We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
washington, dc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

La Maison is perfectly positioned to enjoy New Orleans at its best! At the end of Bourbon, near Frenchman, La Maison enables a 3-4 min walk to either Frenchman (Snug Harbor) or the Quarter (Cafe Du Monde). John is an amazing host. He knows his city and what it takes to enjoy its riches. The beds are comfy, bathrooms are nicely renovated, linens are cozy and food is great! We rented the entire house for Jazz Fest and have already booked for another year!
Thanks John!

Room Tip: Love the purple room on back of house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our B&B and, of course, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have more renovations and upgrades planned soon so come back and see the continued progress. (Also love the shout out about the linens. We buy nice cotton linens and comfy beds because "bed" is the most important thing at a B&B!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
186
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We just returned from our first visit to NOLA. We enjoyed our 4-night stay at Maison Marigny. Its location right off one of the city's lovliest streets, Esplanade, was perfect for walking everywhere in the Quarter without staying in the midst of noise, crowds, and the grime of Bourbon Street. It was also a perfect short walk for late nights at the clubs on Frenchman Street. We went to the CBD and art district a couple of times easily with a combo of streetcar, walking, and cab. John guided us well on our outings. And as Californians used to eating lots of fresh fruits and vegetables—and finding those foods either woefully missing or loaded with bacon—John specially made fruit salad just for us at breakfast. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet at night. It was a perfect value and lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtSnob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us! It's always our pleasure to accommodate guests' wants and needs as much as possible, and "more fruit" was a very easy request to fulfill! :-) Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby in the UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here April 2012, have been to New Orleans a few times having stayed previously at the Old Victorian and Royal Street Courtyard which in themselves were great B&B's, until I discovered La Maison Marigny. This place is a great little jewel so full of charm and charisma. Located at the end of Bourbon Street, it’s very quiet, peaceful and very safe, just minutes from the jazz, bars and restaurants of Frenchman street and several blocks to the traditional Bourbon street happenings and high jinks it is renowned for.
The room we had was the Balcony room, it had air con, wide screen TV, comfortable new beds which I believe all the rooms have, and we had a nice balcony area to walk out on to for a glass of wine before you go out.
Breakfast was the biggest surprise of all, I only expected a basic continental which I was accustomed to at previous establishments, but John the owner cooked up a mean breakfast every morning of hot goodies of blueberry bread pudding, breakfast pizzas with corn beef hash, chocolate croissants, blueberry muffins and a host of other delights all freshly made in his new kitchen and served to you with coffee and juice.
What was also part of the price were complimentary drinks of coke, sometimes beers, chips, cookies etc. available through the day. A nice courtyard to take breakfast, coffee or a few beers to mingle with fellow guests.
Oh yes I almost forgot, the host, the most important, John a great hospitable and welcoming guy, full of knowledge, recommendations where to eat and visit, gets everyone involved in conversations with the other guests if you are a little shy.
It’s so easy to see why people keep coming back and I don’t know how it took me so long to find.

Room Tip: Get the Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thanks, guys, for your wonderful review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay in both our balcony room and in New Orleans! We always love hosting guests from the UK and I enjoyed learning more about Derby and the Midlands. We look forward to seeing you again in a couple of years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I have never written a review, but felt compelled to rave about La Maison Marigny! My husband and I just celebrated our 30th Anniversary in the city where we got married...NOLA!! I wanted someplace special to stay, so after reading numerous reviews on Trip Advisor, I settled on the owner's suite at La Maison Marigny and couldn't be more pleased. Staying at this B&B was special in every way. We could easily walk through the French Quarter, yet the location of the B&B is very quiet, safe and serene. The house itself is gorgeous...very high-end linens, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Probably the best aspect of our stay here was our host, John Ramsey. He was a wealth of knowledge and information that helped us see New Orleans from the eyes of a native, not a tourist. He was just delightful, and a great cook! Everything about our stay was perfect...we will never stay anywhere else when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Wow! I love reading that someone who never writes reviews took the time to do it just for us. Wonderful! I am so glad you enjoyed New Orleans, my cooking and La Maison Marigny. Please do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

La Maison Marigny could not be in a better location for exploring NOLA, particularly if you like to walk -- just a few blocks from the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street and a short cab ride everywhere else. John is the consummate host: friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable. His breakfasts do the job, especially the Nutella-stuffed French toast. Some B&Bs provide an extremely lavish gourmet breakfast, but that's not really necessary or even appropriate in a food town like NOLA, where you're likely to be eating four or five times a day :-}. (As John put it, "You don't have to be hungry to eat," especially in NOLA!) We stayed in the Deluxe Queen room for six nights and were very comfortable. The B&B is surprisingly quiet at night, considering it's just a few blocks from often-raucous Bourbon Street scene. We had only a couple of very small quibbles about the room, First, other guests sometimes forgot to turn off the stair light, which streamed through the transom and woke us up; dark curtains on the transom would really help. Second, the jute rug is pretty but murder on bare feet! Softer carpeting would be much easier on the tootsies. As mentioned, though, these are not serious complaints. The next time we visit NOLA, we will definitely be staying at La Maison Marigny. True dat!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferrgus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thanks so much for your review and for staying with us! I personally appreciate the "wonderful host" comments and am thrilled that you agree that our location is among the best in New Orleans! I've made a note of the suggestions for improving the guest room experience and we will definitely consider making those changes happen. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I loved our three day stay. John, the host, was very friendly, helpful, and a good cook.
The Maison Marigny is just blocks from the Bourbon St. scene, as well as being even closer to the Frenchman St. jazz activity. The walk of about five blocks gave us a needed walk and needed quiet.

Owner's suite was a dream.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank howard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thanks, Howard! I'm glad you had a great visit despite a somewhat uncharacteristically rainy week.. Here's hoping for sunshine for your next visit to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

my girlfriend and i recently stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. as this was my first time visiting the big easy, john was of great help prior to our arrival with what to expect from the b&b and the city in general.

the house is quite the beautiful property - classic in style and touch yet with a modern bent to accommodate discerning travelers. we had the deluxe queen room upstairs, which comes complete with bathroom amenities, TV w/DVD player and iPhone charger/docking station, which thankfully rendered my charger useless!

each morning we enjoyed a different, exciting breakfast - including chocolate hazelnut french toast! - and it was nice to get to know john (he's a fantastic cook!) and the other guests in a friendly and relaxed environment.

last but not least, it's impossible to beat the location. situated on a quiet block on bourbon street at the end of the french quarter, it's literally three blocks away from frenchman street, where we had an amazing time at a couple of the jazz clubs. since we didn't have a car, this was a godsend as we could get to wherever we wanted by foot or by streetcar. it's also about a 1/2 mile from lil dizzy's café for great soul food and just about 2 miles away from the beautiful city park.

all in all, i can't recommend la maison marigny more highly...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outofmylmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed La Maison Marigny and its superior location. Frenchmen Street (2 blocks away) and the clubs of Bourbon Street (5 blocks away) definitely keep folks coming back for more. And who can neglect to mention all of the wonderful restaurants within a few blocks of the B&B?

Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,971 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,379 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,997 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Property: La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
Address: 1421 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2008
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing