retail family, and knows and understands quality furnishings.

The extra blanket in the armoire, may possibly have picked up a musty odor, but after being enclosed since winter, it is not out of the ordinary. But who uses extra blankets in the dog days heat of summer? We always take them out in late October to wash and re fresh for the upcoming winter. I have stayed in many fine hotels, 4 star and up, and the extra linens are not the same freshness nor quality of what is on the bed. If a guest is not happy with the extra linens, a phone call to the desk and a replacement would be brought over to them.

Our bed linens are the same quality as most 2 ½- 3 star hotels. They are a mid level thread count with some polyester for durability. Not like the all Cotton quality as your own personal home, nor the Ritz. Again,are our guest paying the same as the Ritz either.

Complaining about strong water pressure, now that is a first. NO COMMENT.

Hard wood floors are original and have been fully restored. They have markings of age, but with Red Heart Pine, you don’t fool with Mother Nature. It not dirt she was seeing, but the dark striations in the wood grains. However, under the bed, she found 2 dust bunnies. We apologized and had the housekeeping staff re sweep the room with her there.

Breakfast, it’s a basic expanded “ continental breakfast “, as advertised. We do not sugar coat or mis lead what it is. Breakfast pastries, coffee, juice, 2 different cereals, flavored grits and oatmeal that you self make with hot water.

I am glad that liked the free parking and the front porch. Saved them some money while giving them bench seating to relax and kick back, and enjoy their breakfast on right at their door.

Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We loved our room .. the shower was the best! Very clean and well located. You have to check this place out!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lu_and_deek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Went back home to New Orleans for my 50th birhtday and did not want to stay in a major hotel. As seen from my previous reviews, we like smal boutique hotels. Well we couldn't have chosen a better place. We loved it here. Only one block to the streetcar line and very convenient to all that NOLA has to offer. The rooms have been remodeled and are beautiful. High ceilings and wood floors. We felt like we were staying at a private home instead of a hotel. The staff were very friendly and Tricia was our lady for breakfast in the morning. She was a sweetheart. I have a sneaky suspition that this is a female owner and she knows exactly what she is doing!! Will definitely be staying here anytime we visit NOLA. Thanks so much for a wonderful 50th birthday!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the street with a balcony. If traffic noise bothers you, just ask for one of the ro...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arabella-HoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#104 of 165 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#97 of 165 in New Orleans
245 reviews
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#60 of 141 in New Orleans
88 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $151 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing