We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the Big Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I would highly recommend staying at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel the next time you travel to New Orleans. The rooms have been recently renovated and are relatively inexpensive compared to other hotels down in the French Quarter. The location is PERFECT--one block behind St. Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square, plus it covers the block between Bourbon St. and Royale St. The restaurant is great for breakfast and the staff is wonderful and the pool area is beautiful. We have stayed in many different hotels in New Orleans and this is the one we keep coming back to time after time. After Hurricane Katrina, the Bourbon Orleans housed law enforcement and firefighters as they helped the city cope with the devastation.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies on the west side are great with a limited view of Bourbon St. without the noise...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHR300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,968)
There are newer reviews for Bourbon Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,789 - 5,795 of 5,968 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed a Bourbon Orleans last weekend for my daughters wedding. We had about 20 rooms blocked for our guests. Everyone was just blown away by the friendliness of the staff, the size of the rooms, and the beautiful interior. The bell staff went above and beyond to ensure that everyone was taken care of. I will never stay at another New Orleans hotel again. I am so grateful to have found this wonderful place, and in such a perfect location. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed at The Bourbon Orleans, New Orleans, LA last week for 2 nights. This French Quarter hotel surpassed my expectations! It is located steps from the back of the St. Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square. Also within easy walking proximity to several French Quarter attractions: Bourbon street, French Market, Antique shops, art galleries, as well as mouth-watering restaurants: both upscale/formal and informal.

As a native New Orleanian who moved away a few years ago, my recent visit and stay at this hotel makes me want to return sooner than later. The Bourbon Orleans has a friendly, helpful staff. If you have a car, valet parking is not optional (I thought a bit pricey, but certainly in line with other hotels in its proximity.) Allow approx. 20 minutes or so to receive car after calling for it. Although my room was on small scale, it accomodated 2 adults and overlooked the saltwater pool and patio which is attractively lit throughout the evening. Adjoining bathroom spacious and seemed to be newly redecorated with black granite. Heads Up--if you prefer a tub, be sure to ask if the adjoining bath has one/only spacious walk-in shower in the accomodations I had. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but breakfast is more continental than local fare. I hestitate to rate the hotel "Excellent" due to the priceiness of breakfast and other menu items in the restaurant. In my opinion, it may accomodate hungry travelers, but does not seem to offer a variety of items that would be indicative of Creole and/or local cuisine.

Can't speak to entire hotel, but both the lobby and the 4th floor (on which I was located) seemed to be recently renovated, fresh, clean, and inviting.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again! " Laissez les Bon Temps Roulez"

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the courtyard and pool may be noisy in the evening as Bourbon Street is appro...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suncityvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent several days at this hotel with company meetings. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. My room was very nice with a large TV, a very nice walk-in shower, and comfortable king size bed. HOWEVER, my room was on the 2nd floor of the hotel directly across the street from a jazz club. It was extremely loud until 2 AM every night. If I were not a sound sleeper this experience would have been intolerable. I was awakened repeatedly throughout each night. If you stay at this hotel insist upon an inside room on an upper floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champagnecaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Bourbon Orlean's is very nice with a great pool. The rooms are fresh the flat screens TV wonderfull. The only bad things are: they were supposed to call my cell when room was ready and they did not. They lost our luggage for several hours but did find it later that day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over the bar.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig-hopeithelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, Director of Sales at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you so much for staying at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel during your recent visit to New Orleans! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay during St. Patrick's Day. I apologize for the hiccup at the beginning of your stay but am very glad to know all was resolved and you had a great time at the Bourbon Orleans. I will make sure I follow up and deliver the feedback with the front office team. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We travelled to NOLA by Amtrak and arrived at the hotel about 11PM on a Sunday. We had booked and prepaid through an online travel agency. We had NO problems with the staff from checkin to checkout 4 days later. The room was clean and well appointed. The renovations made to the hotel are evident.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on Bourbon Street can be noisy-especially on weekends & for special events. Corner suites...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel has very nice rooms and nice amenities, such as a good gym with individual TVs on machines. However, the stay was ruined by being woken up in the middle of the night by hotel staff. First, the hotel phone rang at 2 am, waking up me and my wife from a dead sleep. Since I figured that anyone I knew would call me on my cellphone, I picked up the phone and hung it up. 10 minutes later, we got a knock on the door. It was a hotel clerk saying that he wanted to retrieve something from the pocket of a robe hanging on the back of the bathroom door that the prior guest had left. I told him - correctly - that there was no robe. It took another hour for us to fall back to sleep, in large part because we were furious that hotel staff would do something so inane.
The next day, my wife complained to the manager who said he would look into it since the staff member's actions were "against hotel policy." That was the last we heard from him - no apology, no nothing. As she checked out, my wife left her cellphone number for the manager to call to apologize. 3 days later, still no apology. Not a great way to treat hotel guests.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank christineandterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize as it does not appear you were able to enjoy our southern hospitality that we pride ourselves on, and your comments have been shared with the rest of our team for internal follow-up. We would love to have you stay with us again should you find yourself in New Orleans, and encourage you to contact us directly to give us the opportunity to discuss your feedback in greater detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,198 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 165 in New Orleans
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $210 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing