We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$129
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$159
US$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$164
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
98
100
33
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
100
33
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden districtfrench quarterhigh ceilingshardwood floorsstreetcar stopwithin easy walking distancecharming hotelquiet neighborhoodchecking incomfortable roomsold world charmbourbon stcharlestrolleyblockcruise
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 243 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This old house converted to a hotel is in a great location if you don't mind walking a little. It is about 1 1/2 miles from the major downtown hotels, French quarter, etc. it is about half a mile from the old cemetery and the commanders palace nd magazine street shopping area. The people who work there are all very friendly a don helpful. The streetcar is just a block away but is currently under construction so not helpful (it is a bus until it gets to Louisiana street). If you like to run on vacation, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank gersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I were attending a wedding in the NOLA Garden District, so decided to stay close by the wedding venue. The photography for their web site is breathtaking compared to what these "hotels" really look like. The lobby/check-in is located at the Prytania Park Hotel which services three hotels. The other two boutique hotels are the Prytania Oaks Hotel (where we stayed) and the Queen Ann. The check in area is cheesy with packaged snacks and water for sale. The Continental breakfast was dismal. Nothing was fresh unless you asked for a homemade waffle, which was also dismal. Our room in the Prytania Oaks Hotel was so small that we had a 2 to 4-foot walkway around three sides of the King size bed. Maybe a Queen bed would be a better fit? Could barely move around each other to get to suitcases and get dressed. The courtyard was unadorned--no flowers,etc. The price was $229 each night (Fri and Sat) and $119 for Thurs. nite.

On a positive note the place was clean. The bathroom was good with a nice shower although the sink did not drain and we had to request the repair.

Overall we loved New Orleans and would love to visit again but we would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank janmac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Readers,

I am sorry this couple did not enjoy their stay. We have found that guests who are staying “out side the box” for the 1st time, do not always enjoy the uniqueness of our boutique-ish hotel and appreciate the renovation of a home that has been standing since the mid 1800’s. They are used to the generic big box hotel room that looks like every other hotel room. But I must state, the description the “cheesy” check in lobby with the packaged food selection is just like every other hotel that has a Food/Beverage commissary. Nothing unusual or out of the ordinary there. Because our lobby is small, it may be more visible than those with large lobbies and out of plain sight commissaries that are tucked in a corner or adjacent the front desk area for security reasons.

The rooms are average size, but when a hotel is in a renovated home such as the Oaks, with the 14 ft ceilings and angled walls, one has to expect a slightly different layout than the standard cookie cutter hotel room. The high ceilings give the optical allusion that the rooms are smaller in comparison to the furniture, With the angled walls, it makes placing furniture somewhat of a challenge. With the original fireplaces (non functioning) for esthetics and style, some with original hearths, larger bathrooms, which we have found that guests prefer over more room space, it makes us unique. Some guests like it, some guests don’t.

We market breakfast as a Continental fare. Which by industry standard is “ breakfast breads, coffee/juice”. However, we expand it to include Yogurt, Oatmeal and/or Grits, 2 types of cold cereal, bagels with jams/jellies, cream cheese/butter, fruit cups, variety of danishes, and homemade waffles w/Craisins for a topping, coffee/juice. I am sure they just forgot about all the different choices.

The reasons we do not have a lot of flowers in the courtyard, is that with the layout and design of the courtyard patio furniture, we put in lush greenery instead, which in our summer heat, is more tolerant to the extreme temperatures.

The rates were a bit higher than normal, but when planning a wedding over a major city wide sell out convention just like the 25,000 attendance to the Association of Neurosciences we had in this past weekend, your guests will be paying a premium. This was discussed with the bride when she shopped the hotels to advise their guests where they might stay.

The maintenance was handled promptly, and not unusual that a plumbing line was clogged. Happens to the best of hotels.

I wish these guests happy travels in the future.

Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in September at this lovely renovated of 19th century timber home. Free WiFi was a bonus. The place was very clean and staff were very helpful. The neighborhood borders on the Garden District and a stroll around the streets is well work it. The hotel is just off St Charles Ave and was a delight to find. Don't take the area on face value as the people are very friendly and it is safe and secure. The hotel actually has a security guard overnight who parks in the street nearby. Excellent value for money. Heaps of eating places nearby - try the Cheesecake Bistro.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We made a tour through the south of the USA. We spent four nights in this hotel. The location where it is located is very convenient to downtown New Orleans. The room was tidy and well. There is free WIFI and parking. Hotel is not suitable for disabled guests. Breakfast is outside and scanty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goetheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a very nice, clean property with lots of charm. We had a room in the back and it was very quiet, our friends had a room in front on the street and said they could hear street noise and the front gate closing during the night. The breakfast was nice and the staff very friendly. Overall, this is a great place to stay when visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpcdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews